Get a free audiobook

Code Name: Lise

The True Story of the Spy Who Became WWII's Most Highly Decorated Woman
Written by: Larry Loftis
Narrated by: Kate Reading
Length: 9 hrs and 59 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (7 ratings)
Price: CDN$ 23.67
CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

From internationally best-selling author of the “gripping” (Michael Connelly, number-one New York Times best-selling author) Into the Lion’s Mouth comes the extraordinary true story of Odette Sansom, the British spy who operated in occupied France and fell in love with her commanding officer during World War II - perfect for fans of Unbroken, The Nightingale, and Code Girls

The year is 1942, and World War II is in full swing. Odette Sansom decides to follow in her war hero father’s footsteps by becoming an SOE agent to aid Britain and her beloved homeland, France. Five failed attempts and one plane crash later, she finally lands in occupied France to begin her mission. It is here that she meets her commanding officer, Captain Peter Churchill.

As they successfully complete mission after mission, Peter and Odette fall in love. All the while, they are being hunted by the cunning German secret police Sergeant Hugo Bleicher, who finally succeeds in capturing them. They are sent to Paris’ Fresnes prison, and from there to concentration camps in Germany where they are starved, beaten, and tortured. But in the face of despair, they never give up hope, their love for each other, or the whereabouts of their colleagues.

In Code Name: Lise, Larry Loftis paints a portrait of true courage, patriotism, and love - of two incredibly heroic people who endured unimaginable horrors and degradations. He seamlessly weaves together the touching romance between Odette and Peter and the thrilling cat and mouse game between them and Sergeant Bleicher. With this amazing testament to the human spirit, Loftis proves once again that he is adept at writing “nonfiction that reads like a page-turning novel” (Parade).

©2019 Larry Loftis (P)2019 Simon & Schuster

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Ron
  • 2019-01-27

Captivating from start to finish!

World War 2 history is my passion. Especially stories of brave women and men who operated behind enemy lines. This audiobook is excellent! Great narration by Kate Reading. Just the voice for this incredibly exciting true story. This is the story of Operative Odette Sansom who after undergoing specialized training and after several abortive attempts to parachute her into France, is finally linked up with her Commander and Wireless Operator. Her commander is Captain Peter Churchill(No Relation to the Big Man!), and He and Odette fall in love over time. They are betrayed to a German trying to break up their cell and arrest them all.(Hugo Bleicher). He is crafty and Odette is continually matching wits with him as it is move against counter move in a life and death situation. How Odette suffered had me in tears and I won't give away the ending of the excellent true story; only to say both her and Peter Churchill are captured, tortured and sent from horrid prison conditions to even worse conditions. How Odette fools the Nazis into believing Peter Churchill is Winstons' nephew is amazing. The book is extremely well researched and written and a compelling listen(or Read I would imagine.) I recommend Mr. Loftis' book to all fans of this genre. Truth certainly is so much more exciting than fiction in this instance. As always I carefully listen to the voice before I consider a purchase. Cheers to Kate Reading for a superb job! - Ron L.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • stuartjash
  • 2019-01-24

I can't believe this was real

This story is a non-fiction book, but with so much thrill, intrigue, and mystery. It has everything that makes for a good book. It took me only two days to finish this book. It bridges suspense into romance, as it chronicles Odette Sansom, who in her father's footsteps, fights for her country during WWII. She then falls in love with Captain Peter Churchill, and they go on mission after mission with one another.

This was one of the books that makes you want to drive around the block an extra time to keep listening. Kate Reading did a fantastic job narrating this exciting story.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Mega Amazon.commer
  • New Ipswich, NH USA
  • 2019-01-22

Riveting Story

What a riveting story, where the outcome is even more mysterious and exciting because it is true. Well researched, written, and narrated. Couldn’t stop listening.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Amanda
  • Montgomery, IL, United States
  • 2019-01-28

Not like Unbroken or The Nightingale

The details provided from Audible on this book are a bit misleading. It does take place in WWII, they are spies, but it reads nothing like Unbroken or The Nightingale. From the "story" prospective it falls short and provides many more details about POW life and the very sad and terrible things that happened there. Not really a love story and very little focus on the missions they did to foil the Germans.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Miss Manners
  • North Carolina
  • 2019-01-27

Bravery Beyond Measure

This strong & courageous woman ,Odette , Code name Lise , should never be forgotten .Her band of brave underground fighters help save France from the Annihilation that happened to Poland , Italy, Hungary, Germany and Russia in WWII.
It does take some time of listening or reading before the real tension comes into her life as a spy , but don’t give up , it gets very edgy & your heart will weep for her to survive .
Well done on the research , Larry Loftis ! Bravo !
I watch the movie 2018 The Final Solution and it tied in with this book. Made me realize the real terrible danger the world was crumbling into with World War II and Hitler at the realm . Please read the book and watch the movie to understand why
we must never let this happen again in the world!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Lance S.
  • 2019-01-26

Germany in WWII

I chose this title because of my interest in the way an entire population of citizens became infatuated with Hitler and his way of governance. I am perpetually dumbfounded at the german population how they collectively embraced the mad ideas of Hitler and the Nazi machine. It shows how easily the psychology of a population can be so readily transfixed on destruction and abandon a multi-century belief in God and Jesus Christ and turn so readily to torture and murder in the name of genetics. Why was Hitler never assassinated within his first 18 months is beyond me. Let this history be a lesson in abandonment, that your developed ethics never become mutable in the face of political leadership or assumed friendships.
All The Best,
LPS

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2019-02-20

Couldn’t stop listening!

It’s read very well, with beautiful accents. The story is at times gut wrenching but never too much to make me stop listening. Well worth the read.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2019-02-13

compelling<br />

An amazing story of heroism and sacrifice. The ficleness of Fame made the pain continue long after the war was over.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2019-02-08

Interesting story, well read

I had never heard of Odette, the French born English spy that is the subject of this book. I found the story intriguing. The book kept and built my interest as it progressed. Kate Reading did an excellent job of reading the book, adding individual personality and intonation to the various characters. Her pronunciation of the many French and German names was superb. I am so glad to have learned about the amazing woman that is the subject of this book. I would strongly recommend it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Florida Mom
  • 2019-02-03

Highly recommend

Absolutely excellent. Heart wrenching and heart warming. Admirable woman of little not across the pond. Fascinating true story with plenty of notes to back it up.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • LABORING4GOD
  • 2019-01-31

Just so-so

The narrator was great but the story lacked a lot. It was a struggle to get through and I found myself wandering off. I expected more from the story based on the title alone. At least this one didn't cost me anything but time.