Get a free audiobook

Save a Truck, Ride a Redneck

Written by: Molly Harper
Narrated by: Amanda Ronconi
Series: Southern Eclectic, Book 2
Length: 3 hrs and 32 mins
Categories: Romance, Contemporary
4.5 out of 5 stars (14 ratings)

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Molly Harper brings her signature "clever humor, snark, silliness, and endearing protagonists" (Booklist) to the charming small town of Lake Sackett, Georgia with the new Southern Eclectic series.

Carl and Marianne were high school sweethearts, loving the way only teenagers can - with no thought to logic or pride, just a bone-headed, optimistic frenzy of unicorns and hormones. That was all they needed. Or so Carl thought.

Scared of being stuck in Lake Sackett, Georgia, like so many of her friends - without a real shot at a future or achieving her own dreams - Marianne panicked and bolted to college after stomping Carl's heart into the high grass. But when she returns to Lake Sackett for the summer with her family after years away, she and Carl are drawn together like moths to a flame. As they rekindle their old romance and remember what it was like to be in love, they have to wonder: is this, finally, their real chance at happiness?

Perfect for fans of Kristan Higgins and Amy E. Reichert, this warmhearted and witty love story introduces Molly Harper's new Southern Eclectic series set in the small town of Lake Sackett, Georgia. This story about second chances proves that "Molly Harper never lets the reader down with her delightfully entertaining stories. Humor, emotions, and romance are cleverly matched, and her likable characters are most appealing" (SingleTitles).

©2017 Molly Harper White (P)2017 Audible, Inc.

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars

aShort book

that was a rio off..it was the shortest book ..not worth the price...the end#..thank-you..will not continue this series

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

such a happy story

I just loved the happy, folksy quirky people of Lake Sackett. Recognized many from my home town

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • CrazyBookNerd
  • 2018-12-28

2.5 Stars - It's ok

Save a Truck, Ride a Redneck by Molly Harper (Audiobook)
Narrated by: Amanda Ronconi
Series: Southern Eclectic #0.5

2.5 Stars - I wish I had read this book before Sweet Tea and Sympathy as it spends a while going over the family dynamics and town relations, which was information I already had. Also, I am someone who likes to read books in order. Marianne and Carl’s story is a second chance one. Again I wish there was more romance to it. It was an ok quick read.

The narration was done well.

~Paragraphs and Petticoats~

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Borkum20
  • 2018-12-15

Read this book first!<br />

This is another great story but the books in this series are out of order. Read this book BEFORE "Sweet Tea and Sympathy" and then the story line will make more sense.
The book has a very abrupt ending but it works if you get into the Sweet Tea book next.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Sucheta
  • 2017-11-07

Not as impressed with the story

There was less structure and buildup to draw the reader in. Also the main female character was both harder to relate to and bad in a way that made me want to see her fail. The narrator did an amazing job almost making up for the story.

12 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • S. Schmidt
  • 2017-10-21

Sweet Story -Looking forward to Sweet Tea series

First, I love Molly Harper and Amanda Ronconi and they are an automatic download for me. This was a great story and a great setting (and as always, a little unusual to keep things interesting!) and always clever. I enjoyed the reference to Hap Borchard (sp?) from &quot;And One Last Thing&quot; and hope there may be references to Lacey and Monroe in future books.

Without giving too much away, Marianne's family is Lake Sackett's small town funeral home and coroner services with a bait and tackle shop for those family members not in the funeral home business. (That's the fun, Molly-quirky part of the story! Love the family, Marianne's brother and small town business!)

Marianne and Carl dated until the summer before she left for college. She broke up with him abruptly when she left for college and left him wondering what happened. (In this part of the story I kept getting flashbacks to Reese Witherspoon's character in &quot;Sweet Home Alabama.&quot;) Marianne doesn't come home often during her college years due to studying and internships and Carl, but her mother guilts her into coming home for the summer before she starts law school to spend time with the family. She gets involved in the family business, helps mediate a funeral crisis and finds she can't stay away from Carl.

