Listen free for 30 days

  • Just Last Night

  • A Novel
  • Written by: Mhairi McFarlane
  • Narrated by: Maya Saroya
  • Length: 10 hrs and 46 mins
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars (131 ratings)

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo + applicable taxes after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Just Last Night cover art

Just Last Night

Written by: Mhairi McFarlane
Narrated by: Maya Saroya
Try for $0.00

$14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy Now for $40.01

Buy Now for $40.01

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Tax where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

"I cannot remember the last book I loved as much... a luminous, heart-achingly beautiful love letter to friendship. Knockout!" (Josie Silver, New York Times best-selling author)

International best-seller Mhairi McFarlane explores lifelong friendships, long-buried secrets, and unexpected love in a heartfelt, emotional new novel, perfect for fans of Evvie Drake Starts Over, The Two Lives of Lydia Bird, or In Five Years.

Eve, Justin, Susie, and Ed have been friends since they were teenagers. Now in their thirties, the four are as close as ever, Thursday night bar trivia is sacred, and Eve is still secretly in love with Ed. Maybe she should have moved on by now, but she can’t stop thinking about what could have been. And she knows Ed still thinks about it, too. 

But then, in an instant, their lives are changed forever.

In the aftermath, Eve’s world is upended. As stunning secrets are revealed, she begins to wonder if she really knew her friends as well as she thought. And when someone from the past comes back into her life, Eve’s future veers in a surprising new direction....

They say every love story starts with a single moment. What if it was just last night?

"[A] book I almost wish I’d written, except that would have robbed me of the intense joy of reading it... the kind of novel that will have you putting everything else on hold so you can keep turning pages until you reach its sparkling, brilliant end.” (Emily Henry, number-one New York Times best-selling author of People We Meet on Vacation)

©2021 Mhairi McFarlane (P)2021 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about Just Last Night

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    86
  • 4 Stars
    27
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    83
  • 4 Stars
    21
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    67
  • 4 Stars
    26
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Heavy but heart warming

I really enjoyed this book. It is so smart, raw, and dives into the complexity of life and relationships.
TRIGGER WARNING: This book deals with in-depth grief and the trauma of it for the first half of the book. I felt it’s rawness deeply and suggest caution if you’re in a place of trauma or grief at this time.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Tragic

I fully expected this to be a light and happy story. I definitely didn’t expect the dark sadness of this book. I was happy with the ending and I felt the characters found peace in the end. I kept listening because I paid for it but I almost stopped. I wish I had been warned about the sadness. I listen to books for the lighthearted happiness in a story, not real life tragedy. I know everyone likes something different though.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Complex, but not too Complex

I appreciated the writing, story telling and performance was well done.
I appreciated the building of characters as well as the unexpected/but expected ending.

A great, easy read that you can sink into

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • MDF
  • 2022-01-30

Worth every minute

If you’ve ever lost someone this close to you, if you’ve ever grieved, the first part will be a tough listen. Because the author knows grief and describes it perfectly. But, the process of watching Eve come through it is worth every memory of what your own grief felt like. Because you also realize you also came through your own.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent story

I was expecting a romance story but this book was so much more. This book had so many emotions. Eve was a great character who grew and changed so much. Loved it all.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not my cup of tea

I just couldn’t relate to any of the characters. Just couldn’t get into it. Returning this one - DNF at 20%

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Different and special

I really enjoyed this book. I hate romance novels.. this was a love story that was so much more. I liked hearing about deep grief and knowing that’s really how it would feel. The writing was incredible. The narration was good. I definitely recommend this book.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Not for me

Loved the first book I read by this author but really struggled to get through this one.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it

Both the book and the performance are excellent. I will keep listening to more books by the author.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

excellent

wonderfully written, complex, not what I was expecting but once I started I couldn't stop listening!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!