Get a free audiobook

CDN$ 14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

This definitive collection of beloved Supreme Court Justice Antonin Scalia's finest speeches covers topics as varied as the law, faith, virtue, pastimes, and his heroes and friends. Featuring a foreword by longtime friend Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg and an intimate introduction by his youngest son, this volume includes dozens of speeches, some deeply personal, that have never before been published. Christopher J. Scalia and the justice's former law clerk Edward Whelan selected the speeches.

Americans have long been inspired by Justice Scalia's ideas, delighted by his wit, and instructed by his intelligence. He was a sought-after speaker at commencements, convocations, and events across the country. Scalia Speaks will give listeners the opportunity to encounter the legendary man more fully, helping them better understand the jurisprudence that made him one of the most important justices in the Court's history and introducing them to his broader insights on faith and life.

Original photograph: Kainaz Amaria/ NPR

Cover design: Darren Haggar

©2017 Antonin Scalia (P)2017 Random House Audio

More from the same

What listeners say about Scalia Speaks

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No reviews are available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2017-10-03

Excellent

You did both your father and mother proud! Extremely well written and narrated. Thanks for sharing. Justice Ginsberg's remarks were moving. I enjoyed listening to this in one sitting, which I rarely do. I give you all 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟 and Mr. Justice Scalia Rest in Peace, you will be surely missed!

11 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jean
  • 2017-10-20

Engrossing

This book is co-authored by Scalia’s son, Christopher J. Scalia, and is a collection of Scalia’s speeches on legal issues, friends and a variety of topics. The book is designed for the general reader.

Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg wrote the foreword to the book. Scalia and Ginsburg were great friends and fellow opera fans, but one was a liberal the other a conservative.

Scalia was an articulate speaker who had a way with words. He also had a great sense of humor. The book is well written and edited. Christopher has chosen speeches by Antonin that allows the reader to gain further insight into the man as well as the jurist. The book is broken down into categories such as friends, law, faith and so on. The sections I enjoyed the most were the speeches about being an Italian-American and the difference between an American and an European. Of course, I enjoyed most of the sections but those two gave me much to ruminate on. I have read all of Scalia’s books and biographies, therefore, I am familiar with his philosophy of constitutional originalism and his being a textualist in statutory interpretation. I know him to be a master of the English language, but from this book I learned he was also a gifted grammarian. That will make a great trivia question. I may not always agree with what he said but I love to read or hear what he had to say. Scalia was able to state his reasons in a succinct manner and in beautiful prose without the use of rhetoric. This will make a great reference book.

The book is fourteen hours long. Christopher J. Scalia does a good job narrating the book.

13 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • John
  • 2017-11-08

Great Observations From a Great Man

Antonin Scalia was not only a great judge, he was a great historian, a great Catholic, and a great American. His views on so many subjects seem to reflect how America was when it was more united and had a common purpose, notwithstanding our different faiths and traditions.

And yet he pretty much explains how we have fallen apart. A Nation with no shared values will not be a Nation for much longer. A Constitution that means whatever nine unelected judges think it means (or are willing to accept it means) is not much of a foundational document. After all, why go through the tough process of amending it? That's hard. Opinion polls are easy.

Scalia just nails it again and again. I wish I had met him and I wish I had known him. I will probably order a print copy of this book, so I can read it again and again.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Harry Hodges
  • 2017-10-29

A Window into the Mind of a Great American

Agree with his jurisprudence philosophy or not, one can't help gain an immense respect for Justice Scalia's mind, candor and logic. A truly honorable man honored by a very proud son.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jim
  • 2017-11-14

True to Values

Why does this optional narrative require a minimum of 15 words before it can be submitted?

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Slappy Sullivan
  • 2017-11-13

An entertaining piece

A fun and educational book demonstrating the wisdom and humor of a great man well worth the time

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 2021-02-03

DREADFULLY BORING

What a piece of junk this book was. I hated this book. It was torturous for me.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • William C Cady
  • 2020-11-07

Good Story

Another excellent book on the law and telling the how the law. How the law work and explaining how the rules of law for all the people.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 2020-08-16

Wonderful listen

This book was so wonderful because it felt as if I was listening to Scalia himself give speeches all over the country on many different topics. Much different than reading his opinions, it gives insight into who he was as a person. I wish we still had Justice Scalia and this book brings him back in some small part. Loved it!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • mr...bunbury
  • 2020-08-14

Superb Book about a better man.

A moderate in the vein of Lincoln and Washington whose perspective on American society is almost as piercing as de Tocqueville’s and even rarer in today’s partisan enviro emend for his fair and balanced judgement. A man for all seasons and a book suited to many different approaches even those who wish a little lite reading will enjoy a speech or two at a time on a plane or a bus.