Get a free audiobook

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

True crime within the dark heart of Irish gangs. Featuring original Irish folksongs written and performed by the author, Shane Dunphy.

He seems like a typical 16-year-old boy except that Mikey is walking the knife edge of crime. He’s tough and good with his fists, but when journalist Shane Dunphy is offered the chance to write his story, he discovers a lost, vulnerable child, in danger and desperate for help.

Shane descends into the perilous underworld of organised crime and discovers that the glamour of gangland life is riven with brutality and murder. Far from providing a means of survival for boys from broken families, the price they pay is often with their life.

With skill and empathy, and no little courage, Shane attempts to rescue Mikey from the clutches of warring gangland leaders and to restore the love and harmony of Mikey’s family which has been shattered by poverty and bad blood.

For fans of Peaky Blinders, Bleak Alley is the first in a series of true crime stories from the heart of Irish gangland life. The author provides extensive historical analysis of the rise of Irish street gangs and their outlaw Celtic culture, as well as original Irish folksongs.

Bleak Alley examines serious issues of social deprivation, state indifference and lawlessness with the pace and intrigue of a high-class thriller.

©2019 Shane Dunphy (P)2020 Audible, Ltd

What listeners say about Bleak Alley

Average Customer Ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No reviews are available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Alicia
  • 2020-11-17

Amazing, Honest, Truthful

I had the pleasure of hearing your voice for the first time. The book was wonderful. I absolutely adore Cliff and Becca. I love history, I love learning, and I love people. I feel as though I can relate a bit. Wanting love, acceptance, and someone to care. Thank you for writing this book Shane. Much love always from Cleveland, Ohio USA.

Alicia Walker

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Cheryl A Lovelace
  • 2020-09-07

Amazing story

Shane is one of the best story tellers I know. Hearing it in his own voice, with brief diversions into the history that caused the gangs to become a part of city life, was extremely interesting. Can’t wait to hear the next one.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • RM
  • 2020-02-27

Amazing story

Amazing book the author’s ability to show the separation between the world was amazing and true. Great book