Get a free audiobook

Sawkill Girls

Written by: Claire Legrand
Narrated by: Lauren Ezzo
Length: 12 hrs and 58 mins
3.5 out of 5 stars (6 ratings)

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

From the New York Times best-selling author of Furyborn comes a breathtaking and spine-tingling novel about three teenage girls who face off against an insidious monster that preys upon young women. Perfect for fans of Victoria Schwab and Stranger Things.

Who are the Sawkill Girls?

Marion: The newbie. Awkward and plain, steady and dependable. Weighed down by tragedy and hungry for love she’s sure she’ll never find.

Zoey: The pariah. Luckless and lonely, hurting but hiding it. Aching with grief and dreaming of vanished girls. Maybe she’s broken - or maybe everyone else is.

Val: The queen bee. Gorgeous and privileged, ruthless and regal. Words like silk and eyes like knives; a heart made of secrets and a mouth full of lies.

Their stories come together on the island of Sawkill Rock, where gleaming horses graze in rolling pastures and cold waves crash against black cliffs. Where kids whisper the legend of an insidious monster at parties and around campfires. Where girls have been disappearing for decades, stolen away by a ravenous evil no one has dared to fight…until now.

©2018 Claire Legrand (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers

What the critics say

“Reader, hang on for dear life. Sawkill Girls is a wild, gorgeous, and rich coming-of-age story about complicity, female camaraderie, and power.” (Sarah Gailey, author of River of Teeth)

“An eerie, atmospheric assertion of female strength.” (Mindy McGinnis, author of The Female of the Species)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
No reviews are available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Arielle
  • 2018-11-19

Too good to put into words

You know how when a story is really good, but you know if you try to explain it it would sound lame? (EX: “Game of Thrones is about a bunch of non-princes trying to take back a throne from an incestuous, murderous twin—all before zombies and their zombie dragons kill everybody.” Sounds lame, but is probably the most awesome show on television right now.) That is what this book is. I can explain what it’s about and what it’s like, but it will come out unfairly lame, and this book is fantastic!

I was sucked in almost instantly. There is so much mystery and wonder. The relationships are complex and strong. The themes are positive and plentiful. The characters have layers and growth. I binge-listened. I can’t wait to binge it again. The narration is spot on. This book made me want more. I’ll be purchasing more books by this author (and narrator while I’m at it!)

5 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Shell
  • 2018-12-09

Disappointed

I started this book because I was looking for an interesting listen while I was cleaning. I really enjoyed it at the beginning. The main characters are interesting and the story was creepy and gripping. Sadly, the story turned 180 in the last 3 hours of the audiobook.

It was great character building and conflict until then, but it turned into a man hating muck. I consider myself a feminist but this just feels icky for me to even listen to. It feels like the girl empowerment was built relatively well and then have it all thrown away with the man hating descriptions that came out of nowhere. It's so cartoonishly sexist and was deliberately written to put down the male gender. I can't even finish this book after a certain chapter in the book. Also the main characters reasoning became very questionable from then onward.

The narrator is decent, but I don't like how over eager she gets in tenser chapters. It's like she doesn't control her volume and it gets way too loud. I did not enjoy the narrator yelling in my ears.

9 of 15 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • BookReader
  • 2019-08-16

Sawkill Girls

Sawkill Girls is about a trip to a reclusive island from which young girls disappear. That's pretty much the plot. The opening is intriguing; a horse is spooked by paranormal vibes from a young girl, rears, and high-tails it with the girl holding on, her head-splitting in pain. Okay, we'll read on, this may go somewhere cool.

Well, in my opinion, intrigue stops. The characters seemed to go in endless circles of teenaged angst, despair, and pain about ... something that after 10 chapters is not defined. It seems that the author is more driven to develop prose rather than a gripping story, i.e., the writing is okay - the story just isn't there.

If you read a book a week, you're going to read about 3000 - 5000 books in your lifetime. Over 1,000,000 are published every year ... so little time, so MANY to choose from! Need to move on to the next story, life is too short. Rarely return an Audible book, but ...

In that I didn't enjoy the book, comments about narration would be problematic - let's leave it at Lauren Ezzo's interpretation wasn't sufficient to keep me interested.

12 hrs and 58 mins of listening in unabridged audiobook format, released 10-02-18 by Harper Audio.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Athena Rochelle
  • 2019-08-04

BEAUTIFUL!!

I’ve had 𝒮𝒶𝓌𝓀𝒾𝓁𝓁 𝒢𝒾𝓇𝓁𝓈 in my wishlist for a while now, holding off on getting it because of the reviews. I am SO GLAD I finally went for it! This story is beautifully written, and at no point did I feel there was any “man hating” messages being pushed. There are a group of men in the story who may be chauvinistic, and of course the main female characters feel a reaction to that (what female wouldn’t?) but it’s not a theme whatsoever.

Listening to this story was like running my hands through silk, it progressed so smoothly (and right from the start, I might add) with the mixture of love, horror and action having been woven together seamlessly. I am sure Lauren Ezzo’s lovely voice added to this sensation, I completely forgot she was there! She had no weird or annoying quirks to her narration, it made it so easy to get lost in the story.

5 ☆ all around! Absolutely recommend!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kaitlyn Terry
  • 2019-06-08

lgbtqia+, monsters, and magic

This book was well written, held my attention, and made me wish I had a book like this when I was a teen.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Valkyrie
  • 2019-06-05

Favorite Read of the Year!

Wow! That was an awesome read! It's like Holly Black had a book baby with Grady Hendrix and raised it in a creepy mansion on the corner of Science Fiction and Fantasy. This is the first book I've read from Claire Legrand and she now has a permanent residence on my Favorite Authors list.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2019-04-12

AMAZING BOOK!

I loved this book completely and furiously. It's thrilling and surprising and gorgeously written. Read it!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kindle Customer
  • 2019-02-09

WOW!

stunning story of girl power, intelligence, strength, love, magic, girl kickass everything!!! With twists so powerful and told so well!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Krissy Jennings
  • 2018-11-29

Amazing!

This book was amazing. The author writes beautifully. The story line kept me interested which is hard in a 12 hour book. I was rooting for the girls in this book, I loved their personalities. I am hoping this book becomes a series. I would love to hear more from the island of Sawkill.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Bridget Murphy
  • 2019-07-31

Disappointed

I read an article online that had a list of books that it recommended for people who enjoyed the show Stranger Things. This book was the first I chose to listen to from the list. I will not listen to any more off the list. Sawkill Girls is nothing like Stranger Things. The longer I listened to it the less I liked it.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful