Get a free audiobook

His Secret Family

Written by: Ali Mercer
Narrated by: Helen Duff
Length: 11 hrs and 48 mins
4 out of 5 stars (1 rating)

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

It’s a beautiful day for a wedding. White roses scent the air and the summer sunlight streams in. A spoon chimes against a champagne flute and the room falls silent. And there he is - my husband - getting to his feet to propose a toast. He’s still handsome. His new wife is next to him, gazing upwards, oblivious.
 

I’m not supposed to be here. All these years in the same town and I had no idea until I saw his name on the seating plan. He lived with me, once. Loved me. Small-town memories are long, but the people in this room don’t want to remember.
 

They say the healing is in letting go, but after what he did, he needs to know we haven’t gone away just because he’s shut his eyes.
 

So I take Daisy by the hand and step forward from the shadows. He notices us and his eyes widen. The champagne glass falls from his hand and smashes. Then he sags forward, making a terrible sound - a sort of strangled scream....
 

A powerfully emotional novel with a dark secret at its heart. This family drama will keep you hooked until the very last chapter. Perfect for fans of The Silent Wife, Kate Hewitt, and Jodi Picoult. 

©2019 Ali Mercer (P)2019 Bookouture

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Good, but not fantastic

I love books narrated by Helen Duff. I found this one a bit confusing between the characters as her voice was the same for everyone. Sometimes I had to backtrack to see which character was speaking.

It was an interesting story with each character telling their story and it held my interest almost to the end. Without giving out too much information, the book suddenly jumped ahead 10 years and and barely touched on some things that had been happening prior to that.

Not sure if I would choose one of Ali Mercer's books again.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • SarahK
  • 2019-12-10

Enjoyable family drama

A really enjoyable listen - I liked the various characters’ viewpoints, and loved the family dynamics. The narrator was excellent.

1 person found this helpful