Listen free for 30 days

Audible Membership

$14.95 a month

1 credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
The Plus Catalogue—listen all you want to thousands of Audible Originals, podcasts, and audiobooks.
$14.95 a month plus applicable taxes after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $26.54

Buy Now for $26.54

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Tax where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

An award-winning, internationally best-selling Holocaust memoir by Max Eisen, in the tradition of Elie Wiesel’s Night and Primo Levi’s Survival in Auschwitz

In the spring of 1944 gendarmes forcibly removed Tibor “Max” Eisen and his family from their home, brought them to a brickyard, and eventually loaded them onto crowded cattle cars bound for Auschwitz-Birkenau. At 15 years of age, Eisen survived the selection process and he was inducted into the camp as a slave laborer.

More than 70 years after the Nazi camps were liberated by the Allies, By Chance Alone details Eisen’s story of survival: the backbreaking slave labor in Auschwitz I, the infamous death march in January 1945, the painful aftermath of liberation, and Eisen’s journey of physical and psychological healing. Ultimately, the book offers a message of hope as the author finds his way to a new life. 

©2016 Max Eisen (P)2019 Audible, Inc.
Max Eisen

About the Author

Max Eisen is a Hungarian Jew who was deported to Auschwitz in the spring of 1944. He is a passionate speaker and educator who volunteers at the Sarah and Chaim Neuberger Holocaust Education Centre and the Friends of Simon Wiesenthal Center in Toronto. He currently resides in Toronto with his wife, Ivy.

Douglas E. Hughes

About the Narrator

Douglas E. Hughes has been an actor, playwright, and voice artist for the past 40 years. He spent 13 seasons at the Shaw Festival, another three at Stratford, and has worked in theatres across this country and in the U.S.

With his writing partner, Marcia Kash, Hughes has written five plays — all published by Samuel French, Inc. — which have had more than 200 productions in over a dozen countries around the world, and have been translated into eight languages. Hughes and Kash are currently at work on their sixth collaborative effort, a play called Deadline. Doug has also penned a yet-to-be-published novel of his own — a comedy-thriller entitled The Poor Player.

What listeners say about By Chance Alone

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    233
  • 4 Stars
    42
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    186
  • 4 Stars
    49
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    227
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • DD
  • 2019-07-25

Heartbreaking

A memoir that needed to be published. Our world must never forget nor deny the horrors that were perpetuated on the Jewish people of the world. Thank you for being so bare to share your life story with new generations.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

excellent

everyone should read or listen to this one
especially high school
students studying World War 2

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Horrifying and yet a necessary story to hear.

No movie on the Holocaust or WWII has ever given such emotional and revealing of the horror of antisemitism in Europe as this book does. This is a must read (or listen). I am grateful and humbled to hear Max's story of survival. I do fear the same spirit of antisemitism and global totalitarianism is coming back in this century.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Exceptional

This is the story of a man who has been through the unthinkable. A must read to truly understand the atrocities of The Holocaust.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

We human can do all this?

Keep recounting these stories with the hope that these inhumane events won't be repeated.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A powerful memoir

This book brings the holocaust to life in a way I have not previously experienced. The story is powerful and the narration is excellent. Not easily forgotten, this book deserves to be widely shared. I highly recommend.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Heartbreaking but very well written!

This book was an excellent descriptive of the life Max lived as a Jew during the years the Nazis rose to power. It is a beautiful account of his family turning to a very difficult read of the time he spent suffering in the camps. I not only learned more about the plight of the Jews but felt this personal account was incredibly touching. Thank you!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Cat
  • 2020-07-09

A very moving and educational memoir

This book should be part of mandatory curriculum in schools. It is a needed reminder of both the atrocities as well as the resilience and kindness humans are capable of. Well worth the read.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gripping

A truly gripping and heartbreaking story. couldn't stop listening to his wrenching testimony. I highly recommend this book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Painful story.

It shows how human beings can destroy their follow human beings using fake and false ideologies.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Suszanne Guymer
  • 2019-07-17

A must read

Very well written , but the saddest of stories. May we never forget. One very courageous man.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2022-03-25

triumph! Good over Evil

Every school child should be required to read this incredible journey of survival. My parents lived during this time in history…
I am saddened by the cruelty of humans to humans and also touched deeply by those who kept their compassion towards mankind. This
story will live with me forever .

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Tawnya
  • 2022-02-02

A MUST READ

Max has lived a full life that could have so easily been overshadowed by hate and unhappiness; but his story is one of preserving and ultimately a life of love. Thank you for sharing your story.