Get a free audiobook

Audible Membership

$14.95 a month

1 credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
The Plus Catalogue—listen all you want to thousands of Audible Originals, podcasts, and audiobooks.
$14.95 a month plus applicable taxes after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $38.59

Buy Now for $38.59

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Tax where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

“A love letter to fandom, friendship, and the stories that shape us, Eliza and Her Monsters is absolutely magical.” (Marieke Nijkamp, New York Times best-selling author of This Is Where It Ends)

Eighteen-year-old Eliza Mirk is the anonymous creator of the wildly popular webcomic Monstrous Sea, but when a new boy at school tempts her to live a life offline, everything she’s worked for begins to crumble.

Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl meets Noelle Stevenson’s Nimona in this acclaimed novel about art, fandom, and finding the courage to be yourself. “A must-have.” (School Library Journal

In the real world, Eliza Mirk is shy, weird, and friendless. Online, Eliza is LadyConstellation, anonymous creator of a popular webcomic called Monstrous Sea. With millions of followers and fans throughout the world, Eliza’s persona is popular. Eliza can’t imagine enjoying the real world as much as she loves her digital community. 

Then Wallace Warland transfers to her school and Eliza begins to wonder if a life offline might be worthwhile. But when Eliza’s secret is accidentally shared with the world, everything she’s built - her story, her relationship with Wallace, and even her sanity - begins to fall apart. 

Will appeal to fans of Noelle Stevenson’s Nimona and Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl. 

Young Adult Library Services Association Best Book

Best Fiction for Young Adults Top Ten

Kirkus Best Book

Texas Tayshas Pick

©2019 Francesca Zappia (P)2019 HarperAudio

What listeners say about Eliza and Her Monsters

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So Good!

This book seems like it was written for me. I love webcomics and struggle with anxiety. I would highly recommend this to any of my geeky friends.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2019-06-15

Just...... Breathtaking

I haven't had so much heartache for a character in a book in so long, it's refreshing, sad even though it ended up being beautiful , and I don't even know how to put it into words. The way the story completely turns around is, well, seriously intense. Being able to watch the story in my head truly puts the authors talent for what they do on top of my list of best authors. Being able to vividly picture as Eliza starts to learn to love life, being able to feel her reality shatter around her, and being able to watch as she finds the strength, tho that may not be the best way to describe it, to pull through is simply breathtaking. I always feel as if I can picture a story as I listen to it, but never in so much detail. My favorite secne in the book, even though it starts off terrible morally, is the one where she is in her car, staring at the turn. When I listened to it the first time I had to double check that the book still had more to go before the end, and normally I consider it to be taboo to look at how much is left before finishing a book for the first time, because it can lead to being able to predict what will happen next, and it can ruin a story for me, but I was terrified that the book could be over just like that, on such a horrible note. Listening to Eliza make up her mind to go home was one of the biggest reliefs I've ever had with a book, it was like I had been holding my breath till that moment. Then when Wallace showed up, and hearing the fear in his voice, the love in it, just melted my heart.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • stephanie
  • 2020-03-31

relatable but not

essentially explains how life feels for the generation born with the internet. Then it goes down hill with selfish main characters, an unwarranted suicide attempt, cursing to sound edgey and really...a fanfiction writer getting a book deal for his fanfiction? are you effing kidding me!?

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Winter
  • 2021-09-17

I hate to negative review

I hate to negative review. I know every story will appeal to someone and that the author had to put their heart into what they wrote. however I do not feel good about this book. as the story progressed the main character got more and more awful. She is terrible yo everyone around her. she shuts her family out and is angry every time they try to help her and Spoiler ** the man she loves forgives her for being the worst when she debates suicide. This story is full of horrible lessons like everyone will try yo help you join matter how much you push them away and if you hurt someone they'll forgive you if you are depressed and debate suicide oh also they will show up last minute to stop you so it's ok....... false false false !!!!!!!!! the only one who can fix you is you. You cannot sit on the edge of a cliff and expect someone to magically show up and pull you back and make everything OK. You can't be mad at your parents for asking over and over again for you to let them in and let them care ( while hiding everything from them) and then be mad they don't understand / don't care. just no. no. no. no. Thank God therapy was finally part of this book at the end but really the shortest tiniest bit and still not portrayed very well. the best part of the book were the glimpses of her comic and of someone else's nightmare stories. Im sorry this was not for me.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Carrie
  • 2021-09-13

Not the monsters you expect

A brilliant look at the effects of teenage depression, the rabbit hole of the internet and fame.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • HappyLeopardess
  • 2021-08-04

The Author Gets Fandom Life

Loved it! Hit too close to home but the story's all the better for it.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • ktmonster
  • 2021-04-20

Sweet story

I liked the story overall. The lead is a little melodramatic in some unnecessary ways, but overall a nice listen.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Andrea @ A Mermaid's Library
  • 2020-12-02

Great YA story

I read this in one sitting, and it was so good. Just quickly what I liked about it:

-Eliza, our MC, was just someone you could support. She had her flaws, but at the end of the day you couldn’t help but root for her. It’s easy to judge her mistakes while reading this, but she had her reasons. Her passion for what she does though is pretty remarkable.
-The romance was adorable af and so was Wallace. I really loved how their relationship developed. They never pressured each other to do something they were uncomfortable with. Their relationship wasn’t perfect at all, especially at the end. They both make their fair share of mistakes, but they’re teenagers. Who here hasn’t made their share of mistakes?
-This book showed exactly how easily teenagers are dismissed as being dramatic or childish by adults.
-I liked that it had pages from Eliza’s webcomic. The illustrations were beautiful!
-I loved how this validated online friendships. As someone who’s been told that those don’t really count, I’m glad this type of friendship was shown in such a positive light.
-I thought this was going to be more lighthearted than it was, but I liked how mental illness and social anxiety were portrayed (what we saw of it anyway. I do wish it was expanded on a bit more.
-The plot wasn’t super original, but the characters more than make up for it. Introverts like me will be able to relate to at least one character.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Iniysa
  • 2020-08-01

Amazing

This is going on my top book of this year. Seriously, this book is absolutely amazing.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 2020-08-01

I am Eliza Mirk

I have never felt so attached to a character. it felt more like I was reading an autobiography. I love the pacing of the novel and this author has a very unique voice.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Mama Young
  • 2020-02-29

AMAZING TOTALY AMAZING

The story had me bawling in the middle of class I loved it it’s my all time fav now I could relate so much to Eliza and the narrator captured Elizas emotions so well it was scary