Listen free for 30 days

Audible Membership

$14.95 a month

1 credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
The Plus Catalogue—listen all you want to thousands of Audible Originals, podcasts, and audiobooks.
$14.95 a month plus applicable taxes after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy Now for $23.67

Buy Now for $23.67

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Tax where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

"Kreinik effortlessly switches among various accents and emotions, keeping listeners riveted as she reveals the novel’s twists and turns." (Booklist)

"Kreinik's range is highlighted as she seamlessly shifts among characters' various accents: a Brit's clipped consonants, a charming Australian's broad vowels, and an American's Southern drawl. As relaxation changes to fear, Kreinik deftly reflects the changing mood." (AudioFile)

From Rachel Hawkins, the New York Times best-selling author of The Wife Upstairs, comes Reckless Girls, a deliciously wicked gothic suspense, set on an isolated Pacific island with a dark history, for fans of Lucy Foley and Ruth Ware.

When Lux McAllister and her boyfriend, Nico, are hired to sail two women to a remote island in the South Pacific, it seems like the opportunity of a lifetime. Stuck in a dead-end job in Hawaii, and longing to travel the world after a family tragedy, Lux is eager to climb on board The Susannah and set out on an adventure. She’s also quick to bond with their passengers, college best friends Brittany and Amma. The two women say they want to travel off the beaten path. But like Lux, they may have other reasons to be seeking an escape.

Shimmering on the horizon after days at sea, Meroe Island is every bit the paradise the foursome expects, despite a mysterious history of shipwrecks, cannibalism, and even rumors of murder. But what they don’t expect is to discover another boat already anchored off Meroe’s sandy beaches. The owners of the Azure Sky, Jake and Eliza, are a true golden couple: gorgeous, laidback, and if their sleek catamaran and well-stocked bar are any indication, rich. Now a party of six, the new friends settle in to experience life on an exotic island, and the serenity of being completely off the grid. Lux hasn’t felt like she truly belonged anywhere in years, yet here on Meroe, with these fellow free spirits, she finally has a sense of peace.

But with the arrival of a skeevy stranger sailing alone in pursuit of a darker kind of good time, the balance of the group is disrupted. Soon, cracks begin to emerge: it seems that Brittany and Amma haven’t been completely honest with Lux about their pasts- and perhaps not even with each other. And though Jake and Eliza seem like the perfect pair, the rocky history of their relationship begins to resurface, and their reasons for sailing to Meroe might not be as innocent as they first appeared.

When it becomes clear that the group is even more cut off from civilization than they initially thought, it starts to feel like the island itself is closing in on them. And when one person goes missing, and another turns up dead, Lux begins to wonder if any of them are going to make it off the island alive.

A Macmillan Audio production from St. Martin's Press

©2022 Rachel Hawkins (P)2022 Macmillan Audio

What listeners say about Reckless Girls

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    25
  • 4 Stars
    22
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    28
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    18
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story

I listened over far too many days but overall the story was captivating. The ending caught me off guard and was so fun and exciting.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great book!

Rachel never seems to disappoint. It would be nice if other authors took a lesson on what a light suspenful nov
el is. Great listen with awesome twists.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • E. Whitlow
  • 2022-01-26

It’s amazing…

that I made it through this entire book. The characters were flat, and I wasn’t invested in them at all. Honestly, I didn’t care what happened to them. The story was slow and didn’t pick up until about hour 6 (only about an hour left in the book). When it did pick up, it didn’t hold my attention. The story just didn’t hold up and edged on being silly.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Deanna M Brogan
  • 2022-01-06

COULDN'T STOP LISTENING!

Thoroughly enjoyed the listening of Reckless Girls. It had me guessing until the end.

I felt the character development was well done. Everything was very detailed i.e., the boats, the island, the people, etc... I could picture each of these characters like I was on the island with them.

Look forward to more like this. It was a light, fun listen while I was at work.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Robyn
  • 2022-01-12

Anyone got a boat?

I had literal dreams about being in this story. I have a tendency to try to figure out the ending of a book before it happens, and I realized that ruins so much for the FUN! Fight the urge to try to prematurely figure this book out. It’ll be worth it. Happy listening.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Michelle D.
  • 2022-02-15

Great book!

I heard the host of the podcast “2 girls 1 ghost” talking about it on their show and I thought I’d give it a try. Great book, easy to follow, good storyline. I know some of the other reviewers mentioned this book was juvenile and had too much fowl language to enjoy…well I’m 44 and I curse like a sailor, so I enjoyed it! (So they say the F word a lot, big deal, there are far worse things to complain about.)

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • KV
  • 2022-02-09

A lot of lead up

A lot of lead up (almost the whole book)...finally at the very end you get some action and things come together but I would have preferred some of the answers to begin sooner. Didn't love this one.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Natalie b
  • 2022-02-01

Such a fun ride

I loved every aspect of this. I thought the ending was cheeky and clever. The image and dialogue was top notch. As someone who lives on an island, I felt like this was a perfect and fun story with a thrilling twist. It was cool to see the thriller side taken out of the suburbs as typical domestic thrillers and brought into a more tropical setting.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Jennifer Tuttle
  • 2022-01-21

Skip this one

Story never really goes anywhere. Narration was robotic - it was painful to get through this one and there was no payoff.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Susan Crowe
  • 2022-01-18

Ugh!!

The constant F-bombs are very off-putting. I am in the process now of returning this to Audible. I can't continue this.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • ROBIN
  • 2022-01-17

Immature at best

I'm not even sure this book deserves the 3 stars I'm giving it, but since I was interested enough to finish it, I thought that had to be worth something . I'm also not sure there was a really likable character in the bunch, and by the end I thought the writer must dislike men in general . The narration wasn't bad but I can't recommend this book

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Nancy M. Van Allen
  • 2022-01-17

Fantastic

Great story, very intriguing. Reeled me in right from the beginning. Amazing reading by Barrie. Phenomenal voice

1 person found this helpful