Get a free audiobook

Friends Like These

Written by: Sarah Alderson
Length: 8 hrs and 54 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (4 ratings)

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

A gripping thriller about fake friendships and the truth that lies behind the Facebook page, for fans of The Girlfriend and Friend Request.  

We all know someone like Becca.   

She has the job everyone wants, a designer wardrobe, a hot-shot lawyer boyfriend, holidays to exotic locations. And she flaunts her perfect life all over social media.  

It drove her colleague Lizzie mad, but she couldn't stop looking. They were never really friends - and yet Lizzie knew everything about her.   

Or did she?   

When chance and a terrible mistake pull Lizzie back into Becca's orbit years after they lost touch, she'll realise that you can't always believe what you see online...and that finding out the truth might be the worst thing you can do.   

There's no such thing as a perfect life. Only a perfect lie. 

©2018 Sarah Alderson (P)2018 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
No reviews are available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Wendi
  • Houston, TX
  • 2019-02-19

Brilliant! Loved It!

'Friends Like These' was a very good, exciting book with an excellent premise and quite a surprising ending. Our heroine is a busy body, chatty type who loves to gossip about everyone at work. She's energetic, tireless, and reminiscent of Bridget Jones in that British, too-hard-on-herself way. We go into the book completely irritated with her, but loving her nonetheless.

Then bad things start happening to her as a direct result of her meddling.

The story takes twists and turns and produces a finale that is truly remarkable in that it's original.

I thought this book was brilliant and I loved it!

5 stars

-Wendi

11 of 11 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Brba
  • 2018-12-14

Finally a new twist

I enjoy listening to mysteries and physiological thrillers. I’ve been in quite a dry spell finding the same basic theme dragged out way to long. This book was well performed, kept my interest and lots of fun all the way through.

15 of 17 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Kristin Henry
  • 2019-03-28

doesn't align

Lizzy 's inner dialogue doesn't match the character she ends up being. It is very distracting how conflicting it is.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Scott
  • 2019-03-14

No warning about no ending

The story is somewhat engaging, despite the fact I had to disconnect reason and realty to a huge extent to be focused enough to listen to the whole book. I gave myself permission to let go and let the story go wherever it was going. I had faith that it would culminate into a realistic ending. No such luck. The ending clearly indicated that the author was done with this story and didn’t have the wherewithal to actually end her story. What a disappointment!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Davina15
  • Chicago, IL USA
  • 2019-04-04

Not as good as I hoped it would be.

Bummer. This was just not that good. The ending was very lacking. I was hoping to encounter a twist or two but no.Nothing memorable.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • JM
  • 2019-03-25

Pretty good

I'm usually pretty good as guessing the twist, and was totally wrong with this book which I actually enjoyed. Not for people who want a nice, neat ending.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jude
  • 2019-01-02

Absolutely fab book

What a fantastic book. I was hooked from the very beginning. The story was very well written and the narrators were brilliant. I did hope for a different ending from the main story line but there’s a psychological thriller for you!

Unfortunately there is only one Sarah Alderson novel available on Audible at this time, so I will have to be patient. I will look for others read by the narrators.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • vvnnbb
  • 2019-06-28

Amazing!

This book is addictive from beginning to end with a delicious twist. I absolutely love the ending! The performance is so well done you get lost in it.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • mental illness specialist fan
  • florida
  • 2019-06-18

Hooked from the beginning

This is the first book I've listened to by this author, and I really enjoyed it! After thinking about it, I should've seen some of it coming maybe, but the author did a great job telling a very intense story. I'd recommend it! Definitely worth the credit in my opinion.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Samantha B
  • 2019-06-07

I felt duped.

Someone else wrote: "Lizzy 's inner dialogue doesn't match the character she ends up being. It is very distracting how conflicting it is." and this is exactly how I felt. I felt very lead on my the author to have certain feelings for the main character, and then have her be a completely different person in the end. It was less of a twist and more of a lack of character development. The ending was also disappointing.