Price: CDN$ 38.59

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day free trial and your first audiobook is free
  • After trial, get 1 credit each month good for any audiobook.
  • Exchange any audiobook you don’t like
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your free trial, Audible is just CDN$ 14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Move over, Charlotte Brontë. The authors of the New York Times best-selling My Lady Jane are back with an irreverent spin on Jane Eyre - a tale of mischief, romance, and supernatural mayhem perfect for fans of The Princess Bride or A Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue.

You may think you know the story. Penniless orphan Jane Eyre begins a new life as a governess at Thornfield Hall, where she meets one dark, brooding Mr. Rochester - and, listener, she marries him. Or does she?

Prepare for an adventure of Gothic proportions in this standalone follow-up to My Lady Jane, which was called “an utter delight” (ALA Booklist, starred review), and “an uproarious historical fantasy that’s not to be missed” (Publishers Weekly, starred review).

©2018 Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

loved it!

I loved the story and will read or listen again for sure!
the audio a had little weird pausing and skipping backwards but it was great other wise.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Julie
  • 2018-07-09

Wonderfully entertaining

This was thoroughly enjoyable. I love Jane Eyre and these authors honor that classic novel by being (mostly) true to the storyline while simultaneously weaving it into another story completely. Both Jane and her friend Charlotte Bronte get swept up in this tale which is loaded with ghosts, murder, revenge, love, friendship, and humor. Lots of humor. As with these authors' previous book, My Lady Jane, you could see major plot points coming but it didn't take away from the fun. A wonderfully entertaining summer read.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kaleigh
  • 2018-07-01

A Delightful Sequel!

I know people have issues with this book, and I did to at first. At first, it was slow and stuck really close to Jane Eyre. But they used that to their advantage. I was stuck on the fact that the romance and Jane were so bad. However, that was the entire point! Then when I realized that at the turn on the book, I loved the book! Charlotte is a girl after my own heart! The ghosts were so interesting and a humorous part of the story! I suggest you give this a chance, do not give up! This is another amazing book!!

10 of 11 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Dani
  • 2019-05-05

Charlotte Bronte stole the show!

This is a good, well-written, wildly creative book. It has fiery main characters and a hilarious commentary about the time period customs, especially associated with women, sprinkled throughout. I love the little asides to the readers and sassy voice of the story. The first book in this series, My Lady Jane, was also characterized by this writing style. It’s a really awesome and enjoyable style and voice to read.

I LOVED My Lady Jane and was excited to read this new one, but I wasn’t as enthralled. I have never read Jane Eyre, only seen a movie version, so I’m sure that put a damper on my appreciation. This really is a great book, but other than the intricacies of the ghost angle, Helen’s character, and Charlotte and Alexander (both their individual characters and their relationship development), I couldn’t really get into the story. I loved how intelligent, fierce and determined Charlotte was; she definitely stole the spotlight in this novel. As I’ve stated, I also loved the gradual and organic relationship development between her and Alexander. I really enjoyed Alexander’s character too. His motivations were clear and it was so much easier to fall in love with him than Mr. Rochester (which was definitely intentional by the authors). Speaking of this, I did love the feeling that the authors were making a commentary on Jane Eyre’s original story with the asides in regards to Jane and Mr. Rochester romance and Helen’s dislike/snarky comments about it. Helen was also an awesome character that really sold the story and make the book more enjoyable. Her sass, snark, and personality were just awesome.

