Get a free audiobook

$14.95/month + applicable taxes after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

“A joyous, exuberantly fun-filled novel of second chances. An absolute delight from start to finish!” (Sarah Haywood, New York Times best-selling author) 

“Bracing, hilarious, warm, this novel is as wayward and mad as the human heart.” (Judy Blundell, New York Times best-selling author) 

A hilarious and heartfelt debut novel following three generations of a boisterous Irish family whose simmering tensions boil over when a home aide enters the picture, becoming the calamitous force that will either undo or remake this family - perfect for fans of Where’d You Go, Bernadette and Evvie Drake Starts Over.

When Kevin Gogarty’s irrepressible 83-year-old mother, Millie, is caught shoplifting yet again, he has no choice but to hire a caretaker to keep an eye on her. Kevin, recently unemployed, is already at his wits’ end tending to a full house while his wife travels to exotic locales for work, leaving him solo with his sulky, misbehaved teenaged daughter, Aideen, whose troubles escalate when she befriends the campus rebel at her new boarding school. Into the Gogarty fray steps Sylvia, Millie’s upbeat American home aide, who appears at first to be their saving grace - until she catapults the Gogarty clan into their greatest crisis yet. 

With charm, humor, and pathos to spare, Good Eggs is a delightful study in self-determination; the notion that it’s never too late to start living; and the unique redemption that family, despite its maddening flaws, can offer.

©2021 Rebecca Hardiman. All rights reserved. (P)2021 Simon & Schuster, Inc. All rights reserved.

What listeners say about Good Eggs

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

True Irish Story!

Overwhelming clever, heartbreakingly sad. Irish narrators add the charm. Would definitely recommend this audible listen. Extremely enjoyable!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Anita
  • 2021-03-26

This story will lift you up

If you loved "A Man Called Ove," (and, I did) you will truly enjoy this novel. The characters are truly characters and delightfully wonderful. There's the nutter of a grandmother, the dad going through what can best be described as a midlife crisis, and the teenaged daughter who merely wants to fit in. By the end, I wanted to be a part of this family.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Sharey
  • 2021-06-10

Very Good!

This was a fun, clever book that was a refreshing change to the fails and heavyweights out there. It works without trying too hard or mimicking everyone else's work. I didn't want this book to end! I'd love to read/listen to more from this author.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • jen
  • 2021-05-12

A laugh from start to finish

Makes you smile right through. I loved every second of this book and the characters warm your heart

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2021-04-13

So much fun

This book is full of humor and sincerity. The characters are so fun that it’s just a delight to listen to. The man who reads for Kevin had me in stitches more than once. The characters are just lovable and real.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Darrell Crocker
  • 2021-04-05

fun and engaging

Fun and engaging for the 20 something to the centurion. Giggled aloud a few times as recognized myself in some of the pondering of both the young and old.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jack Halstuch
  • 2021-03-28

Entertaining

I enjoyed the vocabulary immensely. The description of the characters is spot on and very relatable. I frequently laughed out loud. Such a good release on a COVID-19 stress day.
Enjoy your family.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • CW
  • 2021-03-24

An enjoyable entertaining romp.

This story is about a complicated family told through the eyes of the matriarch, her son and granddaughter. Their unusual responses to life’s challenges are hilarious and engaging story. Highly recommend.