Listen free for 30 days

  • Hush Little Girl

  • Detective Josie Quinn, Book 11
  • Written by: Lisa Regan
  • Narrated by: Kate Handford
  • Length: 10 hrs and 13 mins
  • 4.7 out of 5 stars (18 ratings)

1 credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
The Plus Catalogue—listen all you want to thousands of Audible Originals, podcasts, and audiobooks.
$14.95 a month plus applicable taxes after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Hush Little Girl cover art

Hush Little Girl

Written by: Lisa Regan
Narrated by: Kate Handford
Try for $0.00

$14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for $31.27

Buy Now for $31.27

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Tax where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Dressed in pajamas covered with stars, the little girl’s body is perfectly still, her arms folded neatly over her chest. The wildflowers decorating her hair scatter across the grass in the sharp breeze. Her lips are parted slightly, as if to whisper goodnight for the very last time....

When 12-year-old Holly Mitchell’s fragile little body is found on the steps of a mountainside church in the small town of Denton, a doll made from pine cones clasped tightly to her chest, Detective Josie Quinn rushes to attend the scene. She knows this little girl’s angelic face; her mother had offered Josie help when she’d needed it most. 

Searching the girl’s house, Josie is devastated to find that Holly’s mother is dead, too, and her little sister is missing. But why has this family home been stripped of all sharp objects? Re-tracing her steps, Josie finally finds a secret hiding place with Holly’s sister inside, terrified, but alive. Moments later, another doll made of twigs turns up.  

Certain the killer is close by, Josie holds the little girl tight and tries to coax answers from her, but it’s clear the pile of burnt photographs and letters found in the greenhouse is her only lead. No one is safe until Josie can figure out the dangerous secret that has escaped this remote family home. 

Just when Josie is finally closing in on the killer, the unthinkable happens, a tragedy that shakes her to her very core. And on the windshield of her car: a third wooden doll. Could stopping this twisted monster from taking more innocent lives come at the ultimate price for Josie?  

An absolutely gripping roller-coaster ride of a crime thriller from an Amazon, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal best-selling author. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Robert Dugoni, and Rachel Caine. 

©2021 Lisa Regan (P)2021 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about Hush Little Girl

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Nicely done.

A good story, a nice twist, satisfactory conclusion. Narration could have used a bit more variety but nicely done nonetheless

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Laurel Lynn
  • Laurel Lynn
  • 2021-05-10

Another good Josie story

I really enjoy the stories about Josie Quinn, but would someone please tell the narrator that produce is not pronounced PRAWDUCE, shone is not pronounced SHAWN, and it’s capillary, not ca-PILL-ary. I don’t know why, but that kind of mispronunciations drives me nuts when I’m listening to a book.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Stella Needs
  • Stella Needs
  • 2021-06-14

Tear jerker

Even more so than the usual Josie Quinn novel, each character is dealt a worse hand than the other. No happiness lies in these pages.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Artkeep
  • Artkeep
  • 2021-05-27

LOOKING FORWARD TO THE NEXT RELEASE!!!!!

What a ride this series has been! None better than Lisa Regan. Her writing talents are superior and the ability to bring life into characters are surpassed by none. Kate Handford has played a significant part in making this series successful. With that being said...I have one and only one negative remark to make in this particular story. WTH is "praduce"???? Last I checked, it was "produce". What a simple word and yet she said "praduce" every time. If you can overlook that word in the story, it was excellent.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for dana primm
  • dana primm
  • 2021-08-18

hush little girl is a must read

I absolutely love this book

I must admit so far I love every book in the detective Josie Quinn series
in my opinion Lisa Regan is an amazing author

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for horsestuff
  • horsestuff
  • 2021-07-10

Produce

Produce produce produce produce produce. Geez. Did nobody catch that ? Is this a dialect I don’t know about? Mispronunciation drove me crazy.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 2021-05-11

I got into this book quickly, didn't love end

I occasionally have a hard time getting into an audiobook (I listen while I work), but this one caught and kept my attention from the beginning. It was a great story, the end just fell a little flat for me. The reader was easy to listen to. Overall, I would recommend this book.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Reggie
  • Reggie
  • 2021-04-29

a wedding interrupted!

It’s finally here! Josie and Noah’s wedding day! Until the body of a young girl is discovered outside the wedding chapel...and not just any girl, but someone known to Josie! Now Josie, Noah and the team are hunting for the killer...and this one will surprise you. There’s also a huge loss for Josie’s circle...but no spoilers. Good story.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Shannon
  • Shannon
  • 2023-01-05

Very good pacing

The story itself is great! The story moves along nicely and it held my attention through the whole thing.

The narrator's mispronunciations continue to irritate me from book to book. Ugh!!!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Christine...
  • Christine...
  • 2022-12-28

produce

it was a really good story but it made me crazy that the narrator kept pronouncing produce wrong there is a long o but it was still good

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mitzi Looney
  • Mitzi Looney
  • 2022-12-14

Produce is pronounced with a long o!!!!

The narration was fabulous except for the continued mispronunciation of the the word produce (which was used many, many times).