While I was disappointed with the turnout of this book and didn’t enjoy it as much as My Lady Jane (by the way, I LOVED the cameo at the end!), I’m excited for the next in the Jane series—My Calamity Jane.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • hyper51969
  • 2018-07-30

love love love

I just absolutely love the Jane stories. They are so creative,engaging, and funny! I've listened to them over and over. Well done.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Mary Eve
  • 2019-01-10

My Plain Jane

Absolutely love the Jane series! Such fun listening to. When it comes to this particular series, I always choose the Audible version. Why? Because taking a classic as big as JANE EYRE and turning it into something completely different deserves to be listened to as the authors intended it. This is quite the retelling of JANE EYRE and extremely entertaining. Highly creative story. I'm always amazed at an author's ability to make you believe in the most outrageous ideas that sometimes transpire in retellings. Of course, the original JANE EYRE will always be one of my most beloved classics, but this was plain Jane good fun! The narration is so very great and witty. Bring on the next Jane. I look forward to meeting her. Lots of laugh out loud moments.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Jordan
  • 2018-08-26

Light Fun Adventure

As a huge fan of My Lady Jane, I didn't hesitate to try this novel and I was not disappointed. This light & funny story of friendship, romance and ghosts, is based VERY loosely on Jane Eyre. The novel effectively and liberally weaves pop culture references and dark humour throughout the story. Although this reading romp was highly enjoyable, especially thanks to the well written characters, It didn't have the same intensity of plot tension, extensive world building and sigh worthy romance that made My Lady Jane a 5 star novel and My Plain Jane a 4 star read in my opinion. The narrator did an amazing job and really immersed the listener in the story and characters!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Rlane
  • 2019-05-09

Liked the first book better

2.5-3 Stars

I loved the first book in this series, My Lady Jane, which tweaked history is an entirely good way. The actual story is pretty awful, and so the changes were quite welcome. This second installment, which has nothing to do with the previous story other than it being a famous “Jane”, this time a tweaking of the original Jane Eyre.

Since I loved the original Jane Eyre and the romance, I can’t say I was thrilled with the changes to the story and romance in this version. Wasn’t really a romance at all except between Charlotte and Alexander, but that was (view spoiler)so that was disappointing too. The story was entertaining, the magical elements were fun, and I did have a laugh here and there, because seriously, these ladies are very funny! Still, I have to say, the story felt a bit convoluted and went on longer than I would’ve liked.

Helen was an annoying character I could’ve done without, and Jane wasn’t my favorite character either. I enjoyed Charlotte (as in Brontë) and Alexander and their POVs the best. While I was a bit underwhelmed by this installment I fully intend on picking up the next endeavor of this writing team: My Calamity Jane which promises to have a better ending than the original version. I am all for that!

The narration was excellent, just wished the story was better.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Brittany
  • 2019-02-28

Great read until...

I was invested until the Scooby-Doo quote was made. After that it seemed like the author for Charlotte became bored. But I greatly enjoyed the book before that!! Still a good read just wish that momentum had stayed all the way through.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • naia
  • 2019-01-28

I was very disappointed

I went into this book really hoping to enjoy it. I thought the concept sounded cool but in the end I couldn’t even finish it. The book was simply very boring. Like most book it was slow in the beginning so I waited then waited more it never got interesting. Even when stuff started happening I found it hard to care because there was no emotional connection to the carters, I wanted to like them but they all just appeared boring or dumb.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Amber Holcomb
  • 2018-08-28

A Strange Story Made Stranger...and More Fun!

I became acquainted with Jane Eyre (the book and the 2011 movie adaptation) in college, and I enjoyed it...even though Mr. Rochester is the kind of "hero" to get on one's last nerves! It's a compelling and eerily fascinating story.

This retake combines a bit of history (and a lot of absurdity) with scenarios from the famous novel. It's an odd story full of ghosts and misadventures. Despite the danger and deception, this is definitely a lighter retelling with humorous commentary and humorous performances from the narrator.

The narrator does a great job of giving the characters their own personalities and bringing them to (larger than) life. I quite enjoyed the accents for Branwell and Charlotte, and I found this a very fun audiobook to listen to, just like the first title in this series of "Jane" stories.

If you're looking for a wacky approach to a classic that adds some surprises to an already surprising plot, My Plain Jane has you covered! There's not much depth, but there is a hint of romantic sweetness along with the crazy adventure. Perhaps not a favorite for me, but still fun! (And it made me eager to re-watch Jane Eyre.)