Get a free audiobook

Girl in Pieces

Written by: Kathleen Glasgow
Length: 10 hrs and 42 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (2 ratings)
Price: CDN$ 50.94
CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Girl, Interrupted, Thirteen Reasons Why, and All the Bright Places comes a novel Nicola Yoon, author of Everything, Everything, calls "a haunting, beautiful, and necessary book that will stay with you long after you've read the last page". 

Charlotte Davis is in pieces. At 17 she's already lost more than most people do in a lifetime. But she's learned how to forget. The broken glass washes away the sorrow until there is nothing but calm. You don't have to think about your father and the river. Your best friend, who is gone forever. Or your mother, who has nothing left to give you. 

Every new scar hardens Charlie's heart just a little more, yet it still hurts so much. It hurts enough to not care anymore, which is sometimes what has to happen before you can find your way back from the edge. 

A deeply moving portrait of a girl in a world that owes her nothing, and has taken so much, and the journey she undergoes to put herself back together. Kathleen Glasgow's debut is heartbreakingly real and unflinchingly honest. It's a story you won't be able to look away from. 

Includes an author's note read by the author. 

"Equal parts keen-eyed empathy, stark candor, and terrible beauty. This book is why we read stories: to experience what it's like to survive the unsurvivable; to find light in the darkest night." (Jeff Zentner, author of The Serpent King)

"Raw, visceral, and starkly beautiful, with writing that is at times transcendent in its brilliance.... An unforgettable story of trauma and resilience." (Kerry Kletter, author of The First Time She Drowned)

"A breathtakingly written book about pain and hard-won healing.... I want every girl to read Girl in Pieces." (Kara Thomas, author of The Darkest Corners)

“A Girl, Interrupted for a new generation.... The story of the mad girl is ultimately a story about being a girl in a mad world, how it breaks us into pieces and how we glue ourselves back together." (Melissa Febos, author of Whip Smart and Abandon Me)  

“Dark, frank, and tender, Girl in Pieces keeps the reader electrified for its entire journey. You’re so uncertain if Charlie will heal, so fully immersed in hoping she does.” (Michelle Wildgen, author of Bread and Butter and You’re Not You)

"Girl in Pieces has the breath of life; every character in it is fully alive. Charlie Davis' complexities are drawn with great understanding and subtlety." (Charles Baxter, author of National Book Award finalist The Feast of Love)

©2016 Kathleen Glasgow (P)2016 Listening Library

What the critics say

"Narrator Julia Whelan's initial portrayal of Charlie reveals her unwillingness to speak - as well as her pain, fear, and fury.... Gradually, Whelan recounts the changes Charlie experiences in a treatment center as she reaches out and hopes for healing. On release, Whelan contrasts the safety Charlie has come to know with her mother's coldness and desertion, but Charlie's grit is impressive as she makes faltering steps to support herself financially, artistically, and emotionally. Whelan's portrayals of minor characters aid the realism of the optimistic ending." (AudioFile)

"Charlie Davis has been damaged and abused after several years of living on the streets, but she is fiercely resilient. Though it will appeal to readers of Ellen Foster, Speak, and Girl, Interrupted, Girl in Pieces is an entirely original work, compulsively readable and deeply human." (Julie Schumacher, author the New York Times best-seller Dear Committee Members)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
No reviews are available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Wendi
  • 2017-05-31

Touching, Sobering, Fascinating

Girl in Pieces is a work of art. Our Heroine Charlie is a cutter and she's trying to find her own way, working in a dumpy coffee shop. Her struggle with sobriety is difficult because the new characters in her life are junkies. She is focused on trying not to drink but more importantly, trying not to cut. Her scars make her a prisoner of her body and they make people want to stay out- but she's really very lonely and wants to be loved.

This book is honest, raw, endearing, frightening, all encompassing and tragic- yet beautiful. I recommend it to anyone. This book is a work of art.

-Wendi

10 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Hayley Murphy
  • 2017-01-04

Older teen/young adult/early 20's

What made the experience of listening to Girl in Pieces the most enjoyable?

I was hooked! I couldn't save this book just for my commute and found myself listening to it up until I went to bed. Very catching storyline and the way it is read makes it feel like a movie. If you like Girl Interrupted or The Bell Jar, you will love this!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Celina
  • 2017-05-28

This Book Will Shake You...

Would you consider the audio edition of Girl in Pieces to be better than the print version?

I feel the performance of this book really took it to a whole new level.

What other book might you compare Girl in Pieces to and why?

I would compare this book to white oleander.

What about Julia Whelan and Kathleen Glasgow ’s performance did you like?

You felt as if you were not listening to the book. it was as if it was someone telling you their story. Julia real meshed and and fit the right age bracket.

If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

From dark to light

Any additional comments?

This book struck so deeply with my own story. It was amazing and i am so happy its a part of my library.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Mio
  • 2017-02-28

Heartbreaking story

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

I started this book before bed and ended up not sleeping due to wanting to just keep going. This story is something so many people can appreciate and should listen to if they are looking for a in depth view of what goes on in the mind of a self-harmer. Highly recommended. The narrator was good as well.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Amber Rae
  • 2016-11-19

Stayed Up All Night Finishing It!

I wasn't so sure how I felt when I first started reading the book, but once I was hooked, I couldn't wait to go back to listening. This is a story of transformation, a love story, and a whole lot of struggle. I wouldn't categorize it as a "feel good" book, but I liked the ending more than I imagined.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Yikes
  • 2017-02-22

wOw this is good

Would you consider the audio edition of Girl in Pieces to be better than the print version?

don't know but the audio version is excellent

What was one of the most memorable moments of Girl in Pieces?

the concert

What about Julia Whelan and Kathleen Glasgow ’s performance did you like?

Julia was perfect - no complaints

If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

?

Any additional comments?

You will either love it or hate it. For me, it was so interesting, intriguing, sad, funny, and completely satisfying. I highly recommend.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • NW
  • 2016-11-15

Powerful

Possibly the most eye-opening & powerful book I have ever read! This is a must read!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ematnau
  • 2016-10-02

Heartbreaking, thought-provoking, and...

This book was very powerful, heartbreaking, thought-provoking, and f***ing 'angelic'!
I was soo sad for Charlie -and the rest of the 'broken ' girls. I loved the characters (and their snarky-at times ) personalities .
The narrator, Julia whelan, is/was a perfect choice! she's amazing!
Thank you for sharing and writing this book... to bring more awareness tht this is happening to our youth.
This book will stay with me to awhile ... :'(

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Randi Silvers
  • 2019-04-16

Overall A Good Read

I struggled to finish the actual book, so I listened to the audiobook instead and all in all, I enjoyed it!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2019-03-16

A book like this needed to be written

The most tragically beautiful coming of age story of a girl struggling with self harm, drugs and alcohol. It was chilling and riveting and so relatable. Fantastic book that I will be reading again. Highly recommend to anyone who likes good books. ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ The narration related the story quite well.