Get a free audiobook

House on Endless Waters

A Novel
Written by: Emuna Elon
Narrated by: Jonathan Davis
Length: 10 hrs and 9 mins

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

"Readers will find Elon’s lyrical prose haunting as she moves between past and present, constructing a heartbreaking, moving tale that brings understanding and acceptance." (Booklist)

"Extraordinary - a vibrant, page-turning family mystery." (Jennifer Cody Epstein, best-selling author of Wunderland)

"A story of love, loss, and yearning. Lyrically phrased and often powerfully visual...this deeply felt tale offers a rewarding meditation on survival." (Kirkus Reviews starred review)

In the tradition of The Invisible Bridge and The History of Love comes an exquisitely moving novel about a writer who discovers the truth about his mother’s wartime years in Amsterdam, unearthing a shocking family secret that becomes the subject of his magnum opus.

At the behest of his agent, renowned author Yoel Blum reluctantly agrees to visit his birthplace of Amsterdam to promote his books, despite promising his late mother that he would never return to that city. While touring the Jewish Historical Museum with his wife, Yoel stumbles upon footage portraying prewar Dutch Jewry and is astonished to see the youthful face of his beloved mother staring back at him, posing with his father, his older sister...and an infant he doesn’t recognize.

This unsettling discovery launches him into a fervent search for the truth, shining a light on Amsterdam’s dark wartime history - the underground networks that hid Jewish children away from danger and those who betrayed their own for the sake of survival. The deeper into the past Yoel digs to tell the story of his life, the better he understands his mother’s silence, and the more urgent the question that has unconsciously haunted him for a lifetime - Who am I? - becomes.

Part family mystery, part wartime drama, House on Endless Waters is an unforgettable meditation on identity, belonging, and the inextricable nature of past and present.

©2020 Emuna Elon (P)2020 Simon & Schuster Audio

More from the same

What members say
Average Customer Ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No reviews are available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Patty Deffenbaugh Karber
  • 2020-03-12

touched on a subject from the Holocaust I'd never

it was a little slow starting but I began to learn other things that happened during the holocaust. it also mentions the emotional trauma suffered by the survivors next generation. it backs up the professional opinion of a psychologist (also in an Audible book) who is a camp survivor. highly recommended for people wanting to be able to pass on to our next generations.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Npleaf
  • 2020-02-11

Interesting, worth the listen, but not great.

The story is compelling, but was often difficult to follow. I’m not sure if this is due to the narrator’s approach to the book or if it is simply a book that needs to be read so when it goes back and forth between the main character’s life and his writing the reader is clear. I intend to read the book because I’m sure I missed something in the listening. Some books need the touch and sight of the words in order to convey their true meaning.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • BarbieAlaska
  • 2020-04-05

thank you for this book

I am pleased with how you wrote this book. It kept me up all night!