Listen free for 30 days

Audible Membership

$14.95 a month

1 credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
The Plus Catalogue—listen all you want to thousands of Audible Originals, podcasts, and audiobooks.
$14.95 a month plus applicable taxes after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $38.59

Buy Now for $38.59

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Tax where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

In the tradition of Zadie Smith and Marlon James, a debut novel, set in Barbados, about four people confronting violence and love in a beachfront “paradise”. 

In Baxter’s Beach, Barbados, Lala’s grandmother Wilma tells the story of the one-armed sister, a cautionary tale about what happens to girls who disobey their mothers and go into the Baxter’s Tunnels. When she’s grown-up, Lala lives on the beach with her husband, Adan, a petty criminal with endless charisma whose thwarted burglary of one of the beach mansions sets off a chain of events with terrible consequences. 

A gunshot no one was meant to witness. A new mother whose baby is found lifeless on the beach. A woman torn between two worlds and incapacitated by grief. And two men, driven into the Tunnels by desperation and greed, who attempt a crime that may cost them their freedom - and their lives.

How the One-Armed Sister Sweeps Her House is an intimate and visceral portrayal of interconnected lives across race and class in a rapidly changing resort town, told by an astonishing new author of literary fiction. 

©2021 Cherie Jones (P)2021 HarperCollins Publishers Ltd.

What listeners say about How the One-Armed Sister Sweeps Her House

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    23
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Simply Riveting

Absolutely loved this harrowing tale of love, betrayal, secrets and lies. Warning, it is quite violent and dark. Narration is VERY authentic and believable. You are transported to Baxter's Beach and the underbelly of the Bajan paradise. Each character is on their own journey of self-actualization and freedom and the narratives crash together in surprising ways throughout this incredible novel.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Sad

Writing and narration were great but this book is extremely sad from start to end.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

UNSUITABLE NARRATOR

As a Barbadian woman, it was easy for me to recognise all the phrases that were read with the wrong inflections, causing the meaning to be lost in the delivery. This narrator was unsuitable for colouring a Barbadian story; she did not read with a Barbadian accent. I was so annoyed by the slow, smokey voice that I cannot even remember if the story itself had much merit. I quit this book before finishing. I would be better off with the printed copy.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

a story that sits with you

First let me say Danielle Vitalis’s narration is BESS. An actual bajan reading bajan literature! She had me spellbound from the first chapter. That being said, Cherie Jones wrote such a beautiful story, intertwining these characters and their lives so seamlessly. I cheered for them; I swelled with anger for them; and I felt bittersweet at the end. I really enjoyed it. It's one of those stories that I know will stick with me, and I see myself re-reading again.