Listen free for 30 days

  • City of Ghosts

  • Written by: Victoria Schwab
  • Narrated by: Reba Buhr
  • Length: 5 hrs and 2 mins
  • 4.1 out of 5 stars (38 ratings)

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo + applicable taxes after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
City of Ghosts cover art

City of Ghosts

Written by: Victoria Schwab
Narrated by: Reba Buhr
Try for $0.00

$14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for $18.41

Buy Now for $18.41

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Tax where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

From number-one New York Times best-selling author Victoria Schwab comes a sweeping, spooky, evocative adventure, perfect for fans of Stranger Things and Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children

Ever since Cass almost drowned (okay, she did drown, but she doesn't like to think about it), she can pull back the Veil that separates the living from the dead...and enter the world of spirits. Her best friend is even a ghost. 

So things are already pretty strange. But they're about to get much stranger. 

When Cass's parents start hosting a TV show about the world's most haunted places, the family heads off to Edinburgh, Scotland. Here, graveyards, castles, and secret passageways teem with restless phantoms. And when Cass meets a girl who shares her "gift", she realizes how much she still has to learn about the Veil - and herself. 

And she'll have to learn fast. The city of ghosts is more dangerous than she ever imagined. 

New York Times best-selling author Victoria Schwab delivers a thrillingly spooky and action-packed tale of hauntings, history, mystery, and the bond between friends (even if that friend is a ghost...).

©2018 Victoria Schwab (P)2018 Scholastic Inc.

What listeners say about City of Ghosts

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    23
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    18
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

underwhelming

this might been more enjoyable if I was 13 but I found it to be predectible and for children. which could be a good thing for different audience. The narrator was amazing!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Quick and fun!

I don't know what I expected with this book, but all I know is that it was super fun and super cute.
Another home run for Victoria Schwab

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Simple read

I enjoyed this book as I travelled around town and did short trips. I found it to be teen fiction and in listening first person I watched the story through the eyes of a teenager. Simple story line and simple outcome. It did reach me in my philosophy and my belief system and I found the backdrop of Scotland very interesting as I am traveling that way next year. Thanks.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!