Listen free for 30 days

Audible Membership

$14.95 a month

1 credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
The Plus Catalogue—listen all you want to thousands of Audible Originals, podcasts, and audiobooks.
$14.95 a month plus applicable taxes after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $55.75

Buy Now for $55.75

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Tax where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Evil always seeks a foothold. We must not give it one.

The electrifying conclusion to the New York Times and Indiebound best-selling Serpent & Dove trilogy is perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Kendare Blake.

Lou has spent her whole life running. Now, after a crushing blow from Morgane, the time has come to go home - and claim what is rightfully hers.

But this is no longer the Lou her friends knew. No longer the Lou who captured a chasseur’s heart. A darkness has settled over her, and this time it will take more than love to drive it out.

From Serpent & Dove to Blood & Honey and concluding with Gods & Monsters, Shelby Mahurin's stunning fantasy trilogy delivers thrills and romance.

©2021 Shelby Mahurin (P)2021 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about Gods & Monsters

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    40
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    42
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    37
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good read, still wanted more

Saskia's narration was stellar as always, while Holter's was okay.

There were a few things that kinda bugged me. Firstly, the craze that Lou was getting when she used her powers was never resolved it simply stopped when they left the river and was never mentioned again. Secondly, I was really hoping that we would learn more about what was happening in the kingdom after the battle, the logistics of how everything worked. What changes would Beau make, how would his people respond? Did this cause tension with surrounding kingdoms? What changes would Lou and Coco make, how would they handle the Blood witches and the White witches? What about relationships with the other occult creatures such as the werewolves? Third, I really wanted to hear Lou and Reeds votes! it felt like such a cop out to not include them! lastly, I do not understand what was going on with Mme Sauvage, who was she and what's with the trees?

But overall I enjoyed this book, it was much better than the second. it was adventurous, funny with lots of character development. I cried during all the Ansel stuff, but in the best way.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A Story to Warm Your Heart

I have thoroughly fallen in love with each and every character in this series. My heart is warm. I needed a beautiful story like this right now. I absolutely adore Saskia's performance of Lou, I feel she encapsulated her character perfectly. I will absolutely be following Shelby Mahurin in the future to read anything new she chooses to release. Highly recommend this story for anyone looking for the deepest form of love that you could find.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

I can't... I just can't.

I CANNOT get through yet another book without the use of *any* contractions whatsoever. I get that Mahurin is trying to make it a stylized way that they speak, but my GOD I just can't get through a third book where every character sounds like a 1980s robot.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Blue
  • 2021-08-03

A Decently Satisfying End to the Series

I’ll admit that after the 2nd book(which I thought was pretty bad) I didn’t have very high hopes for this one but I was decently surprised. I don’t think it’s as good as the 1st book but it is miles better than the 2nd.

The main story arcs with Lou and Reid have definitely been done before and I’ll say that I didn’t like what the author did with Reid’s character in this book. It does all come back together in the end but still it felt like going backwards and I would have much rather seen Reid’s character moving forward for once. Book 2’s cliffhanger for Lou takes up about the first 3rd of this book and after that till the near end, Reid’s story takes over. However, despite that I still enjoyed this book and I thought Reid and Lou had some great scenes together(especially the steamy scenes 🔥).

The side characters don’t feel as prominent in this one but I still enjoyed them, even the new additions. Without spoiling who the new ones are I will say that I didn’t except to like them but I actually did and thought they rounded out the group quite nicely.

The main plot line is still the same. Trying to unite the kingdom to defeat Lou’s mom and such. However, it didn’t drag as much in this book as in the 2nd and because of their side quests it felt like things kept moving. The final battle wasn’t anything great but it was good enough to kept me interested and I thought it brought a decently satisfying end to the overall story.

In the end I’m glad I listened to this series and would definitely be interested in checking out more from this author. 🖤

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Jackie Roberts
  • 2021-09-27

Narration was tough.

I enjoyed this book more than I expected to after book two kind of let me down. I have other books by Holter Graham and I'm really not a fan. The story I enjoyed, but I found myself grumbling every time the narration switched back to Reid's perspective.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Brooke Atkinson
  • 2021-08-12

Impeccable Story

This was a riveting story with incredibly well developed characters. I loved every bit of it. My only hangup is I actually had a hard time keeping track of placing characters to names because they span the whole series and I guess my memory isn't the best.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2021-08-11

Wow

Absolutely amazing. Emotional, action packed, nonstop from start to finish. The narrators did character voices so well, and this was a perfect ending to the series. ❤️

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Rachel Schmidt
  • 2021-08-06

I loved this book.

Great story great characters.
This book list an overall star because I think calling this a ya/teen book is very misleading.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Belle's Library
  • 2022-05-20

Best of the 3!

The author wrote a wonderful ending! You know so clearly how everyone will be in the future. Beautiful peace finds Ansel as well. I haven't shed happy tears at the end of a book in so long! If you like nothing else about the series (though not sure how that can be), the ending is one of the best I have ever listened to. Even my most favorite authors haven't written an ending so beautifully! Most time the epilog feels rushed.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Amy
  • 2022-05-04

Amy

The story was good not exactly how I pictured it would end but not every story is going to end the way I think it’s going to and that is a good thing. Will definitely be reading this again. Thank you for the wonderful narration and the wonderful experience of getting to listen to these characters come to life.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • B.Nantz
  • 2022-04-17

Couldn’t stop listening !

Characters that grow. Story that you can’t wait to find what happens next. Still want to learn about the characters after the story ends.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Michele Evans
  • 2022-04-13

Loved this series

Although there were times I wanted to throttle the main characters I really loved this series! It was a great book about magic and witches and how prejudice can make evil fester and grow!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Christina
  • 2021-10-23

Satisfying Ending, but "meh" Journey

Overall a good series but not great. So many awful things kept happening to keep our main couple away from each other that we never really got to enjoy their happiness. The first book had things spicy, but the 2nd and 3rd fell pretty flat and just dragged on. At least we got our ending and some funny moments in between.