Listen free for 30 days

  • Death at the Dance: An Addictive Historical Cozy Mystery

  • A Lady Eleanor Swift Mystery, Book 2
  • Written by: Verity Bright
  • Narrated by: Karen Cass
  • Length: 8 hrs and 26 mins
  • 4.6 out of 5 stars (27 ratings)

1 credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
The Plus Catalogue—listen all you want to thousands of Audible Originals, podcasts, and audiobooks.
$14.95 a month plus applicable taxes after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Death at the Dance: An Addictive Historical Cozy Mystery cover art

Death at the Dance: An Addictive Historical Cozy Mystery

Written by: Verity Bright
Narrated by: Karen Cass
Try for $0.00

$14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for $25.00

Buy Now for $25.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Tax where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A masked ball, a dead body, a missing diamond necklace and a suspicious silver candlestick? Sounds like a case for Lady Eleanor Swift! 

England, 1920. Lady Eleanor Swift, adventurer extraordinaire and reluctant amateur detective, is taking a break from sleuthing. She’s got much bigger problems: Eleanor has two left feet, nothing to wear and she’s expected at the masked ball at the local manor. Her new beau Lance Langham is the host, so she needs to dazzle. 

Surrounded by partygoers with painted faces, pirates, priests and enough feathers to drown an ostrich, Eleanor searches for a familiar face. As she follows a familiar pair of long legs up a grand staircase, she’s sure she’s on Lance’s trail. But she opens the door on a dreadful scene: Lance standing over a dead Colonel Puddifoot, brandishing a silver candlestick, the family safe wide open and empty. 

Moments later, the police burst in and arrest Lance for murder, diamond theft and a spate of similar burglaries. But Eleanor is convinced her love didn’t do it, and with him locked up in prison, she knows she needs to clear his name. 

Something Lance lets slip about his pals convinces Eleanor the answer lies close to home. Accompanied by her faithful sidekick Gladstone the bulldog, she begins with Lance’s friends - a set of fast driving, even faster drinking, high-society types with a taste for mischief. But after they start getting picked off in circumstances that look a lot like murder, Eleanor is in a race against time to clear Lance’s name and avoid another brush with death....

Fans of Agatha Christie, T E Kinsey and Downton Abbey will adore this tremendously fun cozy whodunnit, full of mystery, murder and intrigue! 

©2020 Verity Bright (P)2020 Bookouture

What listeners say about Death at the Dance: An Addictive Historical Cozy Mystery

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    18
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    21
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very entertaining

Incredible narration! How this reader does it is a mystery in itself; refreshing plot and appealing reader.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

On the Silly Side

Some notable inconsistencies in backstory and disappointing hints at an interesting past mystery but they go nowhere in this book and from descriptions of others not in those stories either. Most disappointing is that lead who has reportedly faced some incredible adventures and hardships, she is ready to give up all for someone named Lancelot? A vapid toy boy who uses all the annoying 'endearments' of old thing, old girl, sweet fruit etc... and is just too stupid for words?

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Entertaining and light

Story is fine and performance is excellent. Hopefully the main character matures over the course of the books and replaces her somewhat petulant reactions with a slightly more thoughtful demeanor with those who dare disagree with her.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Beth B
  • Beth B
  • 2020-08-05

Great fun and an excellent mystery

Characters are well drawn and fun. Lots of good relationships and a taste of that era with lots of humour and excellent narration by Karen Cass

A most entertaining cozy mystery

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for AmazonCustomer
  • AmazonCustomer
  • 2020-07-09

Story is very slow and no true plot.

Characters spend more time insulting and complimenting each other. Otherwise they have no personality.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for EpDwH14
  • EpDwH14
  • 2021-01-19

Entertaining and Witty

I have come to love this series. The relationship between the main characters is heartwarming and brings joy to my day. The plot is entertaining and narration is some of the best I’ve heard.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Marnie MacLennan
  • Marnie MacLennan
  • 2020-12-24

Another fun adventure with fabulous characters!

Another fun adventure with fabulous characters! I love Eleanor's spirit and tenacity! The fabulous butlers and staff characters are full as well as all the ancillary characters all have personality. The narrator is awesome too!!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jill A Nadeau
  • Jill A Nadeau
  • 2022-10-28

I’m very tired of stupid heroins-

How are we supposed to believe these silly, stupid, annoying girls solve mysteries? And the love interest is dumber than her, I guess they deserve each other.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for CATS3
  • CATS3
  • 2022-05-01

Silly & a dreadful waste of time

This husband/wife writing team, pen name, Verity Bright, is, I fear, Verily Dull. They seem to have assembled tropes and British turns-of-phrase without understanding them ("Wot!")

I don't know how widely one must read to know that "sotto voce" means "soft/quiet voice" and not instruments playing softly, but the meaning should be evident in the term itself. To use the term "bowling along" to mean a man walking across a room, misunderstands that its British use indicates a carriage or similar vehicle moving at a rapid pace.
Verity "Bright" needs to do more research before using terms-of-art that they do not understand.

Although all that was grating enough, the book is peopled with two dimensional stock figures seemingly cut-and-pasted from other writers.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kathy in CA
  • Kathy in CA
  • 2022-01-18

Great Fun

The Lady Eleanor Swift stories are a little like the Royal Spyness series - great cozy mysteries with a lot of fun along the way. The dry wit of the unflappable butler Clifford is especially delightful. He and Lady Eleanor make an unusual but fantastic team.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mary Beth Garber
  • Mary Beth Garber
  • 2021-04-22

Better than reading the book—which was also wonderful!

Amazed at how well Karen Cass brought all these wonderful people to life. So very well done!! Bravo!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Judy MF
  • Judy MF
  • 2021-02-08

fun and clever

fun as you get used to Elie--the main characters grow on you and become quite loveable





1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jeanne
  • Jeanne
  • 2020-12-17

Fun period mystery

These books are fun. They're not meant to be taken too seriously, just a good bit of silliness. I remain puzzled as to why the books' synopsis always describe her dog as he her partner in crime solving. In fact, the dog only makes, a few cameo appearances. It's the wry and witty butler Clifford who is the real star.

1 person found this helpful