Listen free for 30 days

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo + applicable taxes after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Conviction cover art

Conviction

Written by: Denise Mina
Narrated by: Cathleen McCarron
Try for $0.00

$14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for $27.01

Buy Now for $27.01

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Tax where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A REESE WITHERSPOON x HELLO SUNSHINE BOOK CLUB PICK

"Get cozy because you won't be able to put this one down! Our final Reese’s Book Club pick of 2019 is the thrilling murder-mystery Conviction by Denise Mina. This story combines suspense, international intrigue, and the murder of an entire family aboard a ship...following the one woman who may just have all the answers." (Reese Witherspoon)

The captivating, utterly unforgettable thriller for fans of Killing Eve and The Woman in the Window: A true-crime podcast sets a trophy wife's present life on a collision course with her secret past.

The day Anna McDonald's quiet, respectable life explodes starts off like all the days before: Packing up the kids for school, making breakfast, listening to yet another true crime podcast. Then her husband comes downstairs with an announcement, and Anna is suddenly, shockingly alone.

Reeling, desperate for distraction, Anna returns to the podcast. Other people's problems are much better than one's own - a sunken yacht, a murdered family, a hint of international conspiracy. But this case actually is Anna's problem. She knows one of the victims from an earlier life, a life she's taken great pains to leave behind. And she is convinced that she knows what really happened.

Then an unexpected visitor arrives on her front stoop, a meddling neighbor intervenes, and life as Anna knows it is well and truly over. The devils of her past are awakened - and in hot pursuit. Convinced she has no other options, she goes on the run, and in pursuit of the truth, with a washed-up musician at her side and the podcast as her guide.

©2019 Denise Mina (P)2019 Hachette Audio

What the critics say

"Mina's latest thriller is a spellbinding listen featuring a superbly talented narrator. Cathleen McCarron expertly portrays numerous characters spanning several ages, accents, genders, and emotions. She particularly shines as protagonist Anna McDonald.... Anna is a quirky, compelling heroine, and McCarron is a narrative force." (AudioFile magazine)

"Such a delight: playful, fast-paced, and entirely compulsive." (Ann Cleeves, author of the best-selling Shetland series)

"Denise Mina brilliantly manages to be funny, heart-wrenching, gut-punching and addictive all at once: A fabulous, captivating novel." (Nicci French, author of the international best seller Day of the Dead)

"Spellbinding.... A metafictional marvel that both endorses and exemplifies the power of storytelling." (Publishers Weekly, starred review)

What listeners say about Conviction

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    155
  • 4 Stars
    86
  • 3 Stars
    34
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    5
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    185
  • 4 Stars
    47
  • 3 Stars
    21
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    142
  • 4 Stars
    69
  • 3 Stars
    31
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    7

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Disappointing

This book started off strong, but totally lost me a third of the way through. I tried to suspend my disbelief, hoping the ending would redeem it, but the main twist was an eye-rolling disappointment. Frustratingly cliché and unrealistic.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

An unlikely story

A tale of twisted lives and misshapen truths had me near the edge of my seat for most of the book. What lessened the experience for me was the recurring theme of plot armor that cheapened the otherwise brilliant experience. The characters are lively, the story keeps taking twists and turns to keep things fresh. But at the end I wish the narrative resolve didn't come from convenient yet unlikely events.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Enjoyed it, fun lil story

Enjoyed the story, it had some laughs for a thriller.
Not a heavy story, I recommend if you're looking for something light and fun. Would be a good story to listen to while traveling.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

What a joy!!

This book was an absolute joy to listen to! I’m not sure how it would be with another narrator but I honestly don’t think it would be as amusing or entertaining. I enjoyed it so much ! 💕

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

it's alright

The performance was good after you get used to the author's voice (takes about 30 mins) but the story was meh.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

kept me guessing until the end

aside from the story inside the story that ropes you in, part of what makes this audiobook so good is the narrator. different voices for different characters really helps you understand everything a little bit better. I found myself wanting to listen to this all the time.
this is about a podcast that chronicles of murder mystery and it's very different and inventive and will keep you guessing until the very end!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The narration is top notch

Honestly one of the most engaging narrations I’ve had from Audible! The story is a thriller that’s dark but also has a lightness. I really liked it and would especially recommend to true crime podcasts fans like myself.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I was hooked!

I thoroughly enjoyed the story and the performance right from the first chapter to the end. I already have purchased the second book with these characters. I will also look at other books written by this author. I liked the flawed characters, the humour and insights. I hope you can enjoy it as much as I did.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very entertaining

Great narration and a plot that moves fast and increases in intensity keeps the listener engaged.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • nat
  • 2023-05-19

very enjoyable

I loved the narration, the story was very good, I was hooked from the opening! well done!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!