Get a free audiobook

Duel at Araluen

Ranger's Apprentice: The Royal Ranger
Written by: John Flanagan
Narrated by: John Keating
Length: 9 hrs and 54 mins
5 out of 5 stars (15 ratings)

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

International best-selling author John Flanagan returns to world of Ranger's Apprentice in this new installment of the Royal Ranger series starring Maddie, Will Treaty's fearless young apprentice.

King Duncan and Princess Cassandra are trapped in the south tower of Castle Araluen and under near-constant attack from the Red Fox Clan. Sir Horace and Ranger Commandant Gilan are holed up in an old hill fort, surrounded by the enemy. And Ranger's apprentice Maddie is the only one who can save them all. 

With the help of Hal, Thorn, and the rest of the Heron brotherband, Maddie will have to break her father and his men out of the hill fort, but will they reach Castle Araluen in time? 

International best-selling author of the Ranger's Apprentice and Brotherband series, John Flanagan returns in the captivating next installment of the Royal Ranger series: The Royal Ranger: Duel at Araluen. Perfect for fans of J.R.R. Tolkien, Brian Jacques's Redwall, and George R.R. Martin's Game of Thrones!

©2019 John Flanagan (P)2019 Listening Library

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No reviews are available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Nicholas
  • 2019-10-03

amazing!

one of the best series ever and this is a great entry to that series!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kindle Customer
  • 2019-09-04

Great Read

Once again Flanagan has come through with a great adventurous tale. I have enjoyed his books since I was a boy and still do today .

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 2019-08-04

overall a great book

Like many of John Flanagan's books, it was really easy to just get captured by the story. The only thing that took away from that was Maddie's horse. The way he was written into the book, it seemed like the horse was actually talking to her. I could understand if it was written in such a way that it was clear Maddie was more or less imagining the extreme level of conversation she had with her horse, but it seemed like Bumper actually had a high level of thought which took a little bit away from the story each time conversations with Bumper came around. Either way I still really enjoyed the book and still would suggest it to others who love the Rangers Apprentice series!!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • robinelle schroder
  • 2019-07-23

Another success!

This book did not disappoint! Loved the storyline, the characters have such depth! So glad we merged the two series!! Thank you for sharing your talents!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ralph j.
  • 2019-07-01

Yes!!!!!!!!!

It was excellent from beginning to the end. Full of action and intrigue and at the same time very sad especially when the sword sensei encountered the traitor. Totally enjoyable.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2019-06-21

good but predictable

the book wasn't forced but wasent incredable and you knew what was going to happen but that is the formula that makes the series

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Michael P. Long
  • Charlotte NC
  • 2019-06-17

Good, but not as great as previous ones

Another good Ranger's Apprentice story and was quite enjoyable. I'm not giving it a five because of a few small things: it was missing a bit of fun of the previous stories (following two groups being constantly sieged is a bit draining), it wasn't stand alone or a new adventure (part 2 which continued a cliff hanger), there was no Will or Halt, and had a limited scope of locales (really, just the castle and the hill fort). However, the inclusion of the Brotherband characters was a plus and Maddy continues to be a great character.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Lightkeeper83
  • 2019-06-13

This book is pretty fair

As an avid listener of all of Mr Flanagan's books, this book is really good. It is well written with a plot that is easy to follow. Since I listen to these YA books for my wife's classroom, I'd say that this book should be another great book for her collection.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • CCCCS
  • 2019-06-12

Best book series (Rangers Apprentice)

This has been my favorite book series for years, and I’m always excited when a new book comes out, keep up the good work.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 2019-06-08

LOVE THESE BOOKS!!!!

John Flanagan has done it again! The first series of the Rangers Apprentice was so awesome I didn’t think it could get much better..... But then here comes the Royal Ranger! I always love a strong female leader facing challenges and proving herself!(And Maddie does all of these things) I love the storyline and all the little details! Each time I read/listen to one of John Flanagan’s books I find something new I didn’t notice before. Also the narrator John Keating, really ties the book together! I usually prefer female narrator because a lot of the time male narrators can’t hit the high note a girly voice needs/has, but this narrator does a very good job with Maddie’s voice! Overall I rate the book 100mil/10 passing all of my reading expectations.