Get a free audiobook

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

In the middle of the coldest winter on record, a super EMP destroys the power grid. No electricity. No cars or phones. Worst of all, no heat. The country is plunged into instant chaos.

But for 26-year-old Hannah Sheridan, it's the best day of her life. For the last five years, she's been held captive by a sadistic psychopath, until the EMP releases the lock of her prison. Hannah emerges from her underground cell into a hostile winter landscape with no way to call for help, no vehicle that will drive, armed with nothing but the clothes on her back and her own determination to survive.

Liam Coleman, cynical loner and former soldier, is headed nowhere, fast. He believed he was prepared for any disaster, until the EMP took everything he'd ever cared about in a matter of seconds. When he runs across a desperate woman who will die without his help, he's forced to make a choice.

Two hundred frozen, perilous miles stand between them and their destination in rural Michigan. But the lack of power, desperate people, and the treacherous elements aren't the only threats. Hannah's captor isn't about to let her go. He will hunt her to the ends of the earth and beyond, destroying anything and anyone who gets in his way. 

Edge of Collapse is a gripping post-apocalyptic EMP thriller perfect for fans of Ryan Schow, Grace Hamilton, Harley Tate, Jack Hunt, and Boyd Craven.

©2020 Kyla Stone (P)2020 Kyla Stone

What listeners say about Edge of Collapse

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Unexpected and suspenseful

The point of view that this post apocalyptic story was written was super unique to me. I expected some sort of world catastrophe but the way that the author revealed such a catastrophe was very unique. Following Hannah (the protagonist) along her story was enjoyment. Fill with suspense and wonder, I would recommend this book to anyone. I will be continuing the series.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • 🎧 Cyndi Marie🎧 ☆★Audiobook Addict★☆
  • 2020-09-16

✫✫ 4.5 Stars ✫✫

This book felt more like a Thriller than Post Apocalyptic. I don't read synopsis of books before I start them as I like to go in blind and be surprised by it all and man that is exactly what I was with this book. I was a little confused when it first started and it wasn't Liam after listening to the prequel but I was happy that he shows up. I was sucked in right away and I stayed up way past my bedtime listening to this. I can't wait to see what happens next in this series.

The narration was great, I enjoyed her very much.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Twana
  • 2020-09-27

A good thriller but not Sci-fi

If you are looking for a good thriller this is the book for you but if you think this is a sci-fi...think again. The only thing sci-fi is the EMP which is only used as a set up for the story.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Melody A. Zomonski
  • 2020-04-28

Excellent!

The Edge of Collapse is an excellent start to what I believe will be an awesome series! Vivid descriptions of the locations and events make it seem more realistic than what you might want it to be. Surviving the bitter cold and escaping an evil man Hannah has a lot of obstacles to overcome just to survive. The characters in this book are well developed and will quickly draw you into their world.

The narration is well done. The book is fast paced and action filled. The perfect series to add to your collection.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Angela
  • 2020-04-26

loved this story!

This was such a great story! The author did a great job of bringing the characters to life! I'm still reeling from the anxiety of Hannah's struggles! When I heard the words 'the end' I said nooooo!! Now I need to find out how this story ends!! I have to start book 2 right now!!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Lisha Vecchiarelli
  • 2020-04-21

series just wow!

Kyla is awesome...this series is awesome...just buy it! You wont regret it! Great Story & Narration!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Neesie315
  • 2020-04-16

EMP Thriller

This is a unique take on a apocalyptic book. More of a thriller, full of suspense, than the typical EMP book.

Hannah Sheridan has been held captive for years by a sadistic man, being tortured whenever she tries to fight back. One day, she discovers that the door that has kept her inside her cold, dark cage is unlocked. Scared to leave but more scared to stay, Hannah ventures out in the coldest winter in Michigan history. Before leaving, she gathers what she can and then releases a Great Pyrenees dog who has also been chained and tortured.

As Hannah tries to find her way through the woods, a blizzard almost kills her. Another traveler, Liam Coleman, discovers her hypothermic body and just wants to keep walking toward his hideaway. However, the voice of his dead sister-in-law won't let him leave Hannah, especially after Liam sees that she is pregnant.

There is plenty of action in this book and the writing and the story kept me on the edge of my chair. There are some references to the EMP, but mostly this is a book of survival as Hannah tries to get away from her captor and Liam and the dog, Ghost, try to help her.

I would recommend that anyone who has suffered domestic abuse or something similar steer clear of this book. But, if you are looking for a fast-paced thriller, full of great characters and an awesome canine, give this series a chance. The writing is wonderful, the story well-developed and you will find yourself caught up in this cold, cruel world.

The narrator, Stacey Glemboski, is perfect for this book. Her timing and inflections are spot-on and she added a lot to my enjoyment of the book.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • JA Marks
  • 2020-04-13

Thrilling!! Couldn’t stop listening!!

This book is so well written! The story and characters drew me in and I couldn’t stop listening! I can’t recommend this book enough! This is probably my most favorite book ever! This book had my emotions all over the place. I was scared out of my mind, relieved, on the edge of my seat, sad, but there were also moments of excitement and joy! This is definitely not a boring book! I can’t wait for the rest of the series to become available on audible!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • richard joesten
  • 2020-04-08

Edge of Collapse

A fantastic series that is a real page Turner. This Audio book is fantastic and would make a great Netflix addition. This Audiobook is epic. The Narrator and Author has done a phenomenal job. It's fast paced and action packed. I couldn't put the audio down. The scenes come out so well that I can vividly picture them in my mind's eye. I definitely recommend.
Shauna Joesten

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Avid Listener
  • 2021-02-01

Loved it

This series is part post-apocalyptic and part thriller with great characters. Can't wait to start the next book.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • J.Brock
  • 2020-08-01

Too Much Melodrama

Unfortunately, this book had promise. But it's a bit too Lifetime, with the whole Hannah held prisoner for 5 years and then on cue, an EMP strikes. With that, she's able to break out. That is one plot one could do without. The Liam storyline makes up for this over the top storyline. And it was his storyline that dominated the prequel. These series easily get bogged down with unnecessary plot ploys and having a serial killer/rapist/captive keeper is just noise. However, on the positive side, the book is clean. Little to no foul language, and general direction onward. Stacy Glemboski does a wonderful job narrating. She's perfect for this series.

1 person found this helpful