Listen free for 30 days

Audible Membership

$14.95 a month

1 credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
The Plus Catalogue—listen all you want to thousands of Audible Originals, podcasts, and audiobooks.
$14.95 a month plus applicable taxes after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $25.00

Buy Now for $25.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Tax where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

"Cara took a deep breath and let it out slowly. ‘She’s not just my daughter,’ she said as she turned in her seat to face Jack. This man she had once loved, but who she hadn’t seen for nearly five years. ‘Sophie is your daughter, too.'" 

It is past 10 o’clock on a cold Friday night when Rebecca and her husband Jack’s doorbell rings. Outside is a woman who introduces herself as Jack’s ex-girlfriend, Cara. And she’s holding the hand of a shivering, blue-eyed, four-year-old girl who she claims is Jack’s daughter. 

Rebecca is shocked to discover he has a child from his last relationship - even one he hadn’t known about. Because becoming parents isn’t part of their life plan. They like children, but they also love their freedom and spending time together uninterrupted; the way that, if they wanted to, they could travel the world at a moment’s notice. 

But Cara needs them. Because Cara has a devastating secret that she can’t tell anyone yet. Not even her daughter. A secret with the power to change all of their lives. 

A secret that will ultimately mean Rebecca has to ask herself - could she find it in herself to welcome her husband’s child into her home and into her heart? 

A heartbreaking and powerful emotional women’s fiction novel about love, friendship, and what it truly means to be a parent, perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes, Jodi Picoult, and Kate Hewitt. 

©2020 Emma Robinson (P)2020 Bookouture, an Imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about My Husband's Daughter

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No reviews are available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Shon Hart
  • 2021-05-29

Completely captivating!

I never ever write reviews though I rely on them heavily when selecting my next listen. This book absolutely gripped my mind then heart! I will think of the characters for a long while to come. You won’t regret this listen!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Stinky44
  • 2021-04-20

My Husband's Daughter

Meh.... I was very underwhelmed by the story and the characters. Stock characters and too predictable 🙄. I cannot recommend to anyone. 😒

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2021-03-15

Brilliant Novel!

I don’t have time to read or even hear a novel, but the the title caught my sight and I got the audio book. The narrator was captivating, I was not able to put it down and in two days I hear the whole novel. I cried, I laugh and I really loved it. A great read, just enough of all the good things in a great plot to keep the reader on edge.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Alice Smeets
  • 2022-02-06

really boring and unrealistic

I found this book to be really slow and boring and so overly dramatic. The turn of character of Rebecca seems really unrealistic to me. I did not like it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • KN
  • 2022-02-06

Fantastic book! The narrator was fabulous too

It’s a Wonderfully story! You will definitely need to have a box of tissue at hand.
This book will captivate you and you will be hooked for sure.
I could not stop listening to it until the end!
The narrator was also terrific, you can’t go wrong with this beautiful story.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2022-01-26

Joy and Tears... Great book.

I could not put it down. Endearing story. My heart went out to the single mother fighting for her life against a terminal cancer.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Tess Brown
  • 2022-01-08

Loved it!! Heartwarming and very interesting.

Loved it! It was heartwarming and very interesting. The characters were real and full of life.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • VL Garcia
  • 2022-01-02

Had me from the beginning

This book had me from the very first chapter, and continued until the very end! I loved the characters and how they interacted with each other. I would have liked to have heard more from the dad's perspective, however. This book tugged at my heartstrings, and I was so grateful there was an epilogue at the end of the story. Well done! I will buy more books from this author!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Pula
  • 2021-12-22

What a surprise this book was

I almost didn’t select this book but I’m so happy I did. This is the best book from audible I’ve listened to in awhile. This is a heartwarming and heartbreaking story that went in a totally different direction than I initially thought.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • DeAnna DeLeon-Lahman
  • 2021-12-18

touching, believable unputdownable!

true to life in its dramatic, twists, turns and surprise factor in human nature. Beautiful!