Get a free audiobook

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

A world without power grows dark and deadly...

Liam and Hannah continue their dangerous journey, but their every step is dogged by a deadly adversary. Hunted and exhausted, will they have what it takes to get home?

In Fall Creek, Noah struggles to protect his son and his friends. With the town running out of food and fuel and the cold as brutal as ever, they're forced to make compromises that may place them in even greater danger.

When the country goes dark, ordinary people find themselves facing the end of the world as they know it. With society collapsing before their eyes, they'll have to risk everything to protect their home and the people they love. 

Edge of Collapse is a gripping EMP apocalyptic thriller series featuring flawed, complex characters, and heart-in-your-throat action. Don't miss the disaster/survival audiobook series perfect for fans of Ryan Schow, Grace Hamilton, Harley Tate, Jack Hunt, and Boyd Craven.

Note: Rated PG-13 for mild language and moderate violence.

©2020 Kyla Stone (P)2020 Kyla Stone

What listeners say about Edge of Darkness

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No reviews are available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • 🎧 Cyndi Marie🎧 ☆★Audiobook Addict★☆
  • 2020-09-16

✫✫ 4.5 Stars ✫✫

Another great book in this series. I feel like I need start turning off the book before I crawl into bed because last night was the 3rd night in a row I was awake hours past my bedtime because I couldn't stop listening. This book switches between all of the POV's from the other books, I enjoy that because we get to follow along the timeline with all of the main characters. This one felt even more like a Thriller and when it ended I was sad I couldn't just start book 1 immediately but I will be starting ASAP. It seems that Noah's town is starting to divide and people are about to start rebelling against the "leaders". It's going to be great I just know it ;)

The narration was perfect as always in this series!

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Leah Brock
  • 2020-08-15

Action-Packed Third Book of Series

This third book of Kyla Stone's 'Edge of Collapse' series combines the POV's from books 1 & 2 into the most action-packed and feels-filled chapter of her post-apocalyptic saga so far. I listened to this installment courtesy of a free review copy that I requested myself. Now, having listened to it, I'm posting a voluntary review.

This review has vague spoilers for the entire series to this point. Read/listen to Books 1 & 2. If you are a post-apocalypse fan, I don't think you'll be disappointed.

'Edge of Darkness' follows Liam and Hannah as they continue to make their way to Fall Creek. Meanwhile, Noah and Quinn are still figuring out the new post-apocalyptic landscape of their small town. Hannah and Liam not only have to worry about the cold weather and Pike catching up to them, but also the impending birth of her baby. Quinn and Noah are dealing with the new situations of militia troops 'protecting' the town and the hardship of keeping the residents fed, warm and healthy.

Author Stone has a great ability to keep a wonderfully heightened sense of anxiety for the reader. It's demonstrated in this book with its non-stop action and sense of dread infused throughout. The suspense in this installment of the saga had me biting my nails constantly.

What I love best abut this series is Kyla Stone's characterizations and interactions between characters. Liam and Hannah discuss what it means to be good or bad and think about where they themselves fall on that line. The reader feels the love that is building between them. Quinn is also realizing her capacity to love others, after believing herself incapable of that emotion. Her growing relationship with Milo is a high point of the series. Noah brings out frustration in a reader from his blind loyalty to what appear to be the bad guys (and women). Readers get the gamut with Ms Stone's deft hand at writing these characters. She makes them real.

I can't imaging anyone else as narrator for this series. Stacy Glemboski's interpretation of Stone's words brilliantly brings out the realism in this series.

Highly recommended.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • bebe
  • 2020-07-18

Stone is trying too hard to be politically correct

I love the story and the characters. I particularly like Liam and Hannah. The reason I am taking away stars from Overall is Kyla Stones determination to label every character as White, Caucasian, Black, Afro American, Hispanic, Chinese, Vietnamese, etc. She makes sure she identifies the characters by ethnicity or race. This aggravates me to the core. It is distracting and does not add anything to the story. Identity politics is wrong and divisive. All of these people are supposed to be Americans and that is the only designation that is needed. I believe Stone is trying her best to be extremely politically correct, She has written in and pointed out every ethnicity/race imaginable as characters in this series. Every character is labeled the very moment they come into the story line. It is annoying!!! Kyla Stone is a good writer and story teller and she should stick to that and forget the politics. I will finish this series because I do like the characters and the story, but I will not ever read or listen to another book by Kyla Stone after this. She has turned me off completely with her division of Americans by labeling them by other nationalities.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Neesie315
  • 2020-06-14

Darkness

Another awesome installment in a great series! I love the characters and the storyline. In this book, she begins to bring the characters from the first two books more closely together. Hannah, Liam and Ghost are still on the run from Pike and Quinn, Noah and Milo are just trying to survive back in Fall Creek.

Kyla Stone has created likeable (or hateable) characters that you can relate to and cheer for (or against!) You will feel all of the emotions: fear/terror, hatred, love, and hopelessness. I found myself wondering how I would react if I were living through a post-apocalyptic world. What happens when the lines between right and wrong are blurred? How far would you go to keep your family safe?

There is also enough humor in the book to keep it from being a downer. I love the dialogue between Quinn and her Grandmother and could almost picture some scenes in my mind.

Ms. Stone does an amazing job in describing medical issues and survival tips and has obviously done a lot of research in order to make her books more realistic. As a Medical professional, I appreciate the amount of time she has obviously spent in making the book truthful. The scenes with the Veterinarian were spot-on and her description of Hannah's pregnancy were perfect.

The narrator, Stacey Glemboski, does a wonderful job and adds a lot to my enjoyment of this audiobook. I can't think of a better person to do the narration.

I can't wait to continue this series and see what happens next! It is definitely nonstop action and is a great way to spend a few hours.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Oren Truitt
  • 2020-06-11

Kyler stone has another winner

This is the second series I have read by Callister. With every volume she tops her last. Her characters are incredibly realistic no superheroes here just humans with the determination in the drive to survive. The action is nonstop keeping the reader on the edge of their seat. The way she shifts between characters is skillful and smooth.I look forward to reading the next book in the series I can’t wait for her to write another such serious.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2021-04-16

Couldn't put it down!!

I was on the edge of my seat for all of the book! Soooo good! Highly recommend!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • David W.
  • 2021-03-05

Jesus Christ is not a cuss word ,

what is sad is that I was enjoying this book, but the name of our Lord was used over and over as a curse word, how did this make it onto the christian fiction list., had to stop reading it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Maly C
  • 2021-02-09

Made it to the 3rd!

Now you are at the 3rd book and you are really ready to find out what happens next! Again.... this one does not disappoint and will leave you still wanting more!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • DJ W.
  • 2021-01-11

a great read

There are scenes in the book that are so perfectly written in there discription and horror you can’t helped but to be totally grabbed. I read this in 3 days . If you're going to read an apocalyptic series , you can't go wrong here.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • DJ
  • 2021-01-05

Amazing work.

This book series is near to my heart. I was born in South Bend, Indiana, I was raised in Elkhart, and the guy I call Uncle Ric is from Bridgman, Michigan. As a person who has lived in Michiana for his whole life gets a smile when an Author uses a region that doesn't get talked about alot makes me feel good. Thank you for that.