Get a free audiobook

Dead to Her

A Novel
Written by: Sarah Pinborough
Narrated by: Saskia Maarleveld
Length: 11 hrs and 31 mins
5 out of 5 stars (1 rating)

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Liane Moriarty, Liv Constantine, and Lisa Jewell, a twisty psychological thriller about a savvy second wife who will do almost anything to come out on top from the New York Times best-selling author of Behind Her Eyes.

Being the second wife can be murder....

"Once a cheat, always a cheat," they say. Marcie Maddox has worked hard to get where she is after the illicit affair that started her new life a few years ago. But her world of country clubs, yachts, and sumptuous houses in Savannah, Georgia, isn’t easy to maintain, no matter how hard she tries. Nor is keeping her husband, Jason, truly interested. 

So, when Jason’s boss brings home a hot new wife from his trip to London, the young Mrs William Radford IV isn’t quite the souvenir everyone expected. Sexy, drop-dead gorgeous, and black - Keisha quickly usurps Marcie’s place as the beautiful second wife. But when Marcie sees the extra spark in the room when Keisha and Jason are together and their obvious, magnetic attraction, the gloves come off. 

Revenge is best served cold, but in the steamy Savannah heat, blood runs so hot that this summer it might just boil over into murder. 

©2020 Sarah Pinborough (P)2020 HarperAudio

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No reviews are available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Breanna
  • 2020-02-12

Revenge in Savannah

I really enjoyed the performance. It was great. This book had it all, sex, lust, love, revenge, death. I really felt the culture of the area, and was immersed fully into the story and history of it all. A door opened into the lives of the elite and not just in your typical way. I couldn’t bring myself to press pause, I wanted to know where it was going and how it would all unravel. It wasn’t what I expected, even after I finished the book. Its was so much more than the books summary and i guess that’s why i didn’t expect it to steer the way it did. It all made sense, but I still can’t wrap my head around it. Overall it was a great story. There are some parts that where a little “dark” and “twisted”, but it just made me feel like there was no detail too small. You won’t regret this purchase.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Birdie
  • 2020-02-16

Less words would’ve been a better story

First let me say the last few chapters were very good, implausible but very good. The writing was excellent, if you don’t mind long winded descriptions and character thoughts regarding mundane things. This book could’ve would’ve should’ve been half to three quarters the length and it would’ve improved the story a ton. The sex scenes drug out too much and too often, but that’s just a personal thing. I find sex scenes to be a lazy way to fill pages. I listened at 1.5 speed until the last section and fell asleep without needing to re-listen to at least half the book so that indicates how long winded it was. The actor was amazing with each the voice and made listening a true pleasure. Another story about rich people...yawn.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • lisa
  • 2020-02-17

quite the twist

Very entertaining! Never knew who was bad or good for most of the book. Some slight explicit scenes, just a warning in case that bothers you. Satisfied with the ending!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • JessB
  • 2020-02-18

I feel this wasn't her best, but still worth it.

Perhaps this would be better to read than to listen to... the story is a good one, but I agree with a previous reviewer who stated it was too long. I got bogged down in the middle more than once, and found my mind wandering and having to rewind. One time I had to go back nearly an hour, which is very unlike me. So I was glad things picked up greatly at the end. The setup for most of the pertinent events was great, and there were many of them, so that was satisfying.

Behind Her Eyes was such a perfect book to me that I expected that wow-factor from this book as well. I didn't really get that with this title, but I'm not overly sad I spent a credit on it, either. Still a fan!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Heidi S
  • 2020-02-18

Absolutely Insane

It's a hard book to put down. At one point, I'm thinking this is a train wreck waiting to happen and during the next point, I'm stumped.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Alyssa
  • 2020-02-17

Interesting Twist

This is my first book by Sarah Pinborough, and I would read/listen to another!

Plot: This is a book about southerners who will go to different lengths to make everything appear so perfect. Underneath it all, it never is. The new black wife of a very wealth white widower sends shockwaves through their elite community.

Review: I enjoyed the book and didn’t expect the twist that came. I won’t give too much away, but I did think I knew who the culprit was. I hate figuring out a book so I was happy that my gut instinct was wrong. I love books that keep you guessing, and this one did just that.

Narration: The narration / performance was excellent. The switch of characters was seamless and I didn’t have trouble keeping up as there are quite a few.