Get a free audiobook

From Blood and Ash

Blood and Ash, Book 1
Narrated by: Stina Nielsen
Series: Blood and Ash, Book 1
Length: 19 hrs and 46 mins
Categories: Romance, Paranormal
4.7 out of 5 stars (28 ratings)

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Captivating and action-packed, From Blood and Ash is a sexy, addictive, and unexpected fantasy perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Laura Thalassa.

A Maiden...

Chosen from birth to usher in a new era, Poppy’s life has never been her own. The life of the Maiden is solitary. Never to be touched. Never to be looked upon. Never to be spoken to. Never to experience pleasure. Waiting for the day of her Ascension, she would rather be with the guards, fighting back the evil that took her family, than preparing to be found worthy by the gods. But the choice has never been hers.

A Duty...

The entire kingdom’s future rests on Poppy’s shoulders, something she’s not even quite sure she wants for herself. Because a Maiden has a heart. And a soul. And longing. And when Hawke, a golden-eyed guard honor bound to ensure her Ascension, enters her life, destiny and duty become tangled with desire and need. He incites her anger, makes her question everything she believes in, and tempts her with the forbidden.

A Kingdom...

Forsaken by the gods and feared by mortals, a fallen kingdom is rising once more, determined to take back what they believe is theirs through violence and vengeance. And as the shadow of those cursed draws closer, the line between what is forbidden and what is right becomes blurred. Poppy is not only on the verge of losing her heart and being found unworthy by the gods, but also her life when every blood-soaked thread that holds her world together begins to unravel.

©2020 Jennifer L. Armentrout (P)2020 Brilliance Publishing, Inc., all rights reserved.

What the critics say

"Dreamy, twisty, steamy escapism. Take me back!" (New York Times best-seller Wendy Higgins)

“Jennifer Armentrout has the power to control my emotions with every word she writes. From swooning to crying to racing through the pages to find out what happens next, I couldn't stop reading about Hawke and Poppy, and you won't be able to either.” (Brigid Kemmerer, New York Times best-selling author of A Curse So Dark and Lonely)

“Action, adventure, sexiness, and angst! From Blood and Ash has it all and double that. So many feels and so many moments it made me cheer for the character. Read. This. Book! You'll be obsessed!” (Tijan, NYT best-selling author)

What listeners say about From Blood and Ash

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    15
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fun Engaging

I really enjoyed the narration. This is a creative world the author has developed. I am very much looking forward to the next book in the series. Strongly recommend if you are looking for some escapism, as easy story to get lost in.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

It was an interesting story, but I struggled with the narrator

Enjoyable book and I’ll honestly try the second one, but the narrator made it more than a bit of a chore to finish.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Slow Start but it gets ya

I loved this book. However the first few chapters were a struggle. It sort of feels like you jump into the middle of an already established story. It does pick up though, most (not all) questions are answered and the plot line is thick with twists and turns that kept me on the edge of my seat the whole time. Cannot wait for the second one!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

HOLY BURNING HELL

okay, okay, okay. thIS BOOK IS FREAKING AMAZING AND I CANT EVEN HANDLE IT. Poppy is a badass supreme. Hawke could literally step on my hand and I’d thank him for it. And just UGH. it’s beautiful y’all. just pure beautiful. i have planted my flag on this hill and will glad die on it fight off the craven. it just has so many twists and turns and every time you think it’s going to end, something else happens to make my brain explode. it’s spooky, sexy, full of mystery, scenes that make you so made you want to chuck your phone or just do something violent (which is always what our glorious Poppy turns to) or scenes that make you melt into a freaking puddle or scenes that make you laugh uncontrollably because gatdamn Hawke is hilarious. love it. wish i lived in this series. and yep. that’ll bout do it. NOW RELEASE THE SECOND ONE.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

great ya fantasy!

I read Rice as a youth and felt this was a modern version of her style. sexy in the description is code, very romantic narrative and descriptions of hetero sex are detailed. The allegory and motifs are very well chosen for our time. great voices from the reader!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kindle Customer
  • 2020-09-12

So freaking good!

I've known for years that Jennifer could spin a tale. But this one is her best. This is the best fantasy novel I've read since The Bridge Kingdom. I'm not even sure that I can wait for the audio of the 2nd book. I will be taking the needed time to read it. The narration was perfectly performed which made the story even better. I wish that I could give this book 10 stars!!!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • masesq
  • 2020-09-10

*Edit from my previous review...

Continued from my previous review because I’m a dork and I’m so embarrassed. I can’t believe I wrote the wrong name of the book title. Since you can’t edit your review, I’m being a serious nerd, writing another and correcting the error in my last sentence. 🤦‍♀️ *The Brightest Night” Oct. 20th ‘20

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • G. Schuerg
  • 2020-09-13

I love eveything about this

The book is amazing and the audiobook makes it even more amazing. I loved the narrator and how they interpreted each character..especially Hawke. I'm going try and wait patiently for the release of next audiobook book in this series.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Crafty Momma
  • 2020-09-10

Wow!

This is a steamy, romantic, action and a bit of a thriller story. Some hot sexy scene and good plot. Just what I needed in the middle of this covid-19 crisis to keep my mind busy.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2020-09-22

Hum - just hum

I actually really enjoyed this book, I just don’t really know why... Good points: - It’s a totally different take on the whole paranormal romance vampire, werewolf, zombie idea. I enjoyed it wasn’t just in your face vampire and werewolf. There are different names associated with them that bring them out of the eye rolling same old story. - The idea of the story is new and not just a rehash or one different love triangle or another - I enjoyed that the main character isn’t a useless fawn but also isn’t all balls up. - I liked the secondary characters. Bad points: - I HATED the fact that there is abuse. Not only that there is abuse but the author makes you live through it. Not ok. TRIGGERS! - I don’t think I like the male lead. It’s not even the whole good guy/bad guy/good guy thing. It’s not the betrayal. It’s not lies or anything like that. It just honestly feels like he is playing her through the entire book. I don’t buy the love. - The whole idea that she is the most important thing to the whole nation but no one ever checks on her from the palace. If she is going to save the whole of everything forever then maybe see if her keeper is beating the hell out of her maybe once - I don’t mentally understand how someone who lived such a sheltered life, doesn’t really have family who loves her, is abused by her overseers, isn’t really allowed to socialize, and who is basically kept in a closet her entire life can be a strong independent person. That’s not how it works. Am I going to get the second book? Yes, most likely. I want to see where the story goes. Am I going to have this books on my list of books I listen to time and time again? Nope.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2020-09-16

One of my FAVE Books this year!

I spent most of the time reading this book with my mouth wide open. The main character is strong but fragile all at once and I definitely just found a new book crush. I just loved everything about this book!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Chestean graham
  • 2020-09-14

Amazing heart pounding story!

I loved it! Every chapter was truly amazing! If you haven't read this yet, you need too!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Dylan Noelle
  • 2020-09-13

Excellent story, riveting narration!

Thoroughly enjoyed this one, 10/10 recommend for any fantasy lovers out there. Truly excellently narrated.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • J. SCHAAL
  • 2020-09-13

Escape

An escape into a world and story filled with emotional twists and turns. Can wait for the next book in the series.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Monica CM
  • 2020-09-11

Excellent Series

I cannot wait for the next book to come out on audible! I’ve already read the book - but, if it’s the same narrator they used for this book...it’s gonna be GOOOOODDD! Just read and listen to them...you’re welcome!

1 person found this helpful