Get a free audiobook

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

A masked ball, a dead body, a missing diamond necklace and a suspicious silver candlestick? Sounds like a case for Lady Eleanor Swift! 

England, 1920. Lady Eleanor Swift, adventurer extraordinaire and reluctant amateur detective, is taking a break from sleuthing. She’s got much bigger problems: Eleanor has two left feet, nothing to wear and she’s expected at the masked ball at the local manor. Her new beau Lance Langham is the host, so she needs to dazzle. 

Surrounded by partygoers with painted faces, pirates, priests and enough feathers to drown an ostrich, Eleanor searches for a familiar face. As she follows a familiar pair of long legs up a grand staircase, she’s sure she’s on Lance’s trail. But she opens the door on a dreadful scene: Lance standing over a dead Colonel Puddifoot, brandishing a silver candlestick, the family safe wide open and empty. 

Moments later, the police burst in and arrest Lance for murder, diamond theft and a spate of similar burglaries. But Eleanor is convinced her love didn’t do it, and with him locked up in prison, she knows she needs to clear his name. 

Something Lance lets slip about his pals convinces Eleanor the answer lies close to home. Accompanied by her faithful sidekick Gladstone the bulldog, she begins with Lance’s friends - a set of fast driving, even faster drinking, high-society types with a taste for mischief. But after they start getting picked off in circumstances that look a lot like murder, Eleanor is in a race against time to clear Lance’s name and avoid another brush with death....

Fans of Agatha Christie, T E Kinsey and Downton Abbey will adore this tremendously fun cozy whodunnit, full of mystery, murder and intrigue! 

©2020 Verity Bright (P)2020 Bookouture

What listeners say about Death at the Dance: An Addictive Historical Cozy Mystery

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Entertaining and light

Story is fine and performance is excellent. Hopefully the main character matures over the course of the books and replaces her somewhat petulant reactions with a slightly more thoughtful demeanor with those who dare disagree with her.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • AmazonCustomer
  • 2020-07-09

Story is very slow and no true plot.

Characters spend more time insulting and complimenting each other. Otherwise they have no personality.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Judy MF
  • 2021-02-08

fun and clever

fun as you get used to Elie--the main characters grow on you and become quite loveable





  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • sbthurmond
  • 2021-01-19

Entertaining and Witty

I have come to love this series. The relationship between the main characters is heartwarming and brings joy to my day. The plot is entertaining and narration is some of the best I’ve heard.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Marnie MacLennan
  • 2020-12-24

Another fun adventure with fabulous characters!

Another fun adventure with fabulous characters! I love Eleanor's spirit and tenacity! The fabulous butlers and staff characters are full as well as all the ancillary characters all have personality. The narrator is awesome too!!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Jeanne
  • 2020-12-17

Fun period mystery

These books are fun. They're not meant to be taken too seriously, just a good bit of silliness. I remain puzzled as to why the books' synopsis always describe her dog as he her partner in crime solving. In fact, the dog only makes, a few cameo appearances. It's the wry and witty butler Clifford who is the real star.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jennifer M Pratt
  • 2020-10-13

Well written, but fast reader.

Enjoyed the story but the reader read kind of fast so I had to slow it down just a little bit. Still, well worth it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Beth B
  • 2020-08-05

Great fun and an excellent mystery

Characters are well drawn and fun. Lots of good relationships and a taste of that era with lots of humour and excellent narration by Karen Cass

A most entertaining cozy mystery

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kindle Customer
  • 2020-07-10

Enjoyable flash back to another time.

If you enjoy some good bantering with interesting characters this book's for you. I truly enjoyed the way the writer transports you to a different time.