Listen free for 30 days

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo + applicable taxes after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Firekeeper's Daughter cover art

Firekeeper's Daughter

Written by: Angeline Boulley
Narrated by: Isabella Star LaBlanc
Try for $0.00

$14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for $31.97

Buy Now for $31.97

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Tax where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

"Isabella Star LaBlanc brings an authentic-sounding narration to this powerful audiobook.... Dialogue, including words in other languages, is handled with effortless transitions and clear depictions between characters. This audiobook should not be missed." (AudioFile magazine, Earphones Award winner)

A Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club YA Pick

An Instant Number One New York Times Best Seller

Soon to be adapted at Netflix for TV with President Barack Obama and Michelle Obama's production company, Higher Ground. 

“One of this year's most buzzed about young adult novels.” (Good Morning America)

For fans of Angie Thomas and Tommy Orange, Angeline Boulley's debut novel, Firekeeper's Daughter, is a groundbreaking YA thriller about a Native teen who must root out the corruption in her community.

Eighteen-year-old Daunis Fontaine has never quite fit in, both in her hometown and on the nearby Ojibwe reservation. She dreams of a fresh start at college, but when family tragedy strikes, Daunis puts her future on hold to look after her fragile mother. The only bright spot is meeting Jamie, the charming new recruit on her brother Levi’s hockey team.

Yet even as Daunis falls for Jamie, she senses the dashing hockey star is hiding something. Everything comes to light when Daunis witnesses a shocking murder, thrusting her into an FBI investigation of a lethal new drug.

Reluctantly, Daunis agrees to go undercover, drawing on her knowledge of chemistry and Ojibwe traditional medicine to track down the source. But the search for truth is more complicated than Daunis imagined, exposing secrets and old scars. At the same time, she grows concerned with an investigation that seems more focused on punishing the offenders than protecting the victims.

Now, as the deceptions - and deaths - keep growing, Daunis must learn what it means to be a strong Anishinaabe kwe (Ojibwe woman) and how far she’ll go for her community, even if it tears apart the only world she’s ever known.

A 2021 Kids' Indie Next List Selection

An Amazon Best Book of the Month for March Selection

An Entertainment Weekly Most Anticipated Books of 2021 Selection

A PopSugar Best March 2021 YA Book Selection

A Macmillan Audio production from Henry Holt and Company

"The text is filled with Ojibwe phrases and traditions that Native American reader LaBlanc (Sisseton-Wahpeton Dakota) handles with ease. Her voice is young and earnest and her fluency adds to the portrayal of Daunis.... It’s a tale filled with suspense, and LaBlanc’s sensitive reading will keep listeners plugged in." (Booklist, starred review)

"Expert narration from Isabella Star LeBlanc, a Sisseton Wahpeton Dakota, brings authenticity to Daunis’s joy, anger, fear, and grief while providing distinct voices for the supporting cast, including the tribal elders. LeBlanc’s captivating voice draws readers in, expressing every mundane, sweet, heartbreaking, and life-threatening moment." (School Library Journal, starred review)

©2021 Angeline Boulley (P)2021 Macmillan Audio

What the critics say

Edgar Allan Poe Award Nominee, 2022

Michael L. Printz Award - Medal, 2022

Goodreads Choice Awards, 2021

School Library Best Books of the Year, 2021

Publishers Weekly Best Books of the Year, 2021

NPR Best Book of the Year, 2021

YALSA William C. Morris, 2022

Featured Article: Finding the Canadian Voice That Speaks To You

The Canadian voice is a powerful, distinct and rich one. From the First Nations and those that have lived in Canada for generations to new immigrants, the tapestry that makes up Canada from Nova Scotia, to Toronto, Winnipeg to Vancouver and every city in between is a colourful combination of people, voices and stories. Whether you’re searching for a relatable experience or seeking to hear a new perspective of this country we love, we’ve compiled a list of 10 amazing audiobooks by Canadian authors to help you find the voice that speaks to you.

What listeners say about Firekeeper's Daughter

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    415
  • 4 Stars
    71
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    370
  • 4 Stars
    69
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    375
  • 4 Stars
    61
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Trigger Warning Please!

I really enjoyed the storyline however have a bit of trouble with the lack of a rape tw. I understand why it was used by the author but I think readers, especially those w past sexual assault experience would appreciate some sort of trigger warning before the chapter.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it

This is a horrible book to listen to while driving. Absolutely non stop tears. Honestly, I love this so much. I read the physical copy two weeks ago and couldn’t get it out of my head so I started the audio book just to dive back in.

The narration was good, story super compelling- but the language. Something about hearing the language does something. It makes the book feel so alive to have the words pronounced and spoken. I’m so excited for future books!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

HEARTSTOPPING & THOUGHT-PROVOKING

Incredible!!! This story is so important! The Indigenous culture embedded in the story is so lush and rich (and I especially appreciated hearing the language pronunciations and liked the narration overall)!

This was truly something special and I’m honoured have gotten to read this. Everyone should; it tackles so many important issues from within the Indigenous community as well as impacting external factors, all with a strong female
lead. So well done!!! Loved it!!

CW: drug addiction & abuse, death, murder, suicide, violence, loss of a loved one, racism, prejudice, rape & sexual assault (last two are not depicted).

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant!

Best book ive read in ages! Years maybe.
Im 26 but can never understand why more people dont read YA fiction.
This book was smart, emotional, showed indigenous culture and its immense power.

I couldn’t recommend it more to all ages - definitely will read again.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story!!

This book was awesome. Relatable characters and truth told in a way that makes you feel part of the story. I would have love to have read this book as a young woman, but as an adult also recommend and enjoyed it.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

don't miss this one!

Phenomenal moving story and performance! Don't miss this one, I was celebrating and crying and in suspense

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Could not stop listening !!

This was an incredible book, it really brought light to what it is like to be part of a native community. I would recommend this to all adults not just young adults.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great book for today.

This was a very entertaining YA novel with plenty of pertinent information about Ojibwa tribal traditions. It has mystery, duplicitous characters, love stories (friend, relative and bf’s) and a very complex main character who you can’t help root for. My only complaint is the narrators pronunciation of toque; it’s toque that rhymes with spook, not toque that rhymes with coke. Great read for all teens but strong messages here for young girls.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Incredible Story

This book will make you feel all the emotions, I cried and laughed and learned. The narration is beautiful.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Truly a whirlwind of a story

It was like being slapped on the arm at every turn there was so much going on and you couldn't truly predict the ending. Pretty good just a lot

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!