Get a free audiobook

Mexican Gothic

Written by: Silvia Moreno-Garcia
Narrated by: Frankie Corzo
Length: 10 hrs and 39 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (3 ratings)

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

An isolated mansion. A chillingly charismatic artistocrat. And a brave socialite drawn to expose their treacherous secrets....

From the author of Gods of Jade and Shadow comes "a terrifying twist on classic gothic horror" (Kirkus Reviews) set in glamorous 1950s Mexico - "fans of classic novels like Jane Eyre and Rebecca are in for a suspenseful treat" (PopSugar).

After receiving a frantic letter from her newlywed cousin begging for someone to save her from a mysterious doom, Noemí Taboada heads to High Place, a distant house in the Mexican countryside. She’s not sure what she will find - her cousin’s husband, a handsome Englishman, is a stranger, and Noemí knows little about the region. 

Noemí is also an unlikely rescuer: She’s a glamorous debutante, and her chic gowns and perfect red lipstick are more suited for cocktail parties than amateur sleuthing. But she’s also tough and smart, with an indomitable will, and she is not afraid: not of her cousin’s new husband, who is both menacing and alluring; not of his father, the ancient patriarch who seems to be fascinated by Noemí; and not even of the house itself, which begins to invade Noemi’s dreams with visions of blood and doom. 

Her only ally in this inhospitable abode is the family’s youngest son. Shy and gentle, he seems to want to help Noemí but might also be hiding dark knowledge of his family’s past. For there are many secrets behind the walls of High Place. The family’s once colossal wealth and faded mining empire kept them from prying eyes, but as Noemí digs deeper she unearths stories of violence and madness. 

And Noemí, mesmerized by the terrifying yet seductive world of High Place, may soon find it impossible to ever leave this enigmatic house behind. 

“A shiver-inducing tale combining touches of Northanger Abbey with bits of the Gormenghast trilogy...to create a fascinating atmosphere of dark dreams and intrigue.” (Booklist)

©2020 Silvia Moreno-Garcia (P)2020 Random House Audio
What members say
Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

weird but great

Well, that got weird.
This was a lot, and I enjoyed it. A bit gothic, a bit sci-fi (or maybe eco-horror?), it was over-the-top and frequently disgusting. The plot was strange and unpredictable, most of the characters completely hateful (ooh, they made me mad), and a sympathetic main character. The writing was occasionally clunky but engaging. The ending was satisfying. I might have to check out more from the author.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jennie Watters
  • 2020-07-03

Guillermo del Toro should direct the film

Director Guillermo del Toro (Pan's Labyrinth, Crimson Peak) should buy the rights and give this story the lavish movie adaptation it deserves. Silvia Moreno-Garcia has created a masterful period mystery with style, horror and compelling characters. Set in 1950s Mexico, we first meet ambitious, outgoing and high class socialite Noemí in her element of parties and flirtation. However, she is soon swept off to visit her cousin, a newlywed who lives in a crumbling Victorian mansion with oppressive rules and unfriendly relatives. Poor Catalina is practically a prisoner in her own home, but it seems to Noemí that there is more than a controlling husband to contend with at "High Place" (the name of the estate.) Perhaps something supernatural lurks, perhaps something even more terrifying than ghosts...

Additional comments: This book starts slow but builds to a spectacular, heart-thumping climax. Don't listen to it at night if you are trying to get any sleep! I made that mistake and was up all night. At first, I wasn't too keen on the narrator but she really grew on me and by the end of the book I liked her a great deal.

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Maggie
  • 2020-07-02

Exceeded All Expectations

Loved every thing about this book. Vivid descriptions paired with mystery, action, romance, and horror. I was intrigued because it was recommended for fans of Rebecca and Jane Eyre, both of which are too 5 favorites, so my expectations were very high. My expectations were not only met but completely blown out of the water. I loved this Mexican Gothic tale and will probably listen to it again very soon.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Harley
  • 2020-07-02

amazing story

this story had one of the best slow burns ever and the climax is glorious

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Gishwhes
  • 2020-07-02

Me encanto!

Finished this book in 2 days. loved the angsty story with the Mexico backdrop. i've never read/heard a story like this.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jørgen Laursen
  • 2020-07-04

Unputdownable

Imagine a cross between Rebecca, Invasion of the Body Snatchers, Fifty Shades of Grey and The Girl with All the Gifts written by Stephen King by way of Angela Carter on mescaline ... and you begin to approach the sheer brilliance of this novel. It is utterly spellbinding and completely unputdownable. The author, Silvia Moreno-Garcia, just keeps ratcheting up the suspense, landing blow after blow on the unsuspecting reader as she takes the plot off in wildly unexpected directions, pulling the rug away from under us.

I was gobsmacked. Gobsmacked and utterly riveted. An 𝒆𝒙𝒄𝒆𝒍𝒍𝒆𝒏𝒕 thriller! ☺

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • eve
  • 2020-07-04

Slow Burn Horror

Seventy percent of this book was following a flighty socialite flirting for favors, shuddering in passions, in fears, in malaise, and choking on shame - it was boring.

Then it was properly good. This would have been best as a novella for the anthology Fungi.

Yes, I see all of the classics she pulled from, and even a touch of The Fountain (2006), a movie I never understood but that still had me in tears.

But I never liked Noemí Taboada so it with great reluctance I yield four stars.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Rebecca reads
  • 2020-07-06

Such a good story

This story lived up to its title. I thoroughly enjoyed the remembrances of gothic novels and English fairy tales while listening to this book. This story had me guessing until the end what the scope of the gothic-ly horrible crimes would be.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ZWilson
  • 2020-07-05

Excellent Gothic Horror

Rebecca+The Yellow Wallpaper+Crimson Peak
So, so good!
I pre-ordered in October and worth the wait!
Evocative and moody with a helluva twist

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Christy
  • 2020-07-04

Excellent!

Creepy, evil, and so ridiculously good! One of the best I have read this year

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • asya
  • 2020-07-07

Lovely disaster

I love the mental games of this book. But it slightly left me in the dark a bit too long. I started to lose interest in the middle but it started to pick up again and had me on my seat! I love the ending and I would def buy a hardback copy to keep on my shelves. This book is truly worth re reading. Representation is appreciated now of days. The character we’re very fleshed out as well. This book gave me the shining vibes mixed with some hivemind aspect seen through the screen of Tim burton. This book definitely a fall read as well!