Get a free audiobook

Friends Like These

Written by: Sarah Alderson
Length: 8 hrs and 54 mins
Price: CDN$ 27.32
CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

A gripping thriller about fake friendships and the truth that lies behind the Facebook page, for fans of The Girlfriend and Friend Request.  

We all know someone like Becca.   

She has the job everyone wants, a designer wardrobe, a hot-shot lawyer boyfriend, holidays to exotic locations. And she flaunts her perfect life all over social media.  

It drove her colleague Lizzie mad, but she couldn't stop looking. They were never really friends - and yet Lizzie knew everything about her.   

Or did she?   

When chance and a terrible mistake pull Lizzie back into Becca's orbit years after they lost touch, she'll realise that you can't always believe what you see online...and that finding out the truth might be the worst thing you can do.   

There's no such thing as a perfect life. Only a perfect lie. 

©2018 Sarah Alderson (P)2018 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

What members say

No reviews are available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Wendi
  • Houston, TX
  • 2019-02-19

Brilliant! Loved It!

'Friends Like These' was a very good, exciting book with an excellent premise and quite a surprising ending. Our heroine is a busy body, chatty type who loves to gossip about everyone at work. She's energetic, tireless, and reminiscent of Bridget Jones in that British, too-hard-on-herself way. We go into the book completely irritated with her, but loving her nonetheless.

Then bad things start happening to her as a direct result of her meddling.

The story takes twists and turns and produces a finale that is truly remarkable in that it's original.

I thought this book was brilliant and I loved it!

5 stars

-Wendi

6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Brba
  • 2018-12-14

Finally a new twist

I enjoy listening to mysteries and physiological thrillers. I’ve been in quite a dry spell finding the same basic theme dragged out way to long. This book was well performed, kept my interest and lots of fun all the way through.

11 of 13 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Scott
  • 2019-03-14

No warning about no ending

The story is somewhat engaging, despite the fact I had to disconnect reason and realty to a huge extent to be focused enough to listen to the whole book. I gave myself permission to let go and let the story go wherever it was going. I had faith that it would culminate into a realistic ending. No such luck. The ending clearly indicated that the author was done with this story and didn’t have the wherewithal to actually end her story. What a disappointment!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jude
  • 2019-01-02

Absolutely fab book

What a fantastic book. I was hooked from the very beginning. The story was very well written and the narrators were brilliant. I did hope for a different ending from the main story line but there’s a psychological thriller for you!

Unfortunately there is only one Sarah Alderson novel available on Audible at this time, so I will have to be patient. I will look for others read by the narrators.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2019-03-21

Predictable

Just your run of the mill, by now overly predictable psychological thriller. I could clearly see the twist coming. I did listen to the end but did not grip the edge of my seat.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Megan
  • 2019-03-19

creepy

Really enjoyed this. I wasnt sure until the end who the real villain and victim were.And once the villain is revealed her true creepiness comes fully out.

It is always a pleasant experience when a book manages to surprise you and this one did. Would for sure recommend.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 2019-03-13

Worth The Read

The story will leave you guessing till the end. The story starts off a little slow but picks up in chapter 8 and from then on the story just gets better and better from there.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Angie
  • 2019-03-13

Wow, what I was surprised by the ending

This book started off in turmoil and kept going from there. I usually don't like books where the antagonist wins but in this case each of the three people involved had issues, some greater than ever however. I felt like the ending left room for a part 2. The book read like a lifetime movie, it had Single White Female vibes along with sociopath. I finished this book in one day.
SPOILER ALERT!!!
I was sad about what happened to Becca and her baby and felt like Lizzy should be held accountable but without evidence and the little they had pointing to Becca being a psychopath (which she borderline was in my opinion) she was able to get away with everything. What I could not understand was why James would end up with Lizzy? It just seems like punishment.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • kippy
  • 2019-03-12

surprisingly good!

Just when you think you know what's going on... loved the twists to this book, great narration and thoroughly enjoyed listening to this story. Highly recommend

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • lisa
  • 2019-03-12

wowsers!!!

This book had me from the start! so unique! No spoilers here but I would definitely recommend to anyone who is tired of the same hum drum type book.