Get a free audiobook

Her Mother's Grave

Detective Josie Quinn, Book 3
Written by: Lisa Regan
Narrated by: Eilidh Beaton
Series: Detective Josie Quinn, Book 3
Length: 11 hrs and 10 mins
5 out of 5 stars (9 ratings)

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

When two young boys discover human bones buried beneath a tree in a trailer park, Detective Josie Quinn races to join her team at the scene. She used to play in those woods as a child, happier outside and away from her abusive mother, Belinda Rose.

Josie’s past crashes into her present when a rare dental condition confirms the bones belong to a teenage foster-child who was murdered 30 years ago. A girl named Belinda Rose....

Josie hasn’t seen her mother in years but, with an undeniable connection between her mother and the dead girl, does she dare try to track her down? Just as Josie gets closer to uncovering a secret that will shatter her world forever, another body is uncovered. It’s suddenly clear that someone very close to Josie will stop at nothing to keep the truth buried forever. 

As she battles the demons from her past, can Josie stop this killer before another precious life is taken?

Do you love unputdownable crime thrillers that keep you up all night? Then this gripping rollercoaster ride, perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Robert Dugoni, and Rachel Caine, will have you totally hooked! 

©2018 Lisa Regan (P)2018 Bookouture

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No reviews are available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • J. Morita
  • 2018-08-26

Narrator took away from story itself

This was an intriguing plot with a decent mystery and personal story that kept me listening, but I nearly didn't finish because the narrator was so awful. She didn't enunciate the endings of certain basic words such as saying "ninetin" instead of "nineteen" and it was really off-putting, but what really bothered me was her mispronunciation of the last name Ortiz.

I can't understand how someone in this country, living in this day and age (when all you have to do is Google something you're not sure of), doesn't know how to pronounce a very common name like Ortiz, or how the producers of this audio book let that happen. I'm not even Hispanic, and I found it incredibly insulting. It's like mispronouncing Miller or Smith.

I won't be listening to any more books in this series.

18 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Jan Harris
  • 2018-08-27

Distracting pronunciations

I started counting and negatively reacting to the narrator pronouncing “ate” as “et” and “anything” as “enah-thin” and “nineteen” as “nighting”. It distracted me from the content.

11 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • C. Gottschalg
  • 2019-10-29

Narrator is awful

This is my third book in the series and the stories are great but honestly I wish I had not started them because the narrator is so terrible. She has awkward timing, mispronunciations, and her tone of voice and enunciation is all wrong. Now I’m stuck because I want to know what happens with Josie Quinn!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Sheree V
  • 2018-08-23

Narration Is a Distraction

The narrator needs to expand her vocabulary , maybe read pronunciations of certain words., and most importantly learn how to pronounce nineteen, detail, Tyvek, anything, just about any word ending in ing, chevette, and others too numerous to mention. I've seen other reviews with similar comments and don't understand why the producer of the recording doesn't correct these distracting mistakes.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • melanie
  • 2018-07-26

Terrible

I could not stand the narrator's voice. Her mispronunciation of several words was nerve grating.

The story was not remotely plausible.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • g. alan brooks
  • 2020-04-30

Terrible story with endless unnecessary suffering

The idea of such a horrible mother with no one interfering for years and years is unreasonable. The amount of mean things and countless injuries was so overdone that it became boring rather than horrifying..Josie tried to do everything on her own rather than use the police department, of which she was chief. Just a bad plot and too much pain over and over.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Beth
  • 2020-04-19

Love this series

The narrator isn’t horrible, she just has very poor enunciation which can grate your nerves after awhile but wouldn’t keep me from listening. Hopefully she reads comments and will correct herself!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ND Roughrider
  • 2020-04-16

Great and suspenseful novel!

The author has written a fantastic novel of suspense and intrigue. The narration is superb!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Nancy N.
  • 2020-04-15

Narration getting better

I love these stories. They’re great kill time, be entertained stories especially during this quarantine time we’re going through. On the third novel, the narrator is getting better still from her first and second books, but still needs some work. It’s too much Brooklyn, NY accent for small town PA. But entertained nonetheless and I’ll keep going with the rest of them.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jessica
  • 2020-04-08

love the story. will not listen to anymore!

The readers voice is unbearable. The way she pronounces words grates on me. She does not pronounce her t's at all. Just my opinion.