Listen free for 30 days

Audible Membership

$14.95 a month

1 credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
The Plus Catalogue—listen all you want to thousands of Audible Originals, podcasts, and audiobooks.
$14.95 a month plus applicable taxes after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $25.00

Buy Now for $25.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Tax where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

In the middle of the coldest winter on record, a super EMP destroys the power grid. No electricity. No cars or phones. Worst of all, no heat. The country is plunged into instant chaos.

But for 26-year-old Hannah Sheridan, it's the best day of her life. For the last five years, she's been held captive by a sadistic psychopath, until the EMP releases the lock of her prison. Hannah emerges from her underground cell into a hostile winter landscape with no way to call for help, no vehicle that will drive, armed with nothing but the clothes on her back and her own determination to survive.

Liam Coleman, cynical loner and former soldier, is headed nowhere, fast. He believed he was prepared for any disaster, until the EMP took everything he'd ever cared about in a matter of seconds. When he runs across a desperate woman who will die without his help, he's forced to make a choice.

Two hundred frozen, perilous miles stand between them and their destination in rural Michigan. But the lack of power, desperate people, and the treacherous elements aren't the only threats. Hannah's captor isn't about to let her go. He will hunt her to the ends of the earth and beyond, destroying anything and anyone who gets in his way. 

Edge of Collapse is a gripping post-apocalyptic EMP thriller perfect for fans of Ryan Schow, Grace Hamilton, Harley Tate, Jack Hunt, and Boyd Craven.

©2020 Kyla Stone (P)2020 Kyla Stone

What listeners say about Edge of Collapse

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Another great novel in this series!

Loved this book. Also, Stacey Glemboski is one of the best narrators out there!. Highly recommend.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Just Ok

From where the book started, I thought it would be exciting and keep me interested. In the beginning we are introduced to a woman who is pregnant and has been kept in captivity for 5 years. When a worldwide (or a least American wide) disaster takes out the power, she is released from her prison, and is on the run from her captor. The premise is great, but the book never picks up. Its frustratingly slow at times, and ends before you get to know what happens (to find out you need to purchase the next two books in the series.)

I would increase my star rating if this book were a trilogy included for one credit. But there is no way I would spend two more credits to find out what happens. I will not be finishing the series.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Unexpected and suspenseful

The point of view that this post apocalyptic story was written was super unique to me. I expected some sort of world catastrophe but the way that the author revealed such a catastrophe was very unique. Following Hannah (the protagonist) along her story was enjoyment. Fill with suspense and wonder, I would recommend this book to anyone. I will be continuing the series.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ❤️Cyndi Marie❤️🎧Audiobook Addicts🎧
  • 2020-09-16

✫✫ 4.5 Stars ✫✫

This book felt more like a Thriller than Post Apocalyptic. I don't read synopsis of books before I start them as I like to go in blind and be surprised by it all and man that is exactly what I was with this book. I was a little confused when it first started and it wasn't Liam after listening to the prequel but I was happy that he shows up. I was sucked in right away and I stayed up way past my bedtime listening to this. I can't wait to see what happens next in this series.

The narration was great, I enjoyed her very much.

16 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • BigDaddy
  • 2020-04-09

Not a thinking man's book

The entire premise of this book is invalid. First, if an emp is strong enough to take out a generator, the corresponding radiation would be lethal. Next, electric locks do not require electricity to lock. They only need it to unlock the locks. No power means no unlocking.

I made it long enough to endure the bad man, who leaves nothing to chance, let man go after taking his 1979 truck.

The main character is too stupid to survive, the bad man is to stupid to do what he has done.

15 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Twana
  • 2020-09-27

A good thriller but not Sci-fi

If you are looking for a good thriller this is the book for you but if you think this is a sci-fi...think again. The only thing sci-fi is the EMP which is only used as a set up for the story.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Stephanie
  • 2022-01-19

Sooo good!

