Get a free audiobook

Her Mother's Grave

Detective Josie Quinn, Book 3
Written by: Lisa Regan
Narrated by: Eilidh Beaton
Length: 11 hrs and 10 mins
5 out of 5 stars (2 ratings)

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

When two young boys discover human bones buried beneath a tree in a trailer park, Detective Josie Quinn races to join her team at the scene. She used to play in those woods as a child, happier outside and away from her abusive mother, Belinda Rose.

Josie’s past crashes into her present when a rare dental condition confirms the bones belong to a teenage foster-child who was murdered 30 years ago. A girl named Belinda Rose....

Josie hasn’t seen her mother in years but, with an undeniable connection between her mother and the dead girl, does she dare try to track her down? Just as Josie gets closer to uncovering a secret that will shatter her world forever, another body is uncovered. It’s suddenly clear that someone very close to Josie will stop at nothing to keep the truth buried forever. 

As she battles the demons from her past, can Josie stop this killer before another precious life is taken?

Do you love unputdownable crime thrillers that keep you up all night? Then this gripping rollercoaster ride, perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Robert Dugoni, and Rachel Caine, will have you totally hooked! 

©2018 Lisa Regan (P)2018 Bookouture

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
No reviews are available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Jan Harris
  • 2018-08-27

Distracting pronunciations

I started counting and negatively reacting to the narrator pronouncing “ate” as “et” and “anything” as “enah-thin” and “nineteen” as “nighting”. It distracted me from the content.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • J. Morita
  • 2018-08-26

Narrator took away from story itself

This was an intriguing plot with a decent mystery and personal story that kept me listening, but I nearly didn't finish because the narrator was so awful. She didn't enunciate the endings of certain basic words such as saying "ninetin" instead of "nineteen" and it was really off-putting, but what really bothered me was her mispronunciation of the last name Ortiz.

I can't understand how someone in this country, living in this day and age (when all you have to do is Google something you're not sure of), doesn't know how to pronounce a very common name like Ortiz, or how the producers of this audio book let that happen. I'm not even Hispanic, and I found it incredibly insulting. It's like mispronouncing Miller or Smith.

I won't be listening to any more books in this series.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Sheree V
  • 2018-08-23

Narration Is a Distraction

The narrator needs to expand her vocabulary , maybe read pronunciations of certain words., and most importantly learn how to pronounce nineteen, detail, Tyvek, anything, just about any word ending in ing, chevette, and others too numerous to mention. I've seen other reviews with similar comments and don't understand why the producer of the recording doesn't correct these distracting mistakes.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • melanie
  • 2018-07-26

Terrible

I could not stand the narrator's voice. Her mispronunciation of several words was nerve grating.

The story was not remotely plausible.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Renata A. Canino
  • 2019-06-09

Her Mother's Grave

As usual,the Jose Quinn series are the best! I know I will keep getting the books.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2019-06-01

wow!

what a ride! this was the best one yet, kept me guessing and in suspense until the end. the narrator did an awesome job reading the book, it really came alive

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Marsha L. Woerner
  • 2019-04-21

Good addition to the series

(As posted in GoodReads)
Another good one in the series. Ms. Regan twisted around the lives and actions so much that in the end, everything was a surprise! And the way the main character's life took on so many differences was sort of breathtaking, and yet, none of it didn't fit. It didn't end up being like taking a scissors to a puzzle piece to make it fit.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • valerie
  • 2019-04-21

Keep it buryied

I’m reading this book as a combination print and audio. The print version is much better. The narrator of the audio version is not very good. If you are an audio book listener you know the narrator can make or break the story. In this case the narrator did not do justice to the story.

One of my pet-peeves is for people to mispronounce names and items. It really irks me when they pronounce something wrong several times and in several ways.

Aside from all of that the story was just OK. Reading it was so much better.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Sharon_M
  • 2019-04-19

What I needed for this series

Her Mother’s Grave is the third book in Lisa Regan’s Detective Josie Quinn series. Finally, this is the story I so wanted to read about Josie Quinn. In the first two books in the series, I enjoyed the procedural part of the stories, but I felt something missing in the characters. In Her Mother’s Grave, both elements come together perfectly to create a most enjoyable tale of mystery and suspense.

Once again I love the narrator's performance. Eilidh Beaton is excellent bringing Josie Quinn and the other characters to life. Her interpretation of the events in story aid in building the tension and suspense. I couldn't stop listening.

Her Mother’s Grave takes Josie to a crime scene that carries her back to her past. Regan uses short chapter flashbacks to Josie’s childhood that reveal events that she buried and now helps her solve the mystery in her present. They also explain a lot to the reader about her character. I’m not a big fan of flashbacks, but Regan use of short chapters sprinkled in with the current events are well done.

I am now more invested with the characters. Lt. Noah Frawley continues to develop as a strong male character who might grow a more personal relationship with Josie. At this point, it is hard to tell. He continues to be a strong, dependable partner. Her team is extremely loyal even when Josie is a bit unconventional and off-putting. Josie’s grandmother, Lissette is an interesting character. There are times that she seems so supportive of Josie and times that her secrets are questionable. I love it. Detective Gretchen Palmer has a lot of secrets of her own. In this book, her loyalty and support are vital.

I’m still confused about Josie’s relationship with Misty. I still don’t care for her more because of her knowingly cheating with a married man in the first book than anything else. At the same time, it seems that Josie is moving on. Loving Ray’s son is more important than hating his mistress. I don’t know if I will ever change my feeling about Misty, but it is apparent that Misty is going to be a part of the series and Ms. Regan is trying to make her character more likeable.

Her Mother’s Grave has convinced me that this is a series that I want to continue. There are twists and turns in each book. This one continues with some big ones. The crime didn’t follow the path I thought the story was taking. Some tense moments put me on edge and kept me turning the page. I am invested in these characters, and I want to see where Lisa Regan is going to take them in the future.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Happy Kindle Customer
  • 2019-03-09

Her Mother's Grave

Love this series.

Detective Quinn learning her true identity will change her life.

I would recommend this book .

Enjoyed the narrator even with her tell tale accent.