Get a free audiobook

Murder on Thames

Cherringham. A Cosy Crime Series - Mystery Shorts 1
Narrated by: Neil Dudgeon
Length: 2 hrs and 47 mins
4 out of 5 stars (6 ratings)

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Cherringham - a quiet town in the Cotswolds. Nothing ever happens there, or so it seems - until one morning a woman's body is found in the river. A terrible accident, according to the police. But is this true? Sarah believes there must be more to it. In Jack, a former NYPD homicide detective, she finds a partner who is willing to start investigating with her. They soon find out that things are not as clear as the police want them to be ... This first - of many cases brings Sarah and Jack together in an unlikely partnership.

Cherringham is a serial novel à la Charles Dickens, with a new audio episode released every two weeks. Set in the sleepy English village of Cherringham, the detective series brings together an unlikely sleuthing duo: English web designer Sarah and American ex-cop Jack. Thrilling and deadly - but with a spot of tea - it's like Rosamunde Pilcher meets Inspector Barnaby.

Each of the self-contained episodes is a quick listen for the morning commute, while waiting for the doctor, or when curling up with a hot cuppa. For fans of Agatha Christie's Miss Marple series, Lilian Jackson Braun's "The Cat Who" series, Caroline Graham's "Midsomer Murders", and the American TV series "Murder She Wrote", starring Angela Lansbury.

Co-authors Neil Richards (based in the UK) and Matthew Costello (based in the US), have been writing together since the mid 90's, creating content and working on projects for the BBC, Disney Channel, Sony, ABC, Eidos, and Nintendo to name but a few. Their transatlantic collaboration has underpinned scores of TV drama scripts, computer games, radio shows, and - most recently - the successful crime fiction series Cherringham. The narrator of the audiobook, Neil Dudgeon, has been in many British television programmes including the roles of "DCI John Barnaby" in "Midsomer Murders" and "Jim Riley" in "The Life of Riley". He is also known for his film roles in "The Nativity", "Sorted" and "Son of Rambow". In 2012 Dudgeon starred as "Norman Birkett" on BBC Radio 4's Afternoon Play series written by Caroline and David Stafford.

©2017 Bastei Lübbe (Lübbe Audio) (P)2017 Lübbe Audio

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
No reviews are available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • N. Allen
  • 2019-05-01

great storytelling

loved it will get the rest! light stories to listen to during the day. thanks

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2019-06-29

Niel Dudgeon 's performance is perfect<br />

this wasn't a nail biter but a good story, nice length too. I will order the next in the series.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • JAM
  • 2019-06-24

I was skeptical

BUT this gentle mystery series is well written, well narrated, has good characters and is perfect for a “light” listen.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Aurora Keith Pajeau
  • 2019-06-15

review

It was okay. Ending was good and a surprise. I listened to it straight through.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Felice
  • 2019-06-14

Quick, satisfying little mystery!

Great compact story - gets to the essentials of the story. Totally enjoyed the narrator (who also stars in the Midsomer Murder TV series.) This short story will quench my mystery book fix til I have time for a full-length one.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Teddie Anderson
  • 2019-06-08

Easy listen

Enjoyed listening as I fell asleep at night. Found it easy to go back close to where I’d dozed off. Definitely recommend.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Marily
  • 2019-09-30

We meet in Cherringham

I have started back at the beginning. I was waiting to begin a book and came upon Cherringham. I enjoyed the series so much, and the reader, that I again just finished the first book in the series. Enjoyed it as much as the last time I read it. This reviewed just how the two " mystery solving" detectives first met and started solving murders.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • HappiRN
  • 2019-08-19

Lacking forensic background.

This beginning book of the mystery series was disappointing. Felt that this lacked a rich development of the characters and too quickly goes straight to the story. The plot also needs more development. There is little description of the location not any science usually accompanies this genre. It's a bit of a disappointment. The audio performance was excellent.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • ARB792
  • 2019-08-10

worth every penny paid

a nice cozy mystery. good characters and a tight storyline. excellent narration by Neil Dudgeon.