Listen free for 30 days

  • In Darkness, Look for Stars

  • Written by: Clara Benson
  • Narrated by: Daphne Kouma
  • Length: 13 hrs and 29 mins
  • 5.0 out of 5 stars (1 rating)
Offer ends February 21st, 2024 11:59PM ET.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo + applicable taxes after 4 months. Cancel anytime.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo + applicable taxes after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
In Darkness, Look for Stars cover art

In Darkness, Look for Stars

Written by: Clara Benson
Narrated by: Daphne Kouma
Get this deal Try for $0.00

$14.95/mo. after 4 months. Cancel anytime. Offer ends February 21st, 2024 11:59PM ET.

$14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for $31.27

Buy Now for $31.27

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Tax where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Paris, 1941: Going against her mother’s orders, spirited Maggie devotes herself to the Resistance. Her life is a whirlwind of forged passports and secret midnight runs, helping Jews escape. Much to her high-society mother’s disapproval, she has fallen in love with Emil, a Jewish Resistance fighter who is wanted by the Nazis. 

The city is growing more dangerous by the day, with signs proclaiming "No Jews" posted everywhere in the mazelike streets and people dragged away in handcuffs. The forbidden lovers are forced to say good-bye - Emil going underground to escape capture. 

Meanwhile, Maggie’s sister, Cecilia, is hundreds of miles away, where the realities of war are yet to hit the serenity of the South of France. Innocent and shy Cecilia is shocked to the core when Emil turns up, seeking refuge. Her sheltered life turned upside down, Cecilia is thrown into the world of the Resistance, all the while sending coded letters to her sister, who every day awaits news of her fiancé. 

But with the Nazis closing in on them, their lives soon hang in the balance. Both sisters must decide where their loyalties lie - and how far they are willing to go to save themselves and one another. 

An evocative, riveting, and stirring tale about the tragic realities of war, the fine line between loyalty and lies, and the power of love, even in the darkest of times. Fans of The Nightingale, The Letter, and All the Light We Cannot See will be spellbound by this magnificent historical novel.

©2020 Clara Benson (P)2020 Bookouture

What listeners say about In Darkness, Look for Stars

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No reviews are available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for paula wright
  • paula wright
  • 2020-05-10

Very different type of story.

When first listening to this book I almost returned it. I have listened to many ww11 stories that included modern day generation story too. But this story was 5 yrs after the war and entirely different. So glad I didn’t turn it in. As the story unfolded I was torn in several directions. Who to believe? Whose side am I on ? A little bit of psychological thriller as well as historic ww11 and the resistance. Hang in there now for a great listen

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

38 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ann Wieseke
  • Ann Wieseke
  • 2020-10-11

Review Darkness, Look for Stars

Excellent! I have read much about French and Dutch resistance and Denmark’s saving their citizen and I found this book right on target. Familiar actions, names, places. Wanted to read in one sitting, kept my attention throughout.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

11 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jill
  • Jill
  • 2020-06-30

Excellent narration, good story

Good story line. Really enjoyed the narration. This is my favorite genre and I enjoyed this particular story line that bounced back and forth before and after the war.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2020-12-11

I don’t usually write reviews but...

I just did not care for this story. I’m a lover of all things historical fiction, however this book focused so much more on the family and romantic relationships than it did on the historical events of the time. The performance was fine but I kept checking how long until the story was over.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jasper Van Wyk
  • Jasper Van Wyk
  • 2020-09-20

Not that great

Looongest book ever. Dragged. And dragged some more. I was invested to see what happened so I finished it. But, bless it. On and on it went. Narration was fantastic. Only good thing about this book. Save your money and skip this.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tiffany R.
  • Tiffany R.
  • 2022-10-10

What the meth is wrong with these sociopaths?

WWII historical fiction is my favorite and most read genre. I also am a musician with a music degree. So a story set in WWII about a family of musicians should have been amazing for me. But NO. This entire book is just a bunch of pretentious, spoiled sociopaths whining about each other and their music. I HATE THEM. I hated this book. And how was Maggie so absolutely stupid as to tell a 13 year old, bratty, German collaborator the plans of her resistance cell? And then have the audacity to be shocked at the outcome? What was wrong with these idiots?

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lisa C.
  • Lisa C.
  • 2022-01-03

What a book!

You will thoroughly enjoy this book. It twists, it turns, it engages you, it brings smiles and a few tears. Couldn’t stop listening and a bit sad it over. But that’s always the case. Don’t hesitate.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Carolyn R. Price
  • Carolyn R. Price
  • 2021-08-30

Great Read

Loved the story and the narrator. Will find read more books by Clara Benson.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for M. Jones
  • M. Jones
  • 2023-07-09

An enjoyable historical fiction read!

The story kept me engaged and entertained. Characters were diverse & well developed. It was good because it had heartbreaking moments but was not filled with suffering for an end of WWII storyline.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Elissa Harrod
  • Elissa Harrod
  • 2023-05-16

Hooked from the start

I was drawn in from chapter one all the way through to the end. Amazing book, excellent narration, spectacular story line. Best book I have listened to!!!!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!