Get a free audiobook

Fatherland

Written by: Robert Harris
Narrated by: Michael Jayston
Length: 11 hrs and 25 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (2 ratings)

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

The New York Times best-selling classic of alternate history, a murder mystery set in a world where the Nazis won World War II - for fans of The Plot Against America and The Man in the High Castle.

Berlin, 1964. The Greater German Reich stretches from the Rhine to the Urals and keeps an uneasy peace with its nuclear rival, the United States. As the Fatherland prepares for a grand celebration honoring Adolf Hitler's 75th birthday and anticipates a conciliatory visit from US president Joseph Kennedy and ambassador Charles Lindbergh, a detective of the Kriminalpolizei is called out to investigate the discovery of a dead body in a lake near Berlin's most prestigious suburb.

But when Xavier March discovers the identity of the body, he also uncovers signs of a conspiracy that could go to the very top of the German Reich. And with the Gestapo just one step behind, March, together with the American journalist Charlotte Maguire, is caught up in a race to discover and reveal the truth - a truth that has already killed, a truth that could topple governments, a truth that will change history.

©2017 Robert Harris (P)2017 Random House Audio

What the critics say

"A singular achievement displaying original and carefully wrought suspense... Fatherland easily transcends convention." ( The Washington Post)
"Ingenious...a triumph...suspenseful and elegant." ( San Francisco Chronicle)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
No reviews are available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Daniel Black
  • 2017-10-19

1960's Nazi Germany comes alive

The world created by Robert Harris is wholly believable and the inclusion of historical figures, locations, newspapers, streets, etc. make it all the more believable. I thought the narration by Michael Jayston was superb and seemed to give Xavier March the tone and manner I would have expected from a forty-something divorced, disillusioned cop who has lived under Nazi oppression his entire life. The story is well paced and keeps you guessing. If you are into alternate history, KGB type thrillers, "who done it" murder mysteries, or intrigues surrounding the Third Reich, then this book is for you. I'm an avid reader of all things World War II and it was very interesting, yet easily envisioned, to temporarily live in a world of 1960's Nazi Germany.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • James A. Gorton
  • Pasadena, CA USA
  • 2018-08-06

A Tense and Exciting Detective Story

Fatherland is a noir detective novel set in an alternate 1964 in which Germany won the 2nd World War. Harris fleshes out this alternate world in a convincing and chilling way, giving the reader clues as to why Germany might have won the war. We glimpse a world in which the Cold War is between the U.S. and Germany, and in which Joseph Kennedy is President of the U.S. instead of his son, and in which Edward VIII did not abdicate, but rules a fascist Great Britain from which Winston Churchill was obliged to flee.

With Adolph Hitler's 75th birthday celebrations about to begin, detective Xavier March of the Berlin Kripo stumbles into the investigation of the suspicious drowning death of an old Nazi party stalwart in the face of Gestapo resistance. Harris's story of one honest man in a regime built on widespread corruption and dishonesty is a compelling read. The novel compares well to Phillip Kerr's Bernie Gunther series, not to mention Alan Furst's fine series of thrillers set in WWII. Harris recently returned to Nazi Germany with his latest novel, Munich, set firmly in the real world, but just as taut and disturbing.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Diegovela
  • 2018-07-08

An excellent what-if narrative

This book is wonderfully written and performed. Like Le Carre, Harris writes superb fiction disguised as a mystery-thriller. Fatherland is an alternative history with strong echoes of today’s jackbooted politics.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Tuomo Suominen
  • Helsinki, Finland
  • 2018-03-11

Excellent combination of Bernie Gunther and The Man In The High Tower

I accidentally bought the Audible version of Fatherland, a book I had read over 20 years ago and thought I knew well. Turned out I didn’t remember much at all about Fatherland, which is an excellent thriller. There are a couple of amazing similarities to other historical fiction. Over the last few years, I’ve read Philip Kerr’s Bernie Gunther novels about the Berlin police detective before, during and after WWII and also watched the amazing Amazon TV series The Man In The High Tower about an alternative history where Germany and Japan won WWII. Fatherland is about about an alternative history where Germany won WWII and a Berlin police detective uncovering the Final Solution 20 years after the war. Excellent story, highly recommended!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Stork
  • 2018-08-18

Loved it.

Easy read. Never got board. Enjoyed every moment. Felt a little like a better version of a certain book that was turned into a TV show.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Ghost Reader
  • Chapel Hill, NC, United States
  • 2018-03-21

Best Historic Fiction Ever

Any additional comments?

This is officially alternative history but there is nothing sci fi or unbelievable about it. It is a gripping suspenseful thriller, about a German police detective who stumbles onto something dangerous, twenty years after the war.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • BallaghMan
  • North Carolina, US
  • 2018-04-14

Brilliant.

Really tautly written (and read) thriller in a very believable fictional 1960s victorious Nazi Germany. Highly recommended. The murder plot is excellent and although ones credibility might be stretched a little here and there not so much as to spoil it. Nice twists too.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Jean
  • Santa Cruz, CA, United States
  • 2018-11-09

Gripping

Fatherland is a speculative fiction. Harris has the Nazis winning World War II. Our protagonist is Xavier March, a policeman. He is investigating the murder of an old man who was once an important Nazi bureaucrat. The timeline of the story is 1964.

The book is well written and researched. I believe that Harris had George Orwell’s “Nineteen Eighty-Four” in mind when writing this story. Considering what is happening in the world today, I found this book most interesting. I also found it intriguing that Harris made Joseph Kennedy the President of the United States. The book had several different plots intertwining which created a lot of suspense. This book is well worth the read.

The book is eleven hours twenty-five minutes. Michael Jayston does a great job narrating the book. Jayston is an English actor and a long-time well-known audiobook narrator.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2019-01-26

I love this book

The story is smart and well written. There’s a twist that really caught me off guard

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Neil Ring
  • 2018-11-09

Excellent History (Both Real and Alternate)

Robert Harris excels with this novel. It combines a police procedural with the actual history of the ``Final Solution'' along with an equally chilling alternate history of Nazi Germany in 1965. I read the novel when it was first published and was happy to find it on Audible along with excellent narration by Michael Jayston. After finishing ``Fatherland'' I'm now listening to Robert Harris' recent book ``Munich.'' I trust that ``Munich'' will be just as excellent as ``Fatherland.''

1 of 1 people found this review helpful