Get a free audiobook

Nine Coaches Waiting

Written by: Mary Stewart
Narrated by: Ellie Heydon
Length: 11 hrs and 58 mins

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Mary Stewart transports her listeners to mid-century Savoy for a plot of danger and deception, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and Barbara Pym. A classic tale by one of the world's most beloved authors.

Linda Martin understands what is to be lonely: her parents died when she was young, and she was raised in an orphanage. When she is hired as a governess to the orphaned young Philippe, Comte de Valmy, Linda finds a kindred spirit in the lonely little boy. But Philippe is the heir to a vast estate in Savoy, and his dangerously handsome uncle may be willing to kill to ensure that Philippe never inherits it.

Mary Stewart's wonderful novel of suspense and intrigue set in the idyllic countryside of Savoy. A classic tale by one of the world's most beloved authors.

©1958 Mary Stewart (P)1958 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

What the critics say

"A wonderful wordsmith." (Scotsman)

"She built the bridge between classic literature and modern popular fiction. She did it first and she did it best." (Herald)

"One of the great British storytellers of the 20th century." (Independent)

What members say

No reviews are available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Mary E. Haley
  • 2019-05-13

Perfect

I have loved this book for over 50 years, rereading it often. I’m so very happy to have the wonderful Dame Mary Stewart’s timeless novels presented so beautifully on Audible. I’ve already added her unabridged novels to my audio library, and preordered those being released. Thank you, thank you, thank you for making then not only available, but with narration that is beyond perfection.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • K. Hauck
  • Long Beach, CA
  • 2019-08-01

Beautifully performed. Wonderful story!

This was one of my favorite books as an adolescent. This year it was finally available as an audiobook. I had high expectations of whoever would be the voice artist and she surpassed them. Simply wonderful. Mary Stewart is more known for her Merlin stories but she is unsurpassed in the romantic suspense genre I believe. Treat yourself to exotic locations and thrilling stories mixed with interesting characters.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Marsha
  • 2019-06-08

Marvellous!

I had read this book many years ago. But I didn't remember much of it. But the whole experience of listening enthralled me.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • N.Sum
  • Pacific Northwest
  • 2019-05-28

Favorite, well read

This is one of my favorite Mary Stewart suspense novels. It is a Cinderella/Jane Eyre romance with a horrible twist; someone is trying to murder her charge.
The reading is good, not exemplary when it comes to voices or accents but enjoyable and clear.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Boots
  • 2019-05-20

Curl up and escape!

What a wonderful little story! Spooky romantic gothic setting, truly lovable heroine, and a terrible villain! The only thing I didn’t love was the romance. It was a good love story but it felt just a little bit abrupt. Especially when you realize the entire story takes place over just a few weeks. Despite that, the setting, time period, and use of language make it an all time favorite cozy romance to read and re-read.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Esmeralda
  • 2019-08-19

Superb rendition

Superbly read! The narrator flawlessly switches from accent to accent, character to character, to help the listener keep pace of the various voices on the story. A superb rendition in English and French.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2019-05-19

An excellent audio version of one of the classic mystery romance novels.

I have enjoyed Mary Stewart’s novels for decades. Nine coaches waiting was one of my first novels of this genres I read back when I was 15. Since then I’ve read and reread all of her works over the decades. So I was waiting impatiently for them to be transferred to audible format and praying that the choice of narrator would do justice to the work. This was OUTSTANDING! Her voices are excellent, her expression is perfection, the pacing and diction are flawless. You will not regret adding this audio volume to your collection.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kat Harrison
  • 2019-05-19

Wonderful narrator

Love Mary Stewart. Her books are like comfort food for the soul. This narrator is perfect for this book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Aleia
  • 2019-05-14

Mary Stewart’s Best

Nine Coaches Waiting is the first Mary Stewart book that my mother read to me when I was a kid, and it has remained my favorite of her books since that time. I was beyond excited when I saw that the book was being released on audible, and fervently hoped that the narrator would do the book justice. Ellie Heydon did not disappoint. The only caution I will give is that after reading this book (the best romantic suspense) , other romantic suspense authors and novels will seem a little lacking in the comparison.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Gail N.
  • 2019-06-07

Predictable plot, unlikable characters

This Cinderella pastiche starts out well. It is the story of two orphans and it is not clear which one is the real Cinderella of the story. Both the main character, Linda, and her young charge, Count Philip, have a split personality of sorts. Both appear and act helpless, feeble and weak. But then, on occasion, seem to find an inner core of courage which allows them some agency. I could not really empathize with the simpering Linda who is ready to submit to whatever crumbs Raoul is willing to drop on her by way of affection, attention or respect.

In some ways, the fact that the listener/reader can easily figure out what is going on but the characters themselves seem totally oblivious works two ways. It makes the reader apprehensive and so raises the tension of the story, but at the same times it makes the characters seem obtuse.

Almost all of the characters are unlikable either because of their arrogance, timidity, or willingness to use others for their own gain and then feel free to eliminate them from their lives once they have served their purpose. Essentially, this is a teenage level romance, complete with fashion, good looks, exotic locale, sneaking around, and belle of the ball scenes. It might be perfect for someone looking for this kind of story, but it did not work for me. I listened on double speed half way and then to the last chapter to see if I had nailed the plot. It was not worth my time to listen to the last third however.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful