Get a free audiobook

Dead to Her

A Novel
Written by: Sarah Pinborough
Narrated by: Saskia Maarleveld
Length: 11 hrs and 31 mins
4 out of 5 stars (44 ratings)

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Liane Moriarty, Liv Constantine, and Lisa Jewell, a twisty psychological thriller about a savvy second wife who will do almost anything to come out on top from the New York Times best-selling author of Behind Her Eyes.

Being the second wife can be murder....

"Once a cheat, always a cheat," they say. Marcie Maddox has worked hard to get where she is after the illicit affair that started her new life a few years ago. But her world of country clubs, yachts, and sumptuous houses in Savannah, Georgia, isn’t easy to maintain, no matter how hard she tries. Nor is keeping her husband, Jason, truly interested. 

So, when Jason’s boss brings home a hot new wife from his trip to London, the young Mrs William Radford IV isn’t quite the souvenir everyone expected. Sexy, drop-dead gorgeous, and black - Keisha quickly usurps Marcie’s place as the beautiful second wife. But when Marcie sees the extra spark in the room when Keisha and Jason are together and their obvious, magnetic attraction, the gloves come off. 

Revenge is best served cold, but in the steamy Savannah heat, blood runs so hot that this summer it might just boil over into murder. 

©2020 Sarah Pinborough (P)2020 HarperAudio
What members say
Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    29
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    17
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • K
  • 2020-03-02

Love it!

I love the narration by Saskia Maarleveld. I never saw the twist coming!!! This is my first book from the author and I will look for another book by Sarah Pinborough.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Weird and creepy.

The premise went in an unpredictable direction, the story was drawn out a bit but kept me on my toes through the end. The narration was fantastic!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Review

I enjoyed listening to this book. I had thought I knew who had done the murder but there was a twist. I had to listen to the end.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

so so

Hard to say it's great. Hard to say it sucked. Just feels like it could have been so much more. Narrator was awesome though.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Ending felt rushed

I just feel like they were trying to wrap up a lot of loose ends towards the end but a very good book to listen to.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Breanna
  • 2020-02-12

Revenge in Savannah

I really enjoyed the performance. It was great. This book had it all, sex, lust, love, revenge, death. I really felt the culture of the area, and was immersed fully into the story and history of it all. A door opened into the lives of the elite and not just in your typical way. I couldn’t bring myself to press pause, I wanted to know where it was going and how it would all unravel. It wasn’t what I expected, even after I finished the book. Its was so much more than the books summary and i guess that’s why i didn’t expect it to steer the way it did. It all made sense, but I still can’t wrap my head around it. Overall it was a great story. There are some parts that where a little “dark” and “twisted”, but it just made me feel like there was no detail too small. You won’t regret this purchase.

17 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Birdie
  • 2020-02-16

Less words would’ve been a better story

First let me say the last few chapters were very good, implausible but very good. The writing was excellent, if you don’t mind long winded descriptions and character thoughts regarding mundane things. This book could’ve would’ve should’ve been half to three quarters the length and it would’ve improved the story a ton. The sex scenes drug out too much and too often, but that’s just a personal thing. I find sex scenes to be a lazy way to fill pages. I listened at 1.5 speed until the last section and fell asleep without needing to re-listen to at least half the book so that indicates how long winded it was. The actor was amazing with each the voice and made listening a true pleasure. Another story about rich people...yawn.

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • lisa
  • 2020-02-17

quite the twist

Very entertaining! Never knew who was bad or good for most of the book. Some slight explicit scenes, just a warning in case that bothers you. Satisfied with the ending!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • JessB
  • 2020-02-18

I feel this wasn't her best, but still worth it.

Perhaps this would be better to read than to listen to... the story is a good one, but I agree with a previous reviewer who stated it was too long. I got bogged down in the middle more than once, and found my mind wandering and having to rewind. One time I had to go back nearly an hour, which is very unlike me. So I was glad things picked up greatly at the end. The setup for most of the pertinent events was great, and there were many of them, so that was satisfying.

Behind Her Eyes was such a perfect book to me that I expected that wow-factor from this book as well. I didn't really get that with this title, but I'm not overly sad I spent a credit on it, either. Still a fan!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Michele
  • 2020-02-25

Dead to me!

After reading Behind Her Eyes I pre ordered this book and was super excited. This was painful. I could not get through it. For the 1st time ever I had to find spoilers to see how a book ended, and I am very glad I did. Completely unbelievable story. All the characters were unlikeable. Really was not a thriller or suspenseful. It was like a Lifetime movie but worse. The narrator was really good, but not good enough for me to finish this book. I won't give up on Sara Pinborough, but I have to return this book. It was that bad.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Hello World
  • 2020-04-11

Don’t Waste a Credit on this Garbage Story

This is one of the most ridiculous stories I’ve listened to. Fairly well written but with stupid, unlikeable characters and an inane storyline. I wish I had those hours back...

The narrator, however, was great.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Christopher M Davis
  • 2020-03-16

Avoid this one

This book was a massive disappointment. It was not thrilling. It was not engaging. Poorly written.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Mark H. Johnson
  • 2020-03-15

Not for me

Recycled story with no redeeming value what so ever. The narrator’s voice was annoying beyond belief, particularly while reading the male character parts. Would not recommend this to anyone.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • GCS18
  • 2020-02-29

Ok so (oyyyyy)

Cool premise.
Decent story.
But the narrator is horrible. 23 year old English woman sounds like 65 year old English woman. Southern old guys all sound exactly alike and all wrong. It’s hard because the narrator is great in primary role. But what???? They need to understand we hear accents and have traveled!!!!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • DJM
  • 2020-02-26

Terrible! Don’t waste a credit!

Disappointed! Pointless, boring, awful! Characters were so pathetically selfish I was hoping they would all go to jail!
Read Behind Her Eyes or Cross Her Heart instead! Both are wonderful!

1 person found this helpful