Get a free audiobook

Bloody January

Harry McCoy Series, Book 1
Written by: Alan Parks
Narrated by: Andrew McIntosh
Length: 8 hrs and 41 mins
4 out of 5 stars (1 rating)

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

An exciting, evocative first-in-series noir novel set in 1973 Glasgow, a city on the cusp of a heroin epidemic, featuring detective Harry McCoy. 

When an 18-year-old boy shoots a young woman dead in the middle of a busy Glasgow street and then commits suicide, McCoy knows it can't be a random act of violence. With a newbie partner in tow, McCoy uses his underworld network to build a picture of a secret society run by Glasgow's wealthiest family, the Dunlops. Drugs, sex, incest; every nefarious predilection is catered to, at the expense of the lower echelon of society, an underclass that includes McCoy's best friend from reformatory school - drug-tsar Stevie Cooper - and his on-off girlfriend, a prostitute, Janey. But with McCoy's boss calling off the hounds, and his boss's boss unleashing their own, the Dunlops are apparently untouchable. McCoy has other ideas. 

Fans of William McIlvanney's Laidlaw books and Oliver Harris's The Hollow Man, Ian Rankin's and Dennis Lehane's fiction, and TV shows like Luther will find themselves thoroughly satisfied here.

©2017 Alan Parks (P)2019 HighBridge, a division of Recorded Books

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Glasgow’s Opioid Crisis, circa 1973.

Despite the over the top violence, this was a good story, well worth the listen. The story got more complex as it neared the final chapters, competent character development. However if this narrative got any grittier you’d have to scrape it off your shoes! The narrator kept the story engaging as the characters remained distinct. Looking forward to further painful adventures of Harry McCoy.