Get a free audiobook

Get a Life, Chloe Brown

A Novel
Written by: Talia Hibbert
Narrated by: Adjoa Andoh
Length: 10 hrs and 17 mins
Categories: Romance, Romantic Comedy
5 out of 5 stars (4 ratings)

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

“Absolutely charming...a flawless balance of humor, heat, sweetness, and depth, and I loved every page.” (Helen Hoang, USA Today best-selling author of The Bride Test)

Talia Hibbert, one of contemporary romance’s brightest new stars, delivers a witty, hilarious romantic comedy about a woman who’s tired of being “boring” and recruits her mysterious, sexy neighbor to help her experience new things - perfect for fans of Sally Thorne, Jasmine Guillory, and Helen Hoang!

Chloe Brown is a chronically ill computer geek with a goal, a plan, and a list. After almost - but not quite - dying, she’s come up with seven directives to help her “Get a Life”, and she’s already completed the first: finally moving out of her glamorous family’s mansion. The next items?

Enjoy a drunken night out.

Ride a motorcycle.

Go camping.

Have meaningless but thoroughly enjoyable sex.

Travel the world with nothing but hand luggage.

And...do something bad.

But it’s not easy being bad, even when you’ve written step-by-step guidelines on how to do it correctly. What Chloe needs is a teacher, and she knows just the man for the job.

Redford "Red" Morgan is a handyman with tattoos, a motorcycle, and more sex appeal than 10,000 Hollywood heartthrobs. He’s also an artist who paints at night and hides his work in the light of day, which Chloe knows because she spies on him occasionally. Just the teeniest, tiniest bit.

But when she enlists Red in her mission to rebel, she learns things about him that no spy session could teach her. Like why he clearly resents Chloe’s wealthy background. And why he never shows his art to anyone. And what really lies beneath his rough exterior.... 

©2019 Talia Hibbert (P)2019 HarperAudio

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Best Book of the Year!

A highlight of the year. This book is witty, engaging, empowering, and an absolute must-read.

Chloe Brown is an intelligent, socially awkward website designer who has fibromyalgia.

Redford Morgan is a sensitive, tattooed, motorcycle-driving artist still healing from an abusive relationship.

I fell in love with them both. Representation matters and I didn't realize how much I need to read about a protagonist with chronic pain until I found this book. And Talia Hibbert does it with such style! This book is funny and charming while showing the realities of fibromyalgia in a way that makes me feel empowered and renewed. Chloe Brown has limits. Chloe Brown has bad days. Chloe Brown is in charge of her own life.

And Red? I have never fallen in love with a book character so fast. All together, this book has shot to the top of my favourites list.

And the narration? Absolutely divine.

I highly HIGHLY recommend it.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2019-11-12

Wonderful!!!!!!

I like all this author's work, but I absolutely loved this one. As a woman with a chronic illness I was thrilled to discover that the heroine had one also. It's so rare to find a character that I can relate to so completely. This is now one of my favorite books.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Sweetums
  • 2019-11-10

OMG!

This is the first novel I have listened to or read by Talia Hibbert. Prior to this novel I knew nothing about her. This Texas girl figured this was a USA contemporary romance. When the narrator began with a non-American voice, I thought "Okay." I went with the flow of the novel and I am so in love with this author! She did a wonderful job of writing this novel and the narrator did a great job of reading. I did think Chloe's voice sounded like Dame Judi Dench on occasion, but it did not distract me from this super funny and romantic story.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • nmgski
  • 2019-12-05

Love love love this book

Loved this book immensely. Audio book is excellent. Amazing and wonderful narrator. It was delightful to listen to.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jason Lewis
  • 2019-11-29

Awesome book!

It is wond having a character that I can totally relate too! Having thos disease sucks...everyday...hard! But, life does go on and having a handsome yet overly sarcastic British man does seem to help. Yup, got one of those as well!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Valkyrie
  • 2019-11-25

I am in love!

These two grumpily adorable people make my heart happy! And on a more personal note, the chronic pain rep was part of the story I didn't realize I needed! I will be adding this to the reread rotation, probably on a more than once a year basis. I can't get enough of Talks Hibbert's genius and I can't gush enough about her books! Read this book! You won't regret it!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Optimus Prime gb
  • 2019-11-21

Delightful

Usually I have to be ready for a thick English accent but this narrator is so delightful. Such a good voice and she gets the story. It really is such a hot sweet love story about a thick black lady who has had her heart broken by an unusual set of circumstances. She becomes a neurotic insecure mess after a bout of pneumonia which changes her once confident, athletic, healthy body into one with fibromyalgia and all sorts of other maladies which on anybody else would signify malingering or phoniness.

Her friends and fiancé lose patience with her and she ends up with no friends, scared of life, and seems like a neurotic mess who is cold, has a cutting posh English accent and is misunderstood.

She and her sisters have crushes on the fine ass ginger super of her building and she expresses her attraction by being sarcastic in order to hide her vulnerability. He thinks she hates him.

Through a set of circumstances he sees her soft underbelly and can admit that she and he are alike and thats she digs him.

Such a sweet funny wild ride they are on while completing her bucket or come alive dammit list.

Beautifully read through all the sensual parts, REALLY hot in that way that only women can write.

When they finally can admit that they love each other you are so happy for them and relieved.

Worth every penny! Great writer and narrator. Loved the accents. Just perfect.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Audiobookhoe
  • 2019-11-13

Okay Romance but not my fave my this author

This was an overall important romance story. A black heroine with a chronic illness was FANTASTIC but for some reason, I wasn't sold on the romance. The characters just didn't have the chemistry that makes me turn the page. The cover is awesoem though and I'm proud that this book is doing so well!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Susan Rogers
  • 2019-11-11

Perfect Narration for a perfect story

Talia Hibbert does it again with a delightfully quirky heroine and absolute cinnamon roll of a hero who made me literally laugh out loud as well as wipe away a few tears. The narrator was absolutely perfect and made the book even more enjoyable. Put this in your ear holes now!