It's a well-written story with great characters -heartfelt moments and great laughs. I can't wait for &quot;Sweet Tea and Sympathy&quot;!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • N.Sum
  • 2018-09-30

Fun novella

Not a supernatural, which is refreshing because MH writes mostly in that genre. She sure has fun with small towns, Southern quirks, & family politics.
This is a fun read and has great narration.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • IreneMBBT
  • 2018-07-18

Southern Eclectic fits as name of series

While it’s book2 in the series, it’s actually a prequel to Sweet Tea. I like the family and wider small town parts of the story, less Marianne & her relationship with Carl.
Ronconi does a good job with narration.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Annie The Audible Addict!!!
  • 2017-12-03

CUTE STORY IN TRUE HARPER STYLE!!!

Although there was no supernatural elements this was a cute story and had the great southern charm to it, that is typical of Molly Harper work...I am excited to read this new series and know I will adore it!!! Thanks Molly!!! Thanks Amanda!!! Great team work as always!!!

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Jane
  • 2018-06-23

4 ½ stars for the series.

A nice escape - being in a small town for a while.

This review is for all four books.

I’ve read two Molly Harper books in the past and was not wowed enough to buy more. They were both told in 1st person. But when I saw this new series being told in 3rd person I thought I’d try it. And yes, I really enjoyed it. Why is it that I feel like I can relax and enjoy a 3rd person book, but 1st person seems stressful?

The setting is a small lakeside town in Georgia. There is a romantic relationship in each book, but there is more of an emphasis on the town and things happening to various characters than on romance. I liked the way this was done.

You can read each book as a stand-alone except for Book 1.5. That book is the beginning of Book 2. You will be unhappy if you read 1.5 without continuing on to 2. But you can read Book 2 without 1.5.

In the first three books there were no sex scene details, but maybe a few references to “staying the night.” The fourth book had two sex scenes, briefly described, no body parts named.

Book #0.5 Save a Truck, Ride a Redneck - 3 stars
novella, 136 pages
Carl the auto mechanic and Marianne who recently graduated college with plans to go to law school. Nice story but I wanted more relationship development.

Book #1 Sweet Tea and Sympathy - 4 ½ stars
307 pages
Margot lost her job as an event planner in Chicago. She comes to Lake Sackett for a while at the request of relatives. She meets her biological father Stan and Kyle the elementary school principal.

Book #1.5 Peachy Flippin’ Keen - 3 stars
novella 75 pages
Frankie the female coroner and funeral home director meets Eric the new sheriff, formerly a cop in Atlanta. Someone has been playing mean pranks and vandalizing the family business - funeral home and bait shop. When I read this I was angry at the way the story stopped. But I soon learned this is the first chapter for the next book #2. So plan to read them together.

Book #2 Ain’t She a Peach - 4 ½ stars
304 pages
Continuation of the story about Frankie, Eric, and the vandalizing of the funeral home - and other things going on in town.

AUDIOBOOK NARRATOR:
Amanda Ronconi narrated all four of these, and she did a fine job. I think she changed the way she does voices, since she was not good in a couple other books that I listened to.

DATA:
Narrative mode: 3rd person. Swearing language: mild and rarely used. I think the f word was used once. Sexual content: mild. Setting: current day Lake Sackett, Georgia. Copyright: 2017 and 2018. Genre: womens fiction with romance.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Malinda
  • 2018-07-03

Really good story :)

4-4.5 stars

This was a really enjoyable story. I liked both Carl and Marianne and was happy to see them work things out.

Marianne is a law student who has finished with pre-law and is planning to go on to law school. Marianne came from a small town and has been determined to escape it but lately has been thinking her future plans aren't as great as she always thought.

Carl is a mechanic and owner of the local garage. Carl came from a horrible family and was befriended by Marianne's brother and then the rest of her family. He's made a good life for himself but still is rather reserved.

I wont go in to too much details to avoid spoiling things (since this is a very short story) but I will say that I liked the set up, the characters and thought that Harper did her normal, high quality story crafting. Things came together quickly but believably and ended in a good way, with Marianne and Carl starting to rebuild their relationship and heading towards and eventual HEA together.

This was a really enjoyable story and I would recommend it. :)

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Catherine
  • 2017-11-11

Light and funny

I love Molly Harper’s snarky sense of humor. While I have reservations about some aspects of the story line, and I would have preferred a longer book, this was a really fun read.

3 people found this helpful