I listen to books and podcasts all day while working. My listening time isn't precious, so I certainly roll the dice on audiobooks and dismissing them if they don't take me away from the mundane. And about 85% of that time I chose post apocalyptic novels. Needless to say, this series not only held my attention, but I found myself stopping what I was doing because I was so into it I couldn't focus at all on my work.

My all time favorite series is one second after by William F. If you haven't gone there yet, give that a listen too. With the edge of collapse books, the author does such a good job in this series bringing a new fresh perspective to the end of the world, and LOVE how each chapter is written from different perspectives. Also, some books I find myself not having a great picture of how characters look, but not here. The descriptions are so perfect that I feel like I am right along with these folks.

I am starting book 6 now, but wanted to stop for a moment and show respect for this piece of art.

Thank you for writing this.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Kaybee
  • 2021-07-28

Ugh...

I really wanted to care about the character of Hannah, but I just found myself increasingly annoyed with her and her constant weakness and driveling. The dog and the Liam are the only redeeming characters in the book. After looking ahead and seeing that there are currently 7 books in the series, I know there is no way I will be able to continue with the series.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Jolene
  • 2021-01-27

Too much repetition

Ideas and plot lines are not the problem with this book. The repetitive descriptions of the characters fear and/or guilt are what made me want to throw it across the room. And if you are going to spend the whole book fixated on a character's guilt feelings, then at least explain WHY he feels guilty. Sheesh. Some experienced editing would have gone a long way here.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Melody Z
  • 2020-04-28

Excellent!

The Edge of Collapse is an excellent start to what I believe will be an awesome series! Vivid descriptions of the locations and events make it seem more realistic than what you might want it to be. Surviving the bitter cold and escaping an evil man Hannah has a lot of obstacles to overcome just to survive. The characters in this book are well developed and will quickly draw you into their world.

The narration is well done. The book is fast paced and action filled. The perfect series to add to your collection.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Wendy Brewer
  • 2021-05-16

Barely an Emp story. It's about a woman escaping.

I'm on chapter 51 of 63 and there has been little of an emp world. It is about a woman escaping human trafficing. Not a bad story just not what I thought it would be about.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Angela
  • 2020-04-26

loved this story!

This was such a great story! The author did a great job of bringing the characters to life! I'm still reeling from the anxiety of Hannah's struggles! When I heard the words 'the end' I said nooooo!! Now I need to find out how this story ends!! I have to start book 2 right now!!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Neesie315
  • 2020-04-16

EMP Thriller

This is a unique take on a apocalyptic book. More of a thriller, full of suspense, than the typical EMP book.

Hannah Sheridan has been held captive for years by a sadistic man, being tortured whenever she tries to fight back. One day, she discovers that the door that has kept her inside her cold, dark cage is unlocked. Scared to leave but more scared to stay, Hannah ventures out in the coldest winter in Michigan history. Before leaving, she gathers what she can and then releases a Great Pyrenees dog who has also been chained and tortured.

As Hannah tries to find her way through the woods, a blizzard almost kills her. Another traveler, Liam Coleman, discovers her hypothermic body and just wants to keep walking toward his hideaway. However, the voice of his dead sister-in-law won't let him leave Hannah, especially after Liam sees that she is pregnant.

There is plenty of action in this book and the writing and the story kept me on the edge of my chair. There are some references to the EMP, but mostly this is a book of survival as Hannah tries to get away from her captor and Liam and the dog, Ghost, try to help her.

I would recommend that anyone who has suffered domestic abuse or something similar steer clear of this book. But, if you are looking for a fast-paced thriller, full of great characters and an awesome canine, give this series a chance. The writing is wonderful, the story well-developed and you will find yourself caught up in this cold, cruel world.

The narrator, Stacey Glemboski, is perfect for this book. Her timing and inflections are spot-on and she added a lot to my enjoyment of the book.

3 people found this helpful