Free with 60-day trial

Audible Membership

$14.95 a month

1 credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
The Plus Catalogue—listen all you want to thousands of Audible Originals, podcasts, and audiobooks.
$14.95 a month plus applicable taxes after 60 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $43.86

Buy Now for $43.86

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Tax where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A NATIONAL BOOK AWARD FINALIST

"Brilliant, honest, and equal parts heartbreaking and soul-healing." (Laurie Halse Anderson, author of Shout

"A singular voice in the world of literature." (Jason Reynolds, author of Long Way Down

A powerful coming-of-age story about grief, guilt, and the risks a Filipino-American teenager takes to uncover the truth about his cousin's murder.

Jay Reguero plans to spend the last semester of his senior year playing video games before heading to the University of Michigan in the fall. But when he discovers that his Filipino cousin Jun was murdered as part of President Duterte's war on drugs, and no one in the family wants to talk about what happened, Jay travels to the Philippines to find out the real story. 

Hoping to uncover more about Jun and the events that led to his death, Jay is forced to reckon with the many sides of his cousin before he can face the whole horrible truth - and the part he played in it. 

As gripping as it is lyrical, Patron Saints of Nothing is a pause-resisting portrayal of the struggle to reconcile faith, family, and immigrant identity.

©2019 Randy Ribay (P)2019 Listening Library

What the critics say

A National Book Award Finalist

An NPR Best Book of the Year

An NBC News Best Asian American Young Adult Book of the Year

A Paste Best Young Adult Book of the Year

A New York Public Library Top 10 Best Book of the Year

A Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year

A Kirkus Reviews Best Book of the Year

USA Today Best Book of the Year So Far

A Raleigh News & Observer Best Book of the Year

An Amazon Best Book of the Year

A Junior Library Guild audio selection 

National Consortium for Teaching about Asia (NCTA) Freeman Book Award Winner

An L.A. Times Book Award Nominee

"Passionately and fearlessly, Ribay delves into matters of justice, grief, and identity." (Publishers Weekly, starred review)

"A perfect convergence of authentic voice and an emphasis on inner dialogue." (School Library Journal, starred review)

"Powerful and courageous." (Kirkus Reviews, starred review)

What listeners say about Patron Saints of Nothing

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No reviews are available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Carol
  • 2020-01-30

A really good read

Excellent 👌 book. The narrator Ramon de Ocampo was awesome! The author Randy Ribay kept my interest through out the whole story. The main character's search for the truth did not turn out the way he expected, and the reader is also locked in as the main character digs deep to unvail the truth. Ribay's description of the Philippines is rich with details and the character s really come alive in this story. Nothing is ever as it appears 😉

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Pedro Navejas
  • 2019-07-09

Touching and informative

Really fast read that informs the reader of current events in the Phillipines without being preachy or too one sided. I enjoyed the characters. Jason is a clueless teen, which you can take as realistic or annoying- probably both.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kindle KNT
  • 2020-05-14

intense. painful. ugly. sad. beautiful.

intensely relatable. painfully real. ugly truth. piercing sadness. beautifully expressed. thank you for this. salamat po.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Willy Joe Paguyo
  • 2020-08-09

Amazing.

Amazing! Highly recommended! Great story, great narration go for it! A another great entry into Filipino / Filipino American literature!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Jo Ann Ocampo
  • 2020-09-07

Great story and audio narration

The audio narration was great! I was pleasantly surprised that the Filipino words were not butchered - thank you!!! I also noticed the difference between the accents of the Filipino and Filipino-American/American characters. This was a strong audio performance and really helped to establish the characters and the atmosphere of the story.

This is the first Filipino diaspora story set in modern Philippines that I've read and I think it was tastefully done. It did a good job of providing a glimpse of the good/bad/ugly of Philippine culture and society and how Fil-Americans come to interact/conceptualize it. In the end, what I appreciated the most was the "lesson" that it is essential to first understand before imposing your idea of "solutions" to the Philippines' problems.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Mldavis
  • 2020-08-11

Story to remind you to take the time to reach out to those who are important to you

This is an important story that will reach people across cultures. A great choice for students who are at a point of their lives where they are reflecting on important moments that have made them who and what they are today.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2021-07-28

Powerful shit

Teaming fro end to end with emotion and suspense, this book epitomizes the transformative power of YA realism. Fans of John Green and Angie Thomas will not want to miss this

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 2021-04-01

Assignment for school

Although I am not a big reader I was assigned this book for school and I think it does a great job and investing the reader in the plot and its characters. I am a big fan of this book and for someone who does not cry easily, I can't say a tear wasn't shed near the end.