Listen free for 30 days

1 credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
The Plus Catalogue—listen all you want to thousands of Audible Originals, podcasts, and audiobooks.
$14.95 a month plus applicable taxes after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $23.67

Buy Now for $23.67

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Tax where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

What should have been a fun-filled, carefree day takes a tragic turn for the worse for one mother when her best friend’s child goes missing in this suspenseful, compulsively listenable, and darkly twisted psychological thriller. 

It all started at the school fair....

Charlotte was supposed to be looking after the children, and she swears she was. She only took her eyes off of them for one second. But when her three kids are all safe and sound at the school fair, and Alice, her best friend Harriet’s daughter, is nowhere to be found, Charlotte panics. Frantically searching everywhere, Charlotte knows she must find the courage to tell Harriet that her beloved only child is missing. And admit that she has only herself to blame.

Harriet, devastated by this unthinkable, unbearable loss, can no longer bring herself to speak to Charlotte again, much less trust her. Now more isolated than ever and struggling to keep her marriage afloat, Harriet believes nothing and no one. But as the police bear down on both women trying to piece together the puzzle of what happened to this little girl, dark secrets begin to surface - and Harriet discovers that confiding in Charlotte again may be the only thing that will reunite her with her daughter....

This breathless and fast-paced debut - perfect for fans of Big Little Lies and The Couple Next Door - takes you on a chilling journey that will keep you guessing until the very last page. 

©2019 Heidi Perks (P)2019 Simon & Schuster

What listeners say about Her One Mistake

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    100
  • 4 Stars
    76
  • 3 Stars
    22
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    118
  • 4 Stars
    47
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    80
  • 4 Stars
    62
  • 3 Stars
    25
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

excellent

I absolutely loved this book...the narrator made me feel like I was there...what a fantastic job!

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic Book

Unpredictable. Very easy to get lost in. Would definitely recommend for someone looking for a mystery/suspenseful read.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Suspenseful

What an amazing read, twist and turns at different times in the book ...the ending will leave you completely flabbergasted. The reader was enjoyable to listen to and many a times I could not stop listening.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very entertaining

Kept me guessing right until the end. The reader kept me interested and wanting to listen to more.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

love love love

I listened to this in just a couple days, it was so good. this is the first mystery novel I've listened to and I loved it! the story keeps building all throughout, I also love that the book focuses on the struggles of being a modern mother. it definitely touches on feminist issues that are ever present today. It shows that we still have things to fight for.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good listen..story was gripping til the end.

Despite guessing the plot, the 2nd that character was introduced, it was still a great book with uncertainty about where it was heading or how it will end. Worth a listen!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

An excellent story and narrators.

I really enjoyed this book! It is the first one I've listened to from Heidi Perks. It takes twists and turns that kept me wondering what would happen next. The narrators are very easy to listen to and I absolutely loved the different voices. Will be searching for more books from this Author and Narrators!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Suspenseful

Every moms worst nightmare. Very suspenseful & I needed to know what happened. Overall a very good book!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Did Not See The Ending Coming.

I couldn't stop listening, the foreshadowing was so subtle you really didn't pick up on it until it happened again. I've already recommended this before even finishing. The epilogue was bittersweet. Definitely will be listening to more from Heidi.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Started great. Went very blah very fast.

Kinda of a gone girl vibe to start, but got boring very fast and very easy to guess what would happen. Don't waste your time!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • lisa
  • 2019-03-04

wow!

I can't believe how great this story was! Not what I was expecting and would give it more stars if I could. The narration was perfect!

17 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Lyndsey Lopez
  • 2019-01-18

Insane

This book had me from the start!! It goes to show you that you really don’t know what goes on behind closed doors!

17 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • ROBIN
  • 2019-10-02

VERY mixed feelings ...

The concept for this story is a very good one, and the narration was also very good . But there were certain big frustrations (no spoilers) with certain characters , that made me almost dislike the book. I think I could still recommend it because it held my interest for the most part, but I just can't give it a solid 4 or 5 stars

14 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Karen B. Jinks
  • 2019-03-06

This...

This is my kind of book! The kind of book you can’t stop listening to!

14 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2019-03-03

I Guessed Wrong!

I totally guessed wrong about the "who done it" for a good part of the book. That is what made it a great book for me. I was entertained by this book and enjoyed it.

11 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Susan
  • 2019-02-22

Her One Mistake was a huge one!

I recommend this mystery to anyone who wants to snuggle by the fireplace with an enthralling book this winter. It will keep your attention!

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Mystical Lady
  • 2019-02-06

Can't believe how it came together

I really enjoyed this book. A mother's love is the strongest motivation and shield. We will protect our children from anyone . Definitely a keeper! Worth the money. 😀😀😀😀

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Wendi
  • 2019-03-27

Addictive, Good Domestic Thriller

Her One Mistake held my attention throughout and left me wanting to listen every chance I had.

A woman watches her neighbour's child, and she looks away for just a moment and that child is gone. Feeling horrible and soon shunned by her friends, she feels horrible about her mistake. However, as the story progresses, we find out things are not as they seem, and the hunt to find the child takes some unexpected twists and turns.

Well narrated and enjoyable to listen at the speed of 1, Her One Mistake is a satisfying listen. I would recommend.

Wendi

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Lisa
  • 2019-02-06

Predictable

Very predictable...saw the whole thing coming a mile away. Kind of a waste of money.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Jessica Ellis
  • 2019-04-25

Good but not the best

Took a long bit to really get in to it... was going to give up several times... pushing through. Was decent.

6 people found this helpful