Get a free audiobook

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

He looked down at the little girl, sleeping peacefully, her arms wrapped around a teddy bear. He knew he was the only one who could save her. He could let her sleep forever.

An eight-year-old girl, Chelsea Compton, is missing in Pine Valley, California, and for Detective Katie Scott it’s a cruel reminder of the friend who disappeared from summer camp 20 years ago. Unable to shake the memories, Katie vows she won’t rest until she discovers what happened to Chelsea.

But as Katie starts to investigate, the case reveals itself to be much bigger and more shocking than she feared. Hidden deep in the forest she unearths a makeshift cemetery: a row of graves, each with a brightly colored teddy bear.

Katie links the graves to a stack of missing-persons cases involving young girls - finding a pattern no one else has managed to see. Someone in Pine Valley has been taking the town’s daughters for years, and Katie is the only one who can stop them.

And then another little girl goes missing, snatched from the park near her home.

Katie’s still haunted by the friend she failed to protect, and she’ll do anything to stop the killer striking again - but can she find the little girl before it’s too late?

Compulsive and gripping crime fiction for fans of Lisa Regan, Rachel Caine, and Melinda Leigh. Katie Scott’s first case will have you on the edge of your seat and gasping with shock.

©2019 Jennifer Chase (P)2019 Bookouture

What listeners say about Little Girls Sleeping: An absolutely gripping crime thriller

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No reviews are available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Sharon Town
  • 2019-11-21

Disappointing

Feel misled by the title as it was more about the main character Katie's issues than "an absolutely gripping crime thriller." I found it unbelievable and unrealistic from finding the body to the final chapter and grew weary of Katie and her issues very quickly in. Wouldn't recommend it.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Charles Jeffrey
  • 2019-07-01

A tortuous experience

Unnecessary adverbs and adjectives abound. Even a good narrator couldn’t fix this story and its wooden characters.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • ab
  • 2020-10-29

eh

it was an okay story. the narrator tries to do multiple voices that she really can't pull off so it makes it a little bit annoying but some of the happenings was interesting!.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Olivia Zen
  • 2020-10-13

Very disappointed

I've left one other bad review in the many years I've had audible. And I'm only leaving a review because I feel as though I got duped into getting this book because I saw so many positive reviews, and need to weigh in on it to help balance it out and help someone else not waste their money. This book was just such a painstaking challenge to finish. It lacked creativity, was 100% predictable, the descriptions of things and thought processes of the characters were detailed more like a high school descriptive essay rather than a novel. It gave it a very 'cheesy' feel, and I kept thinking- who actually uses these words when they are thinking to themselves, or describing events, surroundings, etc?? It was just so rigid. And weird. try Andrew Mayne if you like this genre and want some down to earth, relatable material.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • bchip
  • 2020-11-23

Glad it was free

The narrator is very flat. I obviously had to finish it once I started listening but the characters were so uninteresting and things happened very unnaturally. I considered listening to the next book but found it is also narrated by the same women so I passed.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Reggie
  • 2020-10-24

Enjoyable thriller

Katie Scott has returned from Afghanistan after being injured and suffering from PTSD. She is thrilled to be met by her uncle and her K9, Cisco. As Katie gets acclimated to life as a civilian, she starts working at the Sheriff’s office. In spite of opposition from the detectives, Katie begins her own search for a missing girl ...and discovers a row of coffins of missing girls from over a decade. Katie and her K9 are on the hunt for a serial killer! Enjoyable thriller. Brings to light PTSD and a greater appreciation for the military.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Liz
  • 2020-05-31

Good story

This book had a good story line but the narrator spoke very fast in the narration. Her character voices were good and they weren't too fast but everything else she rushed through and made the listening difficult at times when I would rather have had a relaxing listen.