Get a free audiobook

Beneath a Burning Sky

Written by: Jenny Ashcroft
Narrated by: Emma Powell
Length: 14 hrs and 5 mins
5 out of 5 stars (1 rating)

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Beneath a Burning Sky is a beautiful and gripping story of love, betrayal and mystery, set against the heat and intrigue of colonial Alexandria. Perfect for fans of Kate Furnivall, Lucinda Riley and Victoria Hislop.

The shores of Alexandria, 1891

Olivia Sheldon has travelled across the world to marry a man she does not love. Reluctant to leave England but coerced into the marriage, Olivia's reward is being reunited with her estranged sister, Clara. Her punishment is falling impossibly and illicitly in love with the enigmatic Captain Edward Bertram.

Then one scorching day Clara is abducted from Alexandria's busiest street. Desperate to find her sister - and the truth about her disappearance - Olivia becomes embroiled in Egypt's shadowy underworld, risking both her life and future with Edward. Because, determined as Olivia is to find Clara, there are others who will stop at nothing to conceal what's become of her....

©2016 Jenny Ashcroft (P)2016 Hachette Audio UK

What the critics say

"Beautifully described...A moving love story." (Tracy Rees)

"Exotic and mysterious - I was gripped by this complex tale." (Dinah Jefferies)

"Exquisitely written...unputdownable and unforgettable." (Iona Grey)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
No reviews are available