Listen free for 30 days

Audible Membership

$14.95 a month

1 credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
The Plus Catalogue—listen all you want to thousands of Audible Originals, podcasts, and audiobooks.
$14.95 a month plus applicable taxes after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $25.00

Buy Now for $25.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Tax where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

’Till death do us part may come sooner than they thought....

The year 1934. Kitty Underhay steps out of the battered Rolls Royce and onto the graveled driveway of Thurscomb Castle in deepest Yorkshire. She’s honored to be a bridesmaid at her cousin Lucy’s wedding to the reluctant Lord Rupert Woodcomb, but as family and friends gather for welcome drinks, Kitty dodges intrusive questions about her own marital status by taking a stroll about the castle grounds. As she passes through the manicured gardens, a fatal shot rings out....

The valet, Evans, is dead. And Kitty can’t help but notice how rattled the man standing next to him seems. Could Rupert’s best man, The Right Honorable Alexander "Sandy" Galsworthy, believe the speeding bullet was meant for him?

When she discovers that Sandy has been receiving blackmail notes, Kitty suspects that one of the assembled guests has plans to make good on their threats. The local constabulary won’t act on Kitty’s hunch, so, busy with her bridesmaid’s duties, she asks her beau, ex-army captain Matthew Bryant, to help.

The ceremony passes without a hitch. But when an anxious Sandy slips away during the dancing, Matt follows, only to make a hideous discovery: Sandy is dead, flattened on the terrace by some falling masonry.

Now the duo are sure that there is a murderer within the castle walls. But can they untangle Sandy’s final hours and catch this killer before they strike again, or will the wedding bells be replaced by a death knell for Kitty herself?

A completely charming cozy historical Golden Age murder mystery! Perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, T.E. Kinsey, and Lee Strauss. 

The Miss Underhay Mystery series was previously narrated by Alex Tregear, who is now beginning a new adventure as she trains to be an occupational therapist. 

©2021 Helena Dixon (P)2022 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about Murder at the Wedding

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No reviews are available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Sherri L Snyder
  • 2021-10-06

Narrator change

What happened to Alex Tregear? I’ve had to shut the book off twice because I cannot stand the new narration! I will have to try a third time because I’ve always enjoyed this series. I’m disappointed.

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Rebecca mosseri
  • 2021-10-27

great story but I don't favor the narrator at all.

please bring back Alex Tregear. This narrator is too monotone- no emotion in her voice. Even in Kitty's most dire moments, I felt she was guiding me through an owner's manual of rebuilding an engine, just wooden and stiff. And what happened to Kitty? I hardly recognized her. She went from a sweet, young and endearing character to an old, prudish stuffshirt. Wonderful story but please bring back the original narrator.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Ayesha Zainal
  • 2021-10-17

Narrator change should be noted

I love this series, and after 6 books I got accustomed to hearing each character and their uniqueness expressed by the narrator. But I was surprised to find that the narrator for book 7 changed, and found it hard at some points to distinguish each character from the other. I really hope the narration will get better with next books or else bring the old narrator back; either way; Audible should put a warning when narrators of long series change.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • AB
  • 2021-10-16

New narrator not neat

Removing from library, dnf. New narrator too snobby and raspy for the Kitty I know.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Chris r.
  • 2021-10-20

Give us back the narrator

So disappointing with the voices of the characters. They are very annoying. Don’t think I’ll listen anymore which is too bad because I’ve loved the series.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • April
  • 2021-10-09

Not the same with the new narrator

Very good story like the previous books but I have to say a I’m not happy with changing the narrator. Overall it’s okay but to my ear there is very little distinction between the male characters and she frequently makes Alice sound like a 40 year old cleaning woman rather than a 16 year old ladies maid from a fine hotel. Finally the accents used for the Americans are almost almost insulting. Not everyone from this country has a southern or Texan drawl.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Sandy Atkinson
  • 2021-10-28

good but disappointed

The story was good. However I'm very disappointed that the narrator is narrator is different than the last 7 books. It really changes the entire layout. She talked way too fast and just didn't have the same personality that I have come to love in all of that series.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Karen Herfurth
  • 2021-10-21

Disappointed

The previous reader was so much better. This one really didn’t do the characters justice. So disappointing.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Emily
  • 2021-11-13

New Narrator :(

The new narrator makes Kitty older and more posh/snobby sounding and made her grandmother sound like she's on death's door. It's another great story so I don't want to rate it too low, but the change in narrator was really disappointing.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jean
  • 2021-10-10

The writer had me guessing.....

I am sure there are others who could guess the "Who did it", but it eluded me!

3 people found this helpful