Get a free audiobook

Dead in the Water

A Cherringham Mystery 1
Narrated by: Neil Dudgeon
Length: 6 hrs and 22 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (9 ratings)

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

On the night of the school prom, a young teacher is found dead in the Thames in a drug-related accident. It seems - at first - to be another sign that Cherringham High is spiralling out of control. The new head however is convinced that the teacher's death is suspicious and quietly calls in Sarah Edwards. With her one-time detective partner, Jack Brennan, back in America, Sarah is at first reluctant to take on the case. But when she does get involved, it soon becomes clear that the tragic accident might really be a case of murder - and even Sarah herself could be in danger ...

"Dead in the Water" is the first full-length novel set in the sleepy English village of Cherringham, featuring the unlikely sleuthing duo Sarah, an English web designer, and Jack, American ex-cop. Thrilling and deadly - but with a spot of tea - it's like Rosamunde Pilcher meets Inspector Barnaby. For fans of Agatha Christie's Miss Marple series, Lilian Jackson Braun's "The Cat Who" series, Caroline Graham's Midsomer Murders, and the American TV series Murder She Wrote, starring Angela Lansbury.

Co-authors Neil Richards (based in the UK) and Matthew Costello (based in the US), have been writing together since the mid 90's, creating content and working on projects for the BBC, Disney Channel, Sony, ABC, Eidos, and Nintendo to name but a few. Their transatlantic collaboration has underpinned scores of TV drama scripts, computer games, radio shows, and - most recently - the successful crime fiction series Cherringham.

The narrator of the audiobook, Neil Dudgeon, has been in many British television programmes including the roles of 'DCI John Barnaby' in 'Midsomer Murders' and 'Jim Riley' in 'The Life of Riley'. He is also known for his film roles in 'The Nativity', 'Sorted' and 'Son of Rambow'. In 2012 Dudgeon starred as 'Norman Birkett' on BBC Radio 4's Afternoon Play series written by Caroline and David Stafford.

©2019 Bastei Lübbe (P)2019 Lübbe Audio

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
No reviews are available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Karly
  • 2019-04-21

Another great Cherringham story

This was essentially an extended episode, with s bit more background about the main characters. If you like the Cherringham mysteries, you'll enjoy this as well. Listen to it following Episode episode 24 (A Death in the Family). This book explains what happens after the cliffhanger from episode 24.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kathleen Freeland
  • 2019-04-04

Cannot wait for the next book

Everything is wonderful in this book, a new puppy included.
A series that is always interesting and delightful to listen to many times.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Renee
  • 2019-04-12

Keep them coming!

Wish this to become a television series, one shown in the States. Love, love, love these books.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Cookiegrandma
  • 2019-04-06

Superb!

Costello and Richards are master storytellers. Dudgeon is perfect for bringing characters to life. Masterpiece

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Sylvia
  • 2019-04-10

So nice to have a full-length Cherringham mystery!

As usual, this cozy mystery lives up to the high quality set by all the previous 27 short mysteries. Neil Dudgeon is a fantastic narrator, adding to the “coziness” of the story. And it’s a great story, with several mysteries solved by the end. Highly recommended!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • chris
  • 2019-07-28

Really good!

When I get a book I try to pace myself so as to make it last a couple weeks, listening around 45 minutes in the evening to get to sleep. Well, this I started and listened to five hours the first day!
Held my interest, great story.
I very much enjoy these books, love the characters, storyline and setting.
The narrator can make or break the success of an audio book and Neil Dudgeon has made these books successful! He can truly bring the characters to life.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Shaneen
  • 2019-06-28

I enjoyed the book very much

loved it keep me guessing looking forward to the other books in this series. Can't wait

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kelly J. Grace
  • 2019-06-08

Modern English Village Mystery

Totally enjoyed this cozy mystery. Lovable characters , quaint village setting with modern challenges for a fresh take on an old reliable genre.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • H. Roberson
  • 2019-07-11

A Welcome Addition to Cherringham

Good story; a bit predictable. But - and this is important - it's a novel length Cherringham mystery. The plot lines are good and intersect each other well. At least one semi loose end having to do with Sarah's assault and her safety even after the resolution of the story line. Even so, entertaining.

Dudgeon again does a marvelous job with the performance and makes the book a joy to listen to. Characters are consistent and the additions of minor characters is done well with sufficient distinctions between them.

Recommended

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • SophiaMarie
  • 2019-07-05

Love this series!

Jack and Sarah make the perfect duo. Glad Jack is back in the Cotswolds. He's a credit to what an " average Joe" -type Yank is.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful