Get a free audiobook

Ember Queen

Ash Princess, Book 3
Written by: Laura Sebastian
Narrated by: Saskia Maarleveld
Series: Ash Princess Trilogy, Book 3
Length: 13 hrs and 19 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (26 ratings)

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

The thrilling conclusion to the New York Times best-selling series "made for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Sabaa Tahir" (Bustle), Ember Queen is an epic fantasy about a throne cruelly stolen and a girl who must fight to take it back for her people. 

Princess Theodosia was a prisoner in her own country for a decade. Renamed the Ash Princess, she endured relentless abuse and ridicule from the Kaiser and his court. But though she wore a crown of ashes, there is fire in Theo's blood. As the rightful heir to the Astrean crown, it runs in her veins. And if she learned anything from her mother, it's that a Queen never cowers. 

Now free, with a misfit army of rebels to back her, Theo must liberate her enslaved people and face a terrifying new enemy: the new Kaiserin. Imbued with a magic no one understands, the Kaiserin is determined to burn down anyone and everything in her way.

The Kaiserin's strange power is growing stronger, and with Prinz Søren as her hostage, there is more at stake than ever. Theo must learn to embrace her own power if she has any hope of standing against the girl she once called her heart's sister.

©2020 Laura Sebastian (P)2020 Listening Library

What listeners say about Ember Queen

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Lots of plotting, not a lot of character

This was a good story, I enjoyed it but there were so many quick plot turns it felt like we were always on the go and never focusing on the characters (who were beautifully developed in the previous stories). I had to rewind several times to replay pieces or miss key plot turns (where are we going now... what what just happened?!). I wish we could have focused in on the love stories instead of touching on them super briefly in little snippets. We never really know what to feel and who to root for.
A younger narrator would have been nice for this coming of age story.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic deserves Fans!

This series has been exceptional throughout. The characters grow in age and wisdom and the audience grows right beside them. There is so much praise to give Saskia Maarleveld as her narrating talents are always appreciated in all the stories she reads. Laura Sebastian has never disappointed. She definitely tells an amazing story. Every time. FOR ASTREA!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • tracie
  • 2020-06-02

Mixed messages

I had a hard time trying to figure out what age this book was geared toward. If adult, then why have characters that become often petty and childish? If child, then why is there a sex scene in the book? I was drawn into the story and the author has a good imagination, so I finished the series. However, one of my pet peeves is when every other character is gay. It isn’t that I am homophobic. It’s just that it isn’t realistic. It goes beyond representation and begins to feel preachy, as if you MUST experiment with someone of the same sex. Literally half of the main characters are gay, lesbian, bisexual, or experimenting with one or the other. And again, I wondered who the book was geared toward. If adults, then do we have to go through each type of sexuality to find ourselves, or might we already have figured out what we want? If for children, why is the author pushing ANY kind of sexuality so hard? What might have been an enjoyable, fun, interesting series quickly made me realize that I wouldn’t be purchasing a book by this author again. I don’t want any agenda pushed on me or my kids. And please, just be realistic. The straight person starts feeling completely out of place. Perhaps, she said kindly, this book was actually meant to target only people who were gay, etc., so that they could have a special romance story and relate to absolutely all characters? Still, I would rather that people were relatable for being strong, brave, etc., not just for their sexual identity. If I were gay, I think that I would rather be identified by being a cool person in general, not for who I sleep with or was in love with. Again, this makes me feel like it’s simply an agenda being pushed, instead of just an author encouraging people to be open to caring about all people in general, no matter who they are or what their sexual identity is. Maybe it’s just that sex sells, and that’s what the author cares about.
Oh, and I do wish that the author hadn’t stolen so many ideas from Harry Potter. (Small spoilers:) Writing on coins, and the writing then shows up on another coin far away? Check. Good guys and bad guys that flit into one another's dreams? Check. There were more that I can't recall. Let’s keep it original, folks. Maybe it’s a contract thing, with deadlines in place…just rush through and grab from other stories. It's really too bad, because I feel that this author has lots of potential!
The good points: strong, courageous female character. People acted selflessly, which I appreciated.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Emily Leibee
  • 2020-07-11

Loved it!

This book is a great way to end a captivating trilogy (even though I would like to know how Theo runs her country, and I would love to see more of Soren)!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2020-06-19

Wonderful

I truly enjoyed this book! When I was reading reviews for it I was skeptical about getting it because the reviews weren’t good, a lot said the book was predictable and boring. While I would say yes there were times it was predictable it made me enjoy the book all that much more. I wasn’t having to yell at the characters I was applauding them and for me that is definitely a point I liked about this series! Definitely sad it’s over but soooo happy I ignored the bad reviews! If you thinking about reading this series DO IT!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Melissa Kelley
  • 2020-05-25

Disappointing ending

The final battle was disappointing and anticlimactic. :-( Theo was robbed of her moment in my opinion.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • gamerX
  • 2020-05-12

Not a Bad series

Not a Bad series! but kind of young for me . the Publishers the author in the narrator everybody did a great job ! but it's just too young for me , the narrator did a great job in all 3 audio books

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Carly
  • 2020-05-01

AMAZING!

A wonderful conclusion to an amazing series! It’s always heartbreaking when you have to say goodbye to a story you love but I am so glad we get to say goodbye in this way. Sebastian is a master of pace and skillfully builds tension throughout this book, while threading in kind, humorous, and loving moments to relieve in between. She creates a tight plot and gives us moments rarely seen in epic journeys. We get to see battle strategies and negotiations, and the thought process of what it takes to become a queen. We get to understand the characters’ choices - not just told those choices are the “only ones available” - which is immensely refreshing. This whole novel is centered on choice and the complexities and consequences behind each one - and this makes for a beautiful and surprising climax. I think that exploration of choice, and what it means to be free, is also what creates such vivid, realistic characters. And it is the character development and dedication to each person’s value in this final installment that glues you to the page and crafts a heart-stirring ending to this great series.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Eric
  • 2020-03-15

Enjoyable

I really enjoyed this book, I thought it was better than book two, I believe the listener will be pleased with the outcome and I hope the writer will consider returning to this storyline someday.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Erin
  • 2020-03-08

An Ending befitting a Queen

This was such a great, intense, heart wrenching end full of battles, betrayals & loss. Long Live Queen Theodosia!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Reviewer Girl
  • 2020-02-28

Excellent

Excellent and satisfying ending to this trilogy! Really enjoyable, good character development, and ties up all loose ends. Well done.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Lizzym214
  • 2020-02-24

Best book yet.

Loved listening to this final book is was exactly what I was hoping for.