Listen free for 30 days

Audible Membership

$14.95 a month

1 credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
The Plus Catalogue—listen all you want to thousands of Audible Originals, podcasts, and audiobooks.
$14.95 a month plus applicable taxes after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $37.53

Buy Now for $37.53

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Tax where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A prehistoric virus. An infectious primal hunger. Some discoveries are better left buried...

James would much rather hang out with his friends than go hunting with his father, the survivalist. What starts out as another uneventful trip, however, takes a hard turn for the worse when they’re attacked without explanation.

Panic-stricken and running for his life and trying to get back to his family, James and a handful of other survivors are forced to fight an enemy they cannot beat on grounds they do not know.

The odds are not in their favor, but if they want to survive, they must venture deep into the deadly unknown, right down to the heart of his ravenous horde.

Dead State: The Complete Boxset is an action-packed survival story focusing on fortitude, strength of character, and the power of community. If you like spine-crawling suspense mixed with post-apocalyptic grit, this is an edge-of-your seat tale you can’t afford to miss!

Dead State: The Complete Boxset is perfect for fans of David Simpson, Christopher Artinian, and Peter Meredith. Get all five full-length thrillers plus the novella Catalyst and start binge-listening to the series today!

Books included in Dead State: The Complete Boxset:

  • Dead State: Catalyst (Prequel)
  • Dead State: Fallout
  • Dead State: Survival Road
  • Dead State: Executioner
  • Dead State: Immune
  • Dead State: Evolved
©2020 Derek Shupert (P)2020 Derek Shupert

What listeners say about Dead State: The Complete Boxset

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 2 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 2.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

No ending.

The story was so-so. The narrator kind of screwed the author with an underwhelming performance. Typical zombie fair, main character keeps getting into, and out of impossible situations. I almost tossed this set a few times due to the narrator.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Ross Magill
  • 2020-12-07

Chasers

I’m not a big zombie fan but this was a good series. I liked the story line but found some of it a little far fetched. Overall it kept me entertained with the narration and the characters fight/will to survive.

22 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • dawn
  • 2021-01-11

Great story but...

it's a book series I would definitely recommend. My only hang up was James himself. He was great in the first book but it's like he got dumber and weaker as the series went on. He had trouble climbing a ladder for fricks sake. I get he's 15 but common sense to not just stand around day dreaming or yelling would be great. It was a great story I just would have left him behind.

20 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Angie
  • 2020-12-02

A wonderful series.

This audio book is both addictive and entertaining as hell. Derek Shupert, and B.C. Archer have made these characters feel alive.

18 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Sal
  • 2020-11-06

A bit on the Mild Side - But LOVED it

Really got into this Story - and listened pretty much straight through while on a road trip. It really engaged me and now I want a Dog. Will need to look into that soon - great time to do it :) I definitely recommend this Audiobook.

16 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Mari
  • 2020-11-13

Would make a great mini-series

Overall I did like this book however, this book would be easier to digest as a movie or mini-series. Almost couldn’t finish it at times was getting a little bit bored at times.I wouldn’t recommend reading it as a full box set because it was getting hard to listen too, but for TV it would make a great zombie apocalyptic film or mini -series.

15 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • vyacheslav bobik
  • 2021-03-11

good story other then main character

As others have stated the mc is very stupid he makes the same mistakes over and over then crys about it just to repeat later. I think we all forget this is a 15y old kid and not Rambo. The story was fun overall but with the beginning of the book it was looking like the mc would be a trained survivalist and not the immature kid he turned out to be, would have been better if he died saving his sister because that's just the more realistic outcome. yes I said realistic about a zombie book get over it.

14 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Lorrie
  • 2020-12-26

Not just another zombie book.

This starts unlike other zombie outbreaks. The entire series is action packed. If you are looking for a new read, you found it here in this book.
The narrator really brought the characters to life. Highly recommend

13 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • BLW
  • 2021-01-16

Worth the credit

Great goon, believable characters and great plot. Wasn't a fan of the ending but good

11 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Jmmurphy59
  • 2021-01-06

I really liked the story

I have no idea how this kid survived. When he wasn't sounding like a whiny kid and doing rash things or NOT doing what needed to be done, he was full of bravado and saying how he had to handle things better then goes and does something rash again. The rest of the characters were great. I look forward to listening to more by Derek Shupert.

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Christine Janke
  • 2021-06-26

Wow

Great series highly recommend and b c archer was fantastic! Looking for more books now

9 people found this helpful