Listen free for 30 days

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo + applicable taxes after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Honestly Ben cover art

Honestly Ben

Written by: Bill Konigsberg
Narrated by: Dan Bittner
Try for $0.00

$14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for $24.55

Buy Now for $24.55

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Tax where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

In this companion to Openly Straight, Ben confronts pressure at school, repression at home, and his passion for two very different people in figuring out what it takes to be Honestly Ben.

Ben Carver is back to normal. He's working steadily in his classes at the Natick School. He just got elected captain of the baseball team. He's even won a full scholarship to college, if he can keep up his grades. All that foolishness with Rafe Goldberg the past semester is in the past.

Except...there's Hannah, the gorgeous girl from the neighboring school, who attracts him and distracts him. There's his mother, whose quiet unhappiness Ben is noticing for the first time. School is harder, the pressure higher, the scholarship almost slipping away. And there's Rafe, funny, kind, dating someone else...and maybe the real normal that Ben needs.

Perfect for fans of David Levithan, Andrew Smith, and John Green, Honestly Ben is a smart, laugh-out-loud novel that will speak to anyone who's struggled to be "honestly ____" in some part of their lives.

©2017 Bill Konigsberg (P)2017 Scholastic Inc.

What the critics say

"Dan Bittner's narration develops the unique personality of 17-year-old Ben, a secondary character in Konigsberg's earlier book Openly Straight.... In this follow-up, Bittner quickly reveals Ben's intelligence and introspection.... In a complex portrait, Bittner captures Ben's confused central conflict - is he gay, or straight, or is he only 'gay-for-Rafe'? Keeping the plot engaging, Bittner highlights Ben's search for his identity." ( AudioFile)

What listeners say about Honestly Ben

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Glad I purchased it!

I really enjoyed Openly Straight, and I was a bit reluctant to get Honesty Ben, as sequels are often a letdown. I was also concerned that it changed from Rafe’s perspective to Ben’s. I was pleasantly surprised.
I don’t want to post any spoilers, so I’ll just say it was great to see how things developed with the characters and to see more depth into Ben’s character, and to see how...magenta he is.
I’m sad to see that the author doesn’t plan a third book with these characters.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Just great.

I bought this right after finishing Openly Straight, I loved the story, the characters from Openly Straight, and was fully hyped to continue to follow the journey Bill Konigsberg wanted to tell. I had some anxiety about the novel following Ben instead of Rafe, but I trusted Konigsberg and bought it.

It was the right choice. Just as good as Openly Straight, this expanded the characters, had the same comedic energy, and allowed up to see into the mind of Ben, to see how he thinks, how he comprehends life.

This story was amazing, following after Openly Straight, It was great, the characters were portrayed amazingly, following the struggle, and emotions Ben has to go through following the events of the first novel was amazing. Highly recommend if you enjoyed Openly Straight.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love the characters!

Love the characters, they have realistic struggles about understanding and accepting their identities. Performance was great as well.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!