Get a free audiobook

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

A room with a view...to murder

June 1933. Independent, young Kitty Underhay has been left in charge of her family’s hotel, The Dolphin, on the tranquil English coast. She’s expecting her days at the bustling resort to be filled with comfortable chatter with chambermaids as they polish the mahogany desks and glittering candelabras of the elegant foyer. Everything must be perfect for the arrival of a glamorous jazz singer from Chicago and a masked ball that will be the cultural highlight of the season.

But when several rooms are broken into and searched, including Kitty’s own, she quickly realizes that something out of the ordinary is afoot at the hotel. Soon, rumors are flying in the cozy town that someone is on the hunt for a stolen ruby. A ruby that Kitty’s mother may well have possessed when she herself went missing during the Great War. And when the break-ins are followed by a series of attacks and murders, including of the town’s former mayoress, it seems the perpetrator will stop at nothing to find it.

Aided by ex-army captain Matthew Bryant, the Dolphin’s new security officer, Kitty is determined to decipher this mystery and preserve not only the reputation of her hotel, but also the lives of her guests. Is there a cold-blooded killer under her own roof? And what connects the missing jewel to the mystery from Kitty’s own past?

A classic murder mystery! Fans of Agatha Christie, Elizabeth Edmondson, and T. E. Kinsey will love this whodunit.

©2019 Helena Dixon (P)2019 Bookouture

What listeners say about Murder at the Dolphin Hotel: A Gripping Cozy Historical Mystery

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not a favourite

The story was good, but I just don't like how womenare viewed durinf that period and this writer made it of so apparent. Just not my cup of tea..

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Dylan
  • 2020-04-06

Very Good Start

For a while I have been looking for a perfect combination of story, likeable characters and narrator. I have been a huge fan of The Royal Spyness series by Rhys Bowen which have given me hour upon hour of joy. However, with the declining quality in story and new narrator I have found I needed something more. I really have battled to get that perfect combo and I feel this series can fulfil my appetite. For starters Alex Tregear sounds like a wonderful narrator. She has the ability to create uniqueness of the characters and does justice to the male voices. I feel she has the ability to create warmth and depth of character. Kitty is a really likeable main character. She isn't helpless, she is smart and can survive without a man. Good for her :) The story is just what people would expect from a cozy mystery. It's not going to be an Agatha Christie. It should be a bit looser on the mystery. But overall I do feel the mystery is pretty solid for a cozy mystery. Looking forward to buying book 2 and waiting eagerly for book 3.

29 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Meg
  • 2020-01-05

Loved it!

I can't think of any complaints, except that number 2 isn't already out! I liked that the characters were adults and didn't have the immature drama you find in YA novels. At the same time, there wasn't bad language, sex scenes, etc. I enjoyed the time period and mystery. For me it was just fun and I look forward to the sequel!

14 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • John S.
  • 2020-01-14

One serious flaw

Otherwise, it wasn't a bad start to a new series. A character described as a black Chicago native shouldn't sound like a white woman from NC! British narrator failed on how to handle that; I had to keep reminding myself the woman wasn't white.

13 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Wild Horses Flying
  • 2020-02-09

The story's buried in conjecture

There are some nice scene descriptions of nature and rooms and interesting plot and characters introduced but I think Ms. Dixon needs to learn how to give body to her plot. She fills it out with painfully repetitious, fretful self-questions of the characters about what options they have in every situation and the main characters' excessive and premature conjecturing as to WHO might have done the bad things before the story has even hardly gotten going - these completely block the flow of the story. I was disappointed because the plot, description and characters showed such promise.

12 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Swissmiss
  • 2020-02-08

Fun English cozy mystery

If you’re looking for a light, fun, typically English cozy mystery, you’ll enjoy this book. Cute story, well performed. Not great literature, but it’s not meant to be. Entertaining and enjoyable.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • katnel
  • 2020-01-23

A really good read with excellent narration!

I thought this was a very well written book, especially for the first one the author has done, at least for this series. The characters were well developed, especially the two main personalitids. I I found it to be fast paced and suspenseful and it had an exciting ending. I look forward to the next book, but hope the main couple's relationship evolves at a faster pace. The narrator did a wonderful job with all the different characters and made you feel like you were watching a play. Her voice is really easy to listen to, as well. I would highly recommend this book and look forward to the next in the series!

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Curious
  • 2020-02-13

Well Pleased

It was a delight to find a new cosy mystery series that was interesting without being gushy. Well plotted with characters one is pleased to care about enough to want to know more about.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Barbara D Payne
  • 2020-02-10

A pleasant listen.

The storyline was light and interesting and had enough twists and turns to be engaging. Sometimes things fell into place a bit too neatly, a bit contrived. The narration was very good. The reader’s voice was pleasant and she conveyed the characters quite well. I’d listen to other books she narrates. This is a good book to use as filler between darker, more complex stories.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Stacey R. Gibbs
  • 2020-02-27

Fun book

I loved this book 📖. They story line was very good and kept me interested the whole way through until the end.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • RedAunt
  • 2020-02-18

Good cozy read

There are a few inconsistencies that should have been caught in editing: Kitty was drinking gin, but a sentence or two later there was reference to her wine glass, and then her gin; another instance was placing her bible in the bedside table where she always kept it, but she wasn't in her own room. Switching from 'father' suddenly to 'papa' was disconcerting and seemed contrived. Alex Tregear did a great job with the narration.

3 people found this helpful