Get a free audiobook

Her Closest Friend: An absolutely gripping and heart-pounding psychological thriller

Written by: Clare Boyd
Narrated by: Jane McDowell
Length: 11 hrs and 42 mins
4 out of 5 stars (8 ratings)

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Pop music blares from the radio. She sings drunkenly from the backseat. The thrash of windscreen wipers against the driving rain. The screech of tires. A thud.

Naomi and I are best friends.

School runs, dog walks, a shoulder to cry on over a glass of wine - we’re inseparable.

But now my husband has walked out, I need her more than ever.

I know she will help me pick up the pieces.

Because she knows about the lie I told to protect her.

She knows how much I’ve sacrificed for this friendship. 

And she’d never let anyone hurt me.

Would she?

This extraordinary novel will suck you in from the very first moment and keep you gripped until the breathtaking finale. Fans of The Wife Between Us, The Girl Before, and Gone Girl will adore this twisted tale of toxic female friendship.

What readers are saying about Clare Boyd:

"OMG this book was amazing... I literally couldn't put it down in had to keep reading to see what was going to happen next...well deserving of 5 stars." (Bonnie’s Book Talk, 5 stars)

"Absolutely LOVED...the best-of-the-best of psychological thriller authors!...a very fast paced read...twists like a rollercoaster out of control!...the climax was crazy awesome! If you enjoy a plot twist that jumps out at you...yep, this is the book for you." (Two Girls and a Book Obsession, 5 stars)

©2019 Clare Boyd (P)2019 Bookouture

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great

I personally listen to audio books all day as I’m a house cleaner. I have my favourite authors but I thought I would try some different ones. I loved this book, it was different! Not a happy ending which is ok with me as life isn’t always like that. A good story and excellent reading, would thoroughly recommend it! Believe me, I listen to books all day and week long, I know a good book 👍

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Riveting

The characters were so real with scenarios that kept me on the edge of my seat. Real psychological thriller

Sort by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Feviegirl
  • 2019-03-14

Torturous

I have read the author's other two books and found them relatively entertaining, so I gave this one a shot. Huge mistake. The female leads are horrible, crazy people. The plot, which had a promising start, became downright ridiculous and the madness just went on and on. Still, I tried to keep going. I finally gave up three-quarters through. The narration was good, but no one could have saved this mess.

15 of 17 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • its ya meme
  • 2019-03-23

Horrible!!!!

I couldn’t even get through this one. The story Did not hold together. I am so tired of poorly written book like this. Why are there so many of them. I need to find a good book and this certainly wasn’t it.

13 of 15 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Vicky
  • 2019-03-18

Not the page turner that was promised. <br />

non relatable characters. no since of real drama. not a scary scene in the whole book

6 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • A Reader
  • 2019-05-23

too long

started out fine with some unexpected twists and turn. but then became boring and repetitious. Author went too far in some areas

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • The Sebly’s
  • 2019-05-21

Started out well but half way thru...

At first I liked the book but about 3/4 of the way thru it started to get silly and unrealistic. I almost stopped listening but I forged on until the end...I wish I could give a better review but I can’t, it was disappointing:(

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • DB2000
  • 2019-08-15

Don’t do it

This wasn’t gripping, heart-pounding or thrilling. The characters were awful and I couldn’t wait for it to be over.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • C. A. Bowyer
  • 2019-08-06

Unbelievable

No one would let themselves be blackmailed for an accident in a car they weren’t driving

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Picky Shopper
  • 2019-04-25

What a Downer

This book starts with the "closest friend" putting her friend's dog at risk and goes downhill from there. While the author has writing skills, the story has no heart and I could not bear to finish it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Kindle Customer
  • 2019-04-08

Not suspenseful

The story itself was ok bit I didn't find any part of the story suspenseful. I like thrillers and suspense so i was a bit disappointed

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • s
  • 2019-05-01

Kept me riveted all the way through.

Unputdownable. Great story with twists and turns all the way through. A great performance from the narrator.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful