Get a free audiobook

$14.95/month + applicable taxes after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

What happens when the person you find most impossible becomes impossible to resist? The Hating Game meets The West Wing in this hilarious across-the-aisle romantic comedy debut about America’s least likely couple.

There's just one thing standing between liberal Senate staffer Kate Adams and passage of the landmark legislation she's been fighting for all year: Ben Mackenzie, intimidating gatekeeper for one of DC's most powerful conservative senators. After Kate and Ben lock horns in a meet-not-so-cute, they vow to take each other down - by any means necessary.

Their ensuing power struggle gives new meaning to the term office politics: prank mail, spying, bets gone awry - nothing’s off limits in their battle of wills. She thinks he’s arrogant (and doesn't deserve those gorgeous green eyes). He thinks she's too quick to judge (and irresistibly distracting). But as their endless game of one-upmanship becomes Kate's favorite part of the day, she starts to wonder if her feelings for Ben are closer to attraction than animosity...and maybe their sparring is flirting. When Kate realizes there's more to Ben than meets the eye, she's forced to confront her biggest fear: In her sworn enemy, she may have found her perfect match.

Perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Jasmine Guillory, Meet You in the Middle is a modern, heartfelt and hopeful romance that hilariously explores what happens when you fall in love with your political polar opposite.

©2020 Devon Daniels (P)2020 Penguin Audio

What listeners say about Meet You in the Middle

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No reviews are available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Cassie B.
  • 2021-03-24

Timely

I loved the characters, I loved the way the different political parties were portrayed. Using a sense of humor and compromise in today’s environment is refreshing, humorous, clarifying, and very much needed. Their relationship was entertaining, Intriguing and deliciously descriptive. I think adults of all ages would enjoy this book!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Janice F.
  • 2021-02-26

meet in the middle

This is a great story and I laughed some much. Politic should never stand in the way of love.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • S. Laplante
  • 2021-06-17

Nicely done!

Loved the story line. Classic chick lit novel perfect for summer! The narrator Brittany Presley was fantastic. Can’t wait to read more novels narrated by her as well.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Jo
  • 2021-06-01

Overall Not Good

I finished listening to this book, but if I knew how bleh it was, I wouldn't have started reading it. It's entertaining enough, but the characters don't act like real real people, and I thought it had a "man writing women" problem until I found out the author is a woman. I also thought the main character was supposed to start unlikable and grow as a person, but no, the main character really is just that unlikeable.
However, the main issue I have is that completely valid reasons to be hesitant about a relationship were treated as if having an issue with them was a character flaw to overcome, instead of a valid concern. If you're really into politics, this is definitely not the book I'd recommend.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • AlexS
  • 2021-04-29

Fan Fiction

Ok, so it’s not that I didn’t like this book— It was ok— but it is so obviously fan fiction based on The Hating Game. Same premise (enemies at work), same conflicts (work competitors/secret relationship/petty jealousies), same “getting to know each other” scenes where the cedar-scented hunk thoughtfully holds the narrator’s hair while she vomits. And the male protagonist is the same sensitive, frustrated, restrained man who pines for the perky girl. Even the cover art is a knock-off. The language, vocabulary, plot, dialogue— it’s all a less intelligent, less witty, lower quality version of The Hating Game. It drove me crazy. I hope Sally Thorne is getting a share of the royalties. If you loved The Hating Game, proceed at your own risk.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Allyson
  • 2021-04-20

perfect for the crazy bipartisan times we are living

I love everything about this book!
wonderful story, really developed characters that you relate to in route four. The narration is fantastic, and in a time where we are so divisive over politics, this was a breath of fresh air and a reminder that we all need to come back to center. Cannot wait to read another one of her books, and I hope there is a follow up to this story

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2021-04-17

Timely

This book by Devon Daniels, is very appropriate for the issues our nation is struggling with. I like the way the author hides her real purpose of unity for our country, within a love story. A good love story.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Trisha R. Hartley
  • 2021-04-10

Great Listen!

What a great book! Once I started listening I couldn’t stop. The performance was really good.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • brian
  • 2021-02-10

A political romantic comedy.

For her first novel, not bad. Brittany does it again. Her funniest bits are narrating a drunk Kate. Hilarious. I'll wait for more novels from Devon.