Get a free audiobook

Her One Mistake

Written by: Heidi Perks
Length: 9 hrs and 57 mins
4 out of 5 stars (68 ratings)

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

What should have been a fun-filled, carefree day takes a tragic turn for the worse for one mother when her best friend’s child goes missing in this suspenseful, compulsively listenable, and darkly twisted psychological thriller. 

It all started at the school fair....

Charlotte was supposed to be looking after the children, and she swears she was. She only took her eyes off of them for one second. But when her three kids are all safe and sound at the school fair, and Alice, her best friend Harriet’s daughter, is nowhere to be found, Charlotte panics. Frantically searching everywhere, Charlotte knows she must find the courage to tell Harriet that her beloved only child is missing. And admit that she has only herself to blame.

Harriet, devastated by this unthinkable, unbearable loss, can no longer bring herself to speak to Charlotte again, much less trust her. Now more isolated than ever and struggling to keep her marriage afloat, Harriet believes nothing and no one. But as the police bear down on both women trying to piece together the puzzle of what happened to this little girl, dark secrets begin to surface - and Harriet discovers that confiding in Charlotte again may be the only thing that will reunite her with her daughter....

This breathless and fast-paced debut - perfect for fans of Big Little Lies and The Couple Next Door - takes you on a chilling journey that will keep you guessing until the very last page. 

©2019 Heidi Perks (P)2019 Simon & Schuster

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    29
  • 4 Stars
    27
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    38
  • 4 Stars
    20
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    28
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

excellent

I absolutely loved this book...the narrator made me feel like I was there...what a fantastic job!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic Book

Unpredictable. Very easy to get lost in. Would definitely recommend for someone looking for a mystery/suspenseful read.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Suspenseful

What an amazing read, twist and turns at different times in the book ...the ending will leave you completely flabbergasted. The reader was enjoyable to listen to and many a times I could not stop listening.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very entertaining

Kept me guessing right until the end. The reader kept me interested and wanting to listen to more.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Interesting

This was a good listen although the ending was a bit disappointing. I think the author could have finished it two chapters earlier.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Her one mistake

This story kept me listening. Worth the listen. Well thought out. Story tellers were on point.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

pretty good

fast paced, and good development, I personally didn't like the closure but it is an pretty satisfying ride.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Lisa
  • 2019-02-06

Predictable

Very predictable...saw the whole thing coming a mile away. Kind of a waste of money.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Lyndsey Lopez
  • 2019-01-18

Insane

This book had me from the start!! It goes to show you that you really don’t know what goes on behind closed doors!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Karen B. Jinks
  • 2019-03-06

This...

This is my kind of book! The kind of book you can’t stop listening to!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • lisa
  • 2019-03-04

wow!

I can't believe how great this story was! Not what I was expecting and would give it more stars if I could. The narration was perfect!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2019-03-03

I Guessed Wrong!

I totally guessed wrong about the "who done it" for a good part of the book. That is what made it a great book for me. I was entertained by this book and enjoyed it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Susan
  • 2019-02-22

Her One Mistake was a huge one!

I recommend this mystery to anyone who wants to snuggle by the fireplace with an enthralling book this winter. It will keep your attention!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Mystical Lady
  • 2019-02-06

Can't believe how it came together

I really enjoyed this book. A mother's love is the strongest motivation and shield. We will protect our children from anyone . Definitely a keeper! Worth the money. 😀😀😀😀

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • bev
  • 2019-01-31

Good but predictable

The performance was excellent Story was good but somewhat predictable Ending not a surprise
Easy listening

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Avid Reader
  • 2019-01-17

Good book

I really enjoyed this book. I liked the writing style and the narration was excellent.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Wendi
  • 2019-03-27

Addictive, Good Domestic Thriller

Her One Mistake held my attention throughout and left me wanting to listen every chance I had.

A woman watches her neighbour's child, and she looks away for just a moment and that child is gone. Feeling horrible and soon shunned by her friends, she feels horrible about her mistake. However, as the story progresses, we find out things are not as they seem, and the hunt to find the child takes some unexpected twists and turns.

Well narrated and enjoyable to listen at the speed of 1, Her One Mistake is a satisfying listen. I would recommend.

Wendi

1 of 1 people found this review helpful