Get a free audiobook

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

"Isabella Star LaBlanc brings an authentic-sounding narration to this powerful audiobook...Dialogue, including words in other languages, is handled with effortless transitions and clear depictions between characters. This audiobook should not be missed." (AudioFile magazine, Earphones Award winner)

A REESE WITHERSPOON x HELLO SUNSHINE BOOK CLUB YA PICK

An Instant Number One New York Times Best Seller

Soon to be adapted at Netflix for TV with President Barack Obama and Michelle Obama's production company, Higher Ground.

“One of this year's most buzzed about young adult novels.” (Good Morning America)

For fans of Angie Thomas and Tommy Orange, Angeline Boulley's debut novel, Firekeeper's Daughter, is a groundbreaking YA thriller about a Native teen who must root out the corruption in her community.

Eighteen-year-old Daunis Fontaine has never quite fit in, both in her hometown and on the nearby Ojibwe reservation. She dreams of a fresh start at college, but when family tragedy strikes, Daunis puts her future on hold to look after her fragile mother. The only bright spot is meeting Jamie, the charming new recruit on her brother Levi’s hockey team.

Yet even as Daunis falls for Jamie, she senses the dashing hockey star is hiding something. Everything comes to light when Daunis witnesses a shocking murder, thrusting her into an FBI investigation of a lethal new drug.

Reluctantly, Daunis agrees to go undercover, drawing on her knowledge of chemistry and Ojibwe traditional medicine to track down the source. But the search for truth is more complicated than Daunis imagined, exposing secrets and old scars. At the same time, she grows concerned with an investigation that seems more focused on punishing the offenders than protecting the victims.

Now, as the deceptions - and deaths - keep growing, Daunis must learn what it means to be a strong Anishinaabe kwe (Ojibwe woman) and how far she’ll go for her community, even if it tears apart the only world she’s ever known.

A 2021 Kids' Indie Next List Selection
An Amazon Best Book of the Month for March Selection
An Entertainment Weekly Most Anticipated Books of 2021 Selection
A PopSugar Best March 2021 YA Book Selection

A Macmillan Audio production from Henry Holt and Company

"The text is filled with Ojibwe phrases and traditions that Native American reader LaBlanc (Sisseton-Wahpeton Dakota) handles with ease. Her voice is young and earnest and her fluency adds to the portrayal of Daunis.... It’s a tale filled with suspense, and LaBlanc’s sensitive reading will keep listeners plugged in." (Booklist, starred review)

©2021 Angeline Boulley (P)2021 Macmillan Audio

What listeners say about Firekeeper's Daughter

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    27
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    21
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    27
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • T
  • 2021-04-19

enjoyable, sad, insightful

Narration was excellent. the story was interesting and sad, but seems like a honest portrayal of a community that is healing.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Heart wrenching and heart warming

I absolutely loved this book. The young woman's journey is told in such a beautiful and captivating way. I had the sense that I was right there with her. And I really liked the Aniishnaabemowin words. Great way to learn a bit of the language.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Identity, Family, Culture and Trauma

Daunis Fontaine is on quite the journey of self-discovery and seeking justice for members of her community.

This book gives an interesting perspective on how being Native or partially Native is “defined or controlled by other people.” I love this culture of learning from the elders, words, storytelling and actions.

The valuable aspects of this book for me were the themes of self-discovery, trauma, resilience, strength, community, placing high value on the elders and culture. Although this is a fictional story, I think what made me sad were the real references made to the history of Native Americans and residential schools. Much of these references show how generational trauma is passed down and the impacts it has on a community.

I highly recommended this audiobook and I cannot wait for the Obamas to turn this into a Netflix series!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant

I was just blown away by this book. Somehow Ms Boulley completely gets inside the head of an 18 year old smart, strong, brave, loyal, and respectful indigenous woman. Bravo.
One of my favourite reads from this century.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Nix
  • 2021-03-18

Che Meegwetch

Meegwetch for telling our story as real folks instead of as an old story, for giving us a modern presence that doesn't neglect our ancestors. Your words honor all of us. 💙

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • DB86
  • 2021-03-20

Intense

This story is intense. I love the cultural aspect and the characters seemed authentic.
Isabella Star LaBlanc as the narrator is fine. I noticed several issues with the audio as if certain words and sentences were recorded at a different time than the rest. It was a little distracting. Also, her performance got better as the story went on but, the beginning was rough. It seemed like this might be her first audiobook performance and she hadn’t found her recording voice yet.
The story itself kept me hooked. I would recommend this audio book.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Fanineen Jessica Saayman
  • 2021-03-22

Beautiful groundbreaking and honest

Miigwech @angelineboulley for this beautiful novel, as a non-Indigenous reader, this book felt like a gift and I truly appreciate you sharing your Ojibwe philosophies, traditions and culture.

The Firekeeper’s Daughter is an absolute powerhouse of a debut novel. This book is so much more than a YA thriller/mystery. It is an exploration of a people that have long been depicted in literature and media as forgotten, it highlights the many injustices faced by Indigenous women particularly at a disproportionate rate.

This book does not shy away from issues such as racism, drug abuse, murder and sexual assault, but it also illustrates the beauty in community and the strength of family, heritage and what can happen when we nurture our relationships.

I am honored and grateful for the raw and openness with which the author writes about sacred traditions and ceremonies of the Anishinaabe and strength and resilience of the Anishinaabe Kwa (Ojibwe woman).

Highly recommend listening to the audiobook. This novel has already been optioned for a Netflix series by the Obamas’ Higher Ground production company.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Doglver
  • 2021-03-29

Incredible!

This book is so good. There is heavy subject matter, but the author strikes the right balance so it’s not a downer. Instead it’s really powerful, entertaining, educational, meaningful and impactful. I highly recommend!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 2021-03-22

love this book!

ok so i'm only halfway through it lol! but i had to stop and write how much i love it! this book gives voice to people who are so underrepresented in our mainstream culture. and i can't tell you what a great voice it is!!! you have to experience it for yourself. it's such a treat to spend time with these characters, and hear their stories. i want more!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 2021-03-17

Read this book! You will be better for it.



A good book. A true story in so many ways. Living in both worlds is a possible way, done in a healthy way that can benefit our community and our world.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anna Marie
  • 2021-04-08

An amazing learning through point of view

This book starts slowly and I was worried at first, but then the characters and plot enveloped me. So worth it. All teachers of Native students should listen to this.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • MamaMia
  • 2021-04-07

This book is amazing

This book accomplished so much. It delved into the forgotten culture of native Americans. The fact that women in Native American cultures aren’t protected in MANY ways. It covered the meth problem that is running rampant. Most of all it covered these subjects with a beautiful story that had great character development. It is a mystery and a thriller. It was written with so much depth and I truly loved every minute.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • james pierre
  • 2021-04-07

A must in audio form. S much more depth .

Well narrated. Culture, spirituality, medicine, tradition, language, suspense and mystery. Character development was really good.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • MamaOfFour
  • 2021-03-31

Awesome Story

I really hope there's a sequel to this!

I loved everything about this story, but the ending. it left me searching for answers and trying to find out what happened with all the character. and that isn't a bad thing when you're reading a good book. The story, although somewhat predictable, still left things unanswered until the end. It was hard to push pause for the last half of the book.

The narrator was easy to understand and did a great job.

1 person found this helpful