Listen free for 30 days

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo + applicable taxes after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
I Wish You All the Best cover art

I Wish You All the Best

Written by: Mason Deaver
Narrated by: MW Cartozian Wilson
Try for $0.00

$14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for $24.55

Buy Now for $24.55

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Tax where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Perfect for fans of Adam Silvera and Becky Albertalli, Mason Deaver's groundbreaking debut will rip your heart out before showing you how to heal from tragedy and celebrate life in the process. 

When Ben De Backer comes out to their parents as nonbinary, they're thrown out of their house and forced to move in with their estranged older sister, Hannah, and her husband, Thomas, whom Ben has never even met. Struggling with an anxiety disorder compounded by their parents' rejection, they come out only to Hannah, Thomas, and their therapist and try to keep a low profile in a new school. 

But Ben's attempts to survive the last half of senior year unnoticed are thwarted when Nathan Allan, a funny and charismatic student, decides to take Ben under his wing. As Ben and Nathan's friendship grows, their feelings for each other begin to change, and what started as a disastrous turn of events looks like it might just be a chance to start a happier new life. 

At turns heartbreaking and joyous, I Wish You All the Best is both a celebration of life, friendship, and love, and a shining example of hope in the face of adversity.

©2019 Mason Deaver (P)2019 Scholastic Inc.

More from the same

What listeners say about I Wish You All the Best

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    28
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    27
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    24
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Sadder Than I Thought

This was such a great story of family and finding yourself. I'm glad this wasn't super romance heavy because I think Ben's relationship with Hannah was more important than anything else we could have seen. I loved watching them come together as a family unit. But I did think this dragged a bit at times and I found myself not as into it as I would have hoped.

Ben was a fantastic main character and I liked seeing their journey. I appreciated getting a view into a life experience I've never had and I loved watching Ben come to terms with themself and the world around them. I loved being in Ben's mind and seeing how everything came together.

I liked the supporting cast of characters at the high school but thought that they were a little underdeveloped. Because this story focused so heavily on family, it meant the friendship part wasn't as developed. Sure, we saw a lot of Nathan (who was great!) but everyone else is a blur in my mind - and I just finished this book about 10 minutes ago.

I did really like it though, and would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a contemporary novel. But it is sadder than I anticipated it would be, and there is a lot of heavier stuff in this than you might anticipate from this. That doesn't mean there weren't shining moments and really great stuff! Just go into it knowing that you may be kinda sad while reading, even with the hope.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

incredible

this is at least the third time I've gone through this book, twice on paper and once on audible. it is an incredible book, the story is amazing, the way non-binarity is explained makes the reader (if non-binary themselves) feel understood, well-portrayed and seen. I've even recommended this book to people around me to help them understand what being non-binary is/ feels like. theres also the aspect of the family dynamic that is so well approached, mostly bewtween the siblings navigating through their own parental trauma and how if affected/affects their relationship. This book is entertaining, emotional, funny, interesting, well written, a great learning tool, just overall incredible.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Incredible!

This book was such a good story of self realization and working through things, it was an amazing read and tought me so much about myself.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Sweet YA story

I really enjoyed the story of Ben. They were kind of adorable in their inability to catch on to Nathan's obvious flirting too.
I also liked that the story did a good job of educating readers without it feeling preachy or forced.
I wasn't the biggest fan of the narrator though. MW Cartozian Wilson's voice was really pleasant to listen to and I felt it fit the character well. However, I generally prefer narrators that differentiate between characters voices rather than read in monotone. At times it did feel a little choppy.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

beautiful story

For someone not knowing much about the trans, non-gender, etc. community this was a great introduction to becoming somewhat educated on the topic. A beautiful story of friendship love and acceptance. I very much recommend this book.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!