Get a free audiobook

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Thirty hours of magic, intrigue, and adventure.

In a realm where wizards rule, magic reigns supreme. Power. The ambitious thirst for it. But when a power-hungry wizard lord seeks to expand his might, he triggers a series of events unforeseen. The balance of magic is altered, races of old return, and beasts of legend stalk the land.

This tale follows a squad of unlikely heroes:

  • Jerrell "Jace" - a clever thief whose outrageous exploits force him to hide his identity.
  • Rhoa - an acrobat whose obsession for revenge will reshape her destiny.
  • Rawk - an outcast from his people, this dwarf struggles against urges he cannot control.
  • Brogan - once a renowned warrior, he labors beneath the weight of his regrets.
  • Narine - a princess caught between her mad wizard lord father and jealous brother.
  • Adyn - trained as a lethal bodyguard, her purpose in life is to protect Narine.
  • Blythe - skilled in archery and woodcraft, she follows her heart, but where will it lead?
  • Salvon - a mysterious storyteller who seems to know something about everything.

These characters lead a compelling and memorable cast including ruthless wizards who vie for thrones able to grant the power of a god. How can one defeat a god? 

Fate of Wizardoms is narrated by Travis Baldree, the same talent from Will Wight's Cradle series. This omnibus includes the first three books in the series. Fate of Wizardoms is a re-imagining of classic epic fantasy, told in a modern, fast-paced style packed with beloved genre tropes twisted in an uncommon fashion, perfect for fans of The Witcher, Kingkiller Chronicles, or Wheel of Time.

©2020 Jeffrey L. Kohanek (P)2020 Jeffrey L. Kohanek

What listeners say about Fate of Wizardoms Boxed Set: An Epic Fantasy Series

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No reviews are available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Eighthanded
  • 2020-06-09

Bad copy

Where to begin..the first book jumps around between characters, time and locations. Every thing thing that happens to any of the character is just spoon fed to them. No real danger, not really compelling, and not much to make you care about these characters. The trite romance that was attempted was just sad. The scoundrel and the princess trope has been done, done well, but this was not.

14 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • lee harris
  • 2020-06-14

Great read.

I wish I had read the publisher's summary before I started the books. I had trouble following the story initially but caught up half way through the first book, after that it was amazing and fun to read.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Alex Campbell
  • 2020-05-26

An Engaging Tale That's Not To Be Missed!

From the very first chapter Jeffrey Kohanek had me hooked. The suspense and action from that opening scene spurred me to the next and the next. When the action lulled the characters were built up and you fell in love with them. This is a fun, funny and hugely entertaing story with a band of marvelous people that I hope I get to see more of. The next books can't come fast enough for me. The Narrator seemed meant for this story and really sets that hook I mentioned above in this awesome omnibus. High Fantasy with no safety net, this is a raw and fantastic story that I could not put down!

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Todd Carter
  • 2020-06-05

A must have

The weaving of the separate store lines is expertly done. The characters come alive in my mind.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Jessica
  • 2020-08-28

Boring

After reading the blurb I was prepared to find something akin to David & Leigh Eddings’ Belgariad and/or Malorean series, but I was wrong. All the right characters are here but they are all tortured souls, very little humour among them. In the first 20 hours, I found the characters did not grow, or if they did anything to evolve they quickly regressed. Every character’s background is covered to give the listener insight to why he/she is justified in being a tortured soul now, and yet it’s not engrossing in the least. This book drove me back to the Belgariad in an effort to define the difference between the writing styles, and I think it might be description. The description in FoW is bland. And anti-climactic. Any anticipation that might build is quickly thwarted by dull reasoning or reference to the event which left their soul tortured... The narration is fair, with good distinction between all characters.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Mark Sonetti
  • 2020-08-30

Wonderful adventure

Being a fan of movies like Lord of the Rings and The Game of Thrones Saga , A friend introduced me to this series . Since it’s hard for me to read now because my works keeps me moving I decided to get the audiobook. At first all the new characters overwhelmed me and trying to keep track of all the new places was difficult at best. Halfway through book one everything started to click and the coaster ride began. JLK has created In my mind a fascinating adventure that keeps me wanting more. Travis also does a wonderful job expanding the characters motivations and moods with his artful reading of this soon to be classic. Can’t wait to listen to the rest of this series.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Ashely
  • 2020-10-20

A great read!

This is an amazing set of books! The characters are wonderful and so colorful. The story is so detailed and keeps you wanting more! Highly recommend

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Johnny Reads
  • 2020-07-28

Amazing series!!

This is a great series with complex world-building and diverse cast of characters! The narration by Travis Baldree is absolutely amazing and I’m looking forward to the next installment!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Sailfish
  • 2020-11-01

Jace and Narine finally get it on!

This book in the series takes us to the habitat of the Seers who are similar to Oracles in ancient Greco-roman mythology, where they can glimpse paths in the future but cannot predict it. They are also protected by dwarfs. As with past books, there are multiple plot arcs occurring in parallel to the primary one with the MCs. There are still battles of the mages to determine dominance. This continues to be a bit difficult to keep up with these mage battle groups and their gods but it's becomes less of a burden as the mages are whittled down. As mentioned in the headline, Jace and Nardine form a more romantic relationship but others in the fellowship also begin to pair up to form personal relationships. This improves the likeability and interest of the main characters which, in turn, improves the continued main story arc. There is romance, betrayals, court politics, new friendships and bloody and brutal battles. What's not to like? Travis Baldree performance is as skillful as ever.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Roger Fauble
  • 2020-10-15

A 4 1/2 star fantasy read

Eye of Obscurance (Fate of Wizardoms #1). my seventh read from author Jeffrey L. Kohanek. Well-written with intricately developed characters you can invest heavily in and the storyline with its intricate twists & surprises as the tension & suspense ratchets up throughout the book’s length. 300 pages but reads even longer with the attention to detail written into the story. Owning both the Kindle & Audible editions I was able to follow along while being read to. I look forward to reading more in this series. Balance of Magic (Fate of Wizardoms #2). my eighth read from author Jeffrey L. Kohanek. Picks up seamlessly from the end of the first book. 342 pages but reads even longer with the attention to detail written into the story. Kohanek’s fantasy worlds have become one of my favorite fantasy reads. Temple of the Oracle (Fate of Wizardoms, #3). my ninth read from author Jeffrey L. Kohanek. Picks up seamlessly from the end of Balance of Magic (Fate of Wizardoms #2). Well-written with intricately developed characters you can invest heavily in and the storyline with its intricate twists & surprises as the tension & suspense ratchets up throughout the book’s length. 290 pages but reads even longer with the attention to detail written into the story. Kohanek’s fantasy worlds have become one of my favorite fantasy reads. I was impressed and enjoyed the vocal variety & inflections of narrator Travis Baldree. I look forward to reading Objects of Power (Fate of Wizardoms #4) when I get it. I was given an Audible copy of this book & am voluntarily reviewing it. (RIP Marley January 20, 2014 - July 24, 2018)

1 person found this